We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and very entertaining!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Cave

Lake Cave
Caves Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
+61 8 9757 7411
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake Cave is a stunning crystal wonderland and the only cave in the Leeuwin-Naturaliste Ridge with a permanent lake. It acts as a mirror of infinite reflections that is truly magical. The cave is renowned for the ‘Suspended Table’ – a five tonne column of calcite that hangs from the ceiling just a few centimetres above the lake. The precinct features impressive retail, interpretative and cafe facilities. Located 25 kilometres south of Margaret River.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very entertaining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The caves themselves are stunning and well worth a visit. I particularly enjoyed the descent into the naturally beautiful cavern. But the guide really made the caves a 10/10 experience. She was knowledgable, very quick witted and entertaining,making the caves extra spectacular. Good job!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    136
    24
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Devine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The 300 stairs were a challenge for me as I have had knee replacement and major surgery on my fused ankle. But it was worth every bit of the muscle soreness suffered for 2 days after. Spectacular viewing once inside the cave. Having the water in the cave only adds to the atmosphere of the unbelievable work of the ever slowly growing formations. The guide was very informative with details about how it was first discovered and the eventual opening of the cave to the public. Strongly recommend the time and effort to view this brilliant site.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“big climb back up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

For two of us it cost $44 to do the tour and yes the caves were amazing, but we're from Sydney and have been to the Jenolan Caves and sorry to say it just didn't have the wow factor. There were some interesting things to see and the silence in the cave once the lights were turned off was amazing. Our guide Colin seemed a little burnt out with his "spiel" and sometimes I found it hard to understand him (I wouldn't have liked to be a foreigner!). Word of warning, you need to be fit to climb back up the 300 stairs, they are steep and there is no break!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Cave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Beautiful little gem of a cave with a cool walk down into the cave proper. The guide is excellent and the tour is about an hour which is the perfect amount of time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Breathtaking once again. Visited 20 years ago and still takes my breath away.
The guides have a wealth of knowledge, are friendly, helpful and humourous...which made the experience so memorable.
A world class experience with an amazing 300 steps down into the bowels of the earth. The cave contains a lake and over the lake hangs an incredible suspended table. The lighting is set up to really enhance the entire cave and show of its true beauty.
My 76 and 83 year old parents from NZ joined me and just took their time descending and ascending the steep entry to the cave.They said it was simply beautiful and worth every step.
The exhibition area in the main building was very educational and also worth spending some time wandering around and reading about the history of the cave.
This attraction is an absolute must see

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Cave also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Lake Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.