We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Exercise and Worth a Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Cave

Lake Cave
Caves Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
+61 8 9757 7411
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake Cave is a stunning crystal wonderland and the only cave in the Leeuwin-Naturaliste Ridge with a permanent lake. It acts as a mirror of infinite reflections that is truly magical. The cave is renowned for the ‘Suspended Table’ – a five tonne column of calcite that hangs from the ceiling just a few centimetres above the lake. The precinct features impressive retail, interpretative and cafe facilities. Located 25 kilometres south of Margaret River.
Sydney
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great Exercise and Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Don't let the 325 or so stairs turn you off. It is really worth the hour or so to do the guided tour. While relatively small very interesting and beautiful and with one particular very unusual formation that should be seen.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    178
    25
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

In my 20 something years, I have visited this cave three times and it never fails to bring a look of wonder to my face. Sure the water line has severely dropped from my first experience which is saddening but the marvel of such a beautiful and constantly changing cave environment makes it a must see attraction when in Margaret River. The cave itself is rather small and group sizes are limited so tours run every half hour and during peak times can sell out. If stairs are not your cup of tea, the 300 to reach the bottom of the doline might be tiring but the view is picturesque and there are plenty of rest points along the way. The guides are very informative and patient and they all allow enough time to take as many photos as you like before exiting to daylight again.
The standard entry for an Adult is $22, however as we visited as a group of ten, we were offered a discount rate of $19.80 each if we pooled our money together. It's not cheap no, but since the very first time I came here, so much has happened in terms of building the café, toilet facilities, the information centre and gift shop, etc. We were also advised that research is underway on methods to keep water in the cave to prevent it from drying out, so while the fee seems rich, at least it is going back into the maintenance and future of this wonderful attraction.
If one cave isn't enough, you can purchase a 3 cave pass which includes entry to Mammoth, Jewel and Lake caves for $50 per person, almost buy 2 get one free. Either way, enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lake Cave A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our guide "Crusty" took our small group down into the depths of this ancient cave. Loads of stairs, some narrow staircases, so you need sturdy footwear. Through special lighting & focusing of the torch, some of the secrets of the cave are revealed. This is our third visit to Perth & Margaret River but have never visited the caves but the Lake Cave is extraordinary - millions of years, the presence of the water & how white settlers stumbled upon something which would have already been known to the early Aboriginal tribes. Several tours a day so make sure you're there with sufficient time to descend the stairs to the starting platform for the intro. to the tour.
Cheers!
Jan C

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A must do when visiting Margaret River! The tour guide was excellent and really added value to the tour. The steps were a bit of a shocker but my thighs thanked me! The history behind the cave is fantastic, and the cave itself was stunning.. many photo opportunities. Worth the entrance fee!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Small but excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After meeting our guide, Simon, halfway down the 300 steps we had a very good guided tour. Simon was very knowledgeable and no question seemed too difficult. He was also very patient with the stragglers. The cave is small but has it all including a natural table being held up by the stalactites which is apparently one of only two in the world. As the name indicates, there is a small lake in the cave so you get some reflections of the cave ceiling. The temperature is a constant 16 degrees summer and winter so a light jumper will suffice. Overall worth the $22 for the 50 minute tour even with the 300 steps one way.
The coffee shop is also very good with excellent service and the sandwiches were great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Cave also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Augusta, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Lake Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.