We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location close to the beach but far from Margaret River town. Terrible ambience.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surfpoint Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Surfpoint Resort to your Saves list
Surfpoint Resort
12 Riedle Drive | Gnarabup, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful location close to the beach but far from Margaret River town. Terrible ambience.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Surpoint for 3 nights while travelling round WA. The hostel is full of people working or looking for jobs and so staying for weeks or months on end. There is no backpackers/travellers atmosphere, people aren't that friendly sticking to their own clicks. If you're looking for a job and planning to stay longer, that might be a place for you. If you're after a truly travellers vibe, don't go there!

Rory and Ellie are very friendly and helpful, Gonzalo behaves as if he was doing you a favour even answering your question.

Rooms (dorms) are basic - there are no lockers. Walls are paper thin. Dorms/rooms open to a courtyard and people hanging around outside of their rooms at night make lots of noise.

All in all, I wouldn't recommend Surpoint as a place to stay if you're travelling around. It doesn't feel safe and 'illegal substanes' are quite common.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at Surfpoint Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Charlotte,

Thank you for your review. The new management team (as of the 10/04/13) at Surfpoint @ Prevelly are working on the issues you have raised.

We strongly believe in providing a safe, friendly, and relaxing environment for travellers and holiday makers. Everyone should be able to enjoy this wonderful location!

If you're ever back in Australia drop in and see the changes we have been making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
20
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

As many of the reviews are from short term stays, it's hard to get a consistent rating. I on the other hand stayed here at surf point for 3 and a half months, I was here whilst working on the vineyards for my regional requirement for a second year visa. Surf point is a brilliant hostel, with great facilities, nice rooms, a large and clean kitchen and as well as that it is literally 2 minutes from a beautiful stretch of coast with great beaches and views for miles. I loved staying here, the management was excellent and made it a pleasure to stay, I would definitely recommend surf point to anybody and I would definitely go back. Also if your looking for a place to stay while doing your regional work, don't stay in a dead end town on the east coast picking zucchinis or capsicum, stay here, there's plenty of work and you will not regret it. No 1 hostel in Australia.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Offaly, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

JUst had a great stay here in Jan 2013 at this friendly place in such a beautiful spot. Great kitchen, well maintained and fitted out and was always clean and inviting. Thanks to Rory and Ellie for their warm welcome and all their helpful advice. Its the people and the welcome that make this hostel special. Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Queen rooms are a great value option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed in in december 2012, and couldn't find much to complain about. The staff are great, friendly and pointed out all the best local surf spots. Hostel itself is clean and well maintained, good sized rooms with decent beds. The kitchen is large enough lots of fridge space and the equipment works most of the time. Downside is the cutlery deposit and the fact that the kitchen closes very early, some nights people were still cooking dinner when the cleaners started to shut down.
There's a good vibe here, usually pretty friendly with a few drinks after the sun sets. But the best part is the location, no matter what the weather is like there's somewhere to surf. Redgate is a pretty solid choice, but there's heaps of beaches so go to them all. Great hostel to stay at while surfing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 4 night over Christmas new year period. I stayed in a dorm room which was the cheapest option in the area. I was pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness you can tell the place is looked after. The staff work hard and you can see them present and on site all day. Kitchen was clean until 6-9ish when all guests invade it to cook. The hostel was packed, mess was to be expected and it closes early (9) to be cleaned nicely for the morning. The atmosphere was good, nothing was organised by the hostel but they put Christmas music on. No fans or air con, thank god for the swimming pool. Overall i had family staying in an establishment near by paying $4000 for the same duration i paid approx $128.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights over new years 2012/2013. The staff are very friendly and helpful, I even managed to lock my keys in my room late one night and someone was able to assist me. Overall the facilities are nice, 5 min walk to the beach and about 15 min drive to Marg River Town. If you stay here you will need a car to get around. All rooms are 4 bed dorms so they are kept quite tidy. Be warned there is no air con or fans in rooms, so if you intend on staying in the hotter months you might have to go down to the shop and buy a fan! Would stay here again. The only con is the kitchen could be kept a bit cleaner.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

How hard is it to keep a kitchen tidy? Seriously, it was so feral that it spoilt our stay. Then there is the dorms without the basic minimum of having a fan!!! High temperature's and a sweltering room does not make for a comfortable night sleep. Why not hire fans out to guests? I adore this area and I was so disappointed that this establishment couldn't make the effort to appreciate the people that come and enjoy the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfpoint Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfpoint Resort

Address: 12 Riedle Drive | Gnarabup, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfpoint Resort at Prevelly is located within easy walking distance to the famous Margaret River swimming and surfing beaches, and is a centrally located base for all of the tourist attractions and wineries in the region.Think of the property as a large family run beach house shared with other guests. Chill out with a free cup of tea or coffee in the guest lounge while browsing the internet with free wifi, and listening to relaxing music; take a dip or sunbathe by the pool; play table tennis, pool or board games with friends or family; and enjoy your own home cooked meals and Margaret River wine prepared in our spacious commercial grade guest kitchen and BBQ's with all utensils provided.The award winning Gnarabar bar and restaurant is located right next door, and the White Elephant Cafe is on the beach just 10 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Surfpoint Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfpoint Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.