We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margarets Forest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Margarets Forest to your Saves list
Margarets Forest
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   96 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melboune
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in a pleasant 2 bedroom apartment. The property is in the main street, at the edge of town, so it's close to all the facilities. Many of the apartments (including the one we had) do indeed have a “forest” outlook with a secluded patio area (with BBQ), which was nice. The apartment was well-designed, with kitchen/living area (and a laundry) downstairs and 2 bedrooms upstairs. There wasn't an en-suite, but there was a spa bath, with a window through to the main bedroom which might not appeal to everyone. It didn't trouble us, however, as the blind could be adjusted to block any view! . All expected facilities were present, including electric blankets and effective heating (reverse cycle air-conditioners). Although some of the units are quite close to the road, noise is not really an issue as there was little traffic in the evenings.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    62
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
59
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

The first thing i like is that it's really convenient. Situated along the main street, it's just minutes walk from the nice shops and restaurants in Margaret River. The place is clean, and i like that there's the BBQ pit on the balcony. Had an evening of barbecue and enjoyed the starry sky in the cooling night. It's also generally safe even though i had a 1.5 year old toddler running around. For a self-contained, it has basically everything you need!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed at Assured Margarets Forest for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment which was guaranteed to overlook the 'forest'. This was a great choice as there was very little/no road noise, which I suspect there would be in the units closer to the "main" road.
The property is located at the northern end of Margaret River township, first property on the right after you drive across the river. There are nice walks adjacent to the property which we did not get a chance to experience due to the weather (rain and storms, plus very soggy ground.).
The property is on the main street of Margaret River but maintains a nice outlook due to the adjoining 'forest' and even the units which do not overlook the forest still have a nice outlook. There are a number of other places in Margaret River which overlook backs of shops etc so this is much nicer.
The property is located really close (2/3 minute walk) to shops, restaurants etc, as well as the large Visitor Centre being located pretty much across the road.
The apartment itself was clean, modern and well equipped. The (2) bathrooms were located within each bedroom in our apartment, both with spa baths and 1 with a separate shower as well. There is a separate toilet upstairs as well as another downstairs off the laundry.
Each room had a King Size bed with at least 1 able to be split into 2 King singles. There was a TV in each of the bedrooms with same TV channels (including cable) as the downstairs TV.
There is a nice small outdoor deck but we didn't get a chance to use this either.
We got a good winter rate by booking direct with the property.
Overall, this was a really good value, well equipped and modern self contained apartment with a nice 'forest' outlook but still really close to the main street and facilities of Margaret River

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

This was the third time I had stayed at this resort. The first two times I went with a group of girlfriends and stayed in the 2 bedroom units. This time I stayed in the one bedroom unit with my hubby. I prefer the 2 bedroom units and would not book a one bedroom unit again (too pokey and a bit dark, didn't like the layout or the fact that we could hear a lot of road noise). I recommend staying in the 2 bedroom units and I'll be going back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

One of our favourite places for a weekend retreat - a spacious and well-equipped apartment, with one of the most comfortable spas I've ever used. It's just across the road from a wide range of restaurants and shops, and a short drive from other attractions in the area. Helpful staff, and reasonable rates. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Space, spa, kitchen
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2004

Stayed in a duplex 2 bedroom spa unit. Very spacious even by my demanding standards, overall well designed and maintained which I consider sums up the main selling points.

Beware if you are there in winter, as was I, because aside from a (very effective) reverse cycle unit in the living/dining room downstairs there is no other heating, something one is rather conscious of when one wakes up in the morning in a cold bedroom!

All the units back onto a central car park which is pretty much it as far as facilites are concerned, so in a sense calling the place a "resort' is really a bit of a misnomer! It is just off the freeway (though quiet enough) just before the main drag of town, and I would recommend it for the great rooms, but not much else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margarets Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarets Forest

Address: 96 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margarets Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margarets Forest offers a range of stylish 4 star, fully self-contained forest studios & apartments. Most have spas and are designed with privacy & serenity in mind. Each studio and apartment offers guests a choice of views of the forest from expansive decks or manicured courtyards. Our Margaret River accommodation is available in various configurations for singles, couples, twin share, families and two couples sharing. The two bedroom, two spa apartments are designed to offer exceptional value and style for two couples getting away together who want both generous shared living areas, as well as spacious private bedrooms with their own spas. Inside the decor and furnishing compliment the extraordinary natural setting. Offset walls, raked ceilings and highlight windows cleverly enhance the natural aspect from all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Margarets Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarets Forest Hotel Margaret River
Margarets Forest Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margarets Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.