We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret River Resort

Save Saved
You added Margaret River Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Margaret River Resort
40 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Sydney
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were lucky enough to get a last minute booking here - a one bedroom spa room. It was spotlessly clean with good quality furnishings. There are very good facilities such as pool and tennis courts. There is an onsite pub and restaurant - however we were not bothered in the slightest by noise. The resort itself is a short walk from Margaret river township. Overall I was very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    46
    21
    10
    13
See reviews for
18
53
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was our first trip to Margaret River and we decided to stay at this hotel for a 2 day trip. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Margaret River. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The room was quite big for the standard room size and the linen was fresh and clean. The parking to these rooms are right in front of the hotel room which at times is just great. House keeping service was prompt and efficient. There's a local pub and indian restaurant in it's vicinity. We did try the Indian restaurant and the food was really good and reasonable. The laundry services were located close to these standard rooms (just in case). The best part about this hotel is it's location from most of the wineries and from places like Augusta, Dunsborough, Caves Road. It is just 2 mins away from city centre as well. I would definitely recommend this to all.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are good for couples and small families for short stay visits only. This hotel also o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where to next?
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were lucky to get a room here just a couple of days after Christmas, because we had not booked well in advance.
Overall this place gives a good impression. We had a double room in a motel-styled block with the car parked outside the front door. The room was large and bright (a bit too bright in the mornings; black-out blinds would be good!) and comfortable.
It is a 10-15 minute walk into Margaret River town. There is a large liquor store at the hotel, and the Indian restaurant on site has a good reputation, although we didn't try it.
Overall this place is fine.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Margaret River resort twice now. I have to say I quite enjoy its location. Its out of the main street, but within walking distance to the main strip. The Hotel itself has an old English charm with an Australian relaxed feel. Staff have both time been exellent at communicating. They are just lovely. First time we stayed in a room above the pub. I din't find it noisy as some reviewers have mentioned. The second time, we stayed in one of the villa's. I can't say which one is better either way... they felt the same to me, except the villa provides more options, if you like to prepare your own meals when on holiday.

Going back to the location. The area is quite lush and green. Its almost stuck in the middle of Metro Margaret rive, and the forest, with houses planted amongst the greenery. Its really quite beautiful to take a walk. We took a mountain bike ride to the ocean, which was quite nice. Very good biking trails. Shopping is a dream if you like picking up unusual finds.

Sunday afternoons they have a band out at the back. Its no U... but its fun, and family friendly, while couples will enjoy it too.

The only thing I might say about the service that was a little strange was that, on a couple of the days the cleaners, did not replace towels, and one of those days they left a couple of wet towels that we had put on the floor in the bathroom because the shower was splashing water everywhere. Not sure why though, and we never asked, so there may be a perfectly good reason.... who knows?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed over Christmas so expected to pay a high price. 2bed villa was clean and neat and the beds comfy. Lots of spare pillows. Large bathroom and second toilet was a bonus. Veranda overlooking pond was lovely for breakfast. Said it could have slept 6 as there was a foldout sofa in the loft. Glad we did not need this as the loft was always hot even with the aircon on. The pool needed cleaning but still ok for a swim. I wouldn't call the complex a "resort" tho we enjoyed our stay. We would come again but not for the price we paid for Christmas

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Having an infant we really wanted a one bedroom apartment, so we had a door to close after we put him to sleep. The room was perfect! Service was great and my request of a room away from others was met. There were two tvs which I have never seen especially in a room of such good value. The spa was the perfect spa for one but also fits two (just). The grounds are nice and I would of used the pool ( which I was looking forward to) if it werent for stormy weather. The furnishings were nice, slightly dated and worn but I barely noticed and these things are expected as it was still cleaned and maintained well. Housekeeping and reception staff were very friendly! Indian restaurant was not bad value either. Overall a much needed pleasant night away!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My Wife and I stayed at the Margaret River Resort on a Voucher for two nights on the 1st & 2nd of Dec 2012. To be honest after reading some of the negative reviews we were a bit worried about what we were going to find on our arrival. We were greeted at reception by such a pleasant and helpful young lady who could not have been anymore helpful if she tried. Nothing was too much effort and she went out of her way to promote Margaret River itself. We had an upstairs Spa room and it was spacious and very clean with everything you required for a pleasant stay. We ate at the Indian restaurant at the front of the resort and it also had pleasant staff and the Food was of high quality. The little Pub at the front of the resort is a nice quite place for a drink in the afternoons again with delightful Bar Personnel. If I had to have a negative comment it would be the traffic on the back road is a bit noisy but once you shut the balcony doors it is quite inside the room.
I would recommend The Margaret River Resort to anyone who was heading down to the Margaret River area and again Thank You for a pleasant stay

Room Tip: The two room spa units at the back of the resort are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margaret River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Resort

Address: 40 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Margaret River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Hotel Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.