We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location brilliant, everything else just average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret River Resort

Save Saved
You added Margaret River Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Margaret River Resort
40 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Margaret River
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location brilliant, everything else just average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a spa room, did have hairdryer even though I took mine as couldn't find a mention of them on website. Take some milk for breakfast as breakfast no longer included In room rate as previous year. The spa bath would prove a real effort for short people or those with anything other than perfect flexibility as bath edge very high and wide. The knights inn on site used to have a real country feel about it. Now it's more of an Indian restaurant and the broken glass in the courtyard still not cleaned up after after 3 notifications to both restaurant owners and reception staff. When we arrived the bed had been made without a top sheet, so I didn't appreciate having to make the bed and use the bottom sheet so that we didn't have a mucky velor blanket next to our bodies, they did rectify early the next day though. The rooms have wine in for $20 a bottle of houghtons so don't make the mistake of buying from the restaurant before checking your room. Otherwise clean n tidy, no wifi no foxtel, but Margaret River is the winner and being walking distance to the high street is a real bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    21
    7
    11
See reviews for
18
47
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Quality service - value for money. Cannot complain. Will definitely return. Stay three nights too many things to do. Well appointed has all the added extras for the kids. Great Indian restaurant - make sure you eat there. Happy hour 5 to 6 pm - don't miss. Great variety of beers on tap

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudjimba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This resort was very overpriced for the quality of the resort rooms which are in need of an upgrade and a good clean. The 'resort' rooms should be marketed as motel rooms because that is what they are. The tile grout in the bathrooms had some mould and the bathroom in general needs a good scrub down and refurb. The bed was comfortable enough and room functional but definitely no added extras. We travelled early in the new year so I accept that it is high season but there should be some consideration that the rooms are no better than motel rooms when setting the price. They also took an $80 security deposit which is not returned on check out but 4 days later! In fact I am still waiting for it to appear in my account 5 days later. Overall not good value for money.

Room Tip: The big two bedroom villas look really nice - overlooking a nice garden and pond area and more moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a last minute booking here - a one bedroom spa room. It was spotlessly clean with good quality furnishings. There are very good facilities such as pool and tennis courts. There is an onsite pub and restaurant - however we were not bothered in the slightest by noise. The resort itself is a short walk from Margaret river township. Overall I was very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was our first trip to Margaret River and we decided to stay at this hotel for a 2 day trip. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Margaret River. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The room was quite big for the standard room size and the linen was fresh and clean. The parking to these rooms are right in front of the hotel room which at times is just great. House keeping service was prompt and efficient. There's a local pub and indian restaurant in it's vicinity. We did try the Indian restaurant and the food was really good and reasonable. The laundry services were located close to these standard rooms (just in case). The best part about this hotel is it's location from most of the wineries and from places like Augusta, Dunsborough, Caves Road. It is just 2 mins away from city centre as well. I would definitely recommend this to all.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are good for couples and small families for short stay visits only. This hotel also o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where to next?
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were lucky to get a room here just a couple of days after Christmas, because we had not booked well in advance.
Overall this place gives a good impression. We had a double room in a motel-styled block with the car parked outside the front door. The room was large and bright (a bit too bright in the mornings; black-out blinds would be good!) and comfortable.
It is a 10-15 minute walk into Margaret River town. There is a large liquor store at the hotel, and the Indian restaurant on site has a good reputation, although we didn't try it.
Overall this place is fine.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Margaret River resort twice now. I have to say I quite enjoy its location. Its out of the main street, but within walking distance to the main strip. The Hotel itself has an old English charm with an Australian relaxed feel. Staff have both time been exellent at communicating. They are just lovely. First time we stayed in a room above the pub. I din't find it noisy as some reviewers have mentioned. The second time, we stayed in one of the villa's. I can't say which one is better either way... they felt the same to me, except the villa provides more options, if you like to prepare your own meals when on holiday.

Going back to the location. The area is quite lush and green. Its almost stuck in the middle of Metro Margaret rive, and the forest, with houses planted amongst the greenery. Its really quite beautiful to take a walk. We took a mountain bike ride to the ocean, which was quite nice. Very good biking trails. Shopping is a dream if you like picking up unusual finds.

Sunday afternoons they have a band out at the back. Its no U... but its fun, and family friendly, while couples will enjoy it too.

The only thing I might say about the service that was a little strange was that, on a couple of the days the cleaners, did not replace towels, and one of those days they left a couple of wet towels that we had put on the floor in the bathroom because the shower was splashing water everywhere. Not sure why though, and we never asked, so there may be a perfectly good reason.... who knows?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Margaret River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Resort

Address: 40 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Margaret River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Hotel Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.