We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway on a budget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfpoint Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Surfpoint Resort to your Saves list
Surfpoint Resort
12 Riedle Drive | Gnarabup, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great getaway on a budget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I hadn't had some time off for ages and just wanted to get away for a couple of days. We decided to head down to the Margaret River region for a few days and it was a blast.

Because we were on a budget, we decided we'd go to Surfpoint as it seemed to offer so much bang for the buck so to speak. And we weren't disappointed - tv lounge with foxtel, games area with pool table, swimming pool, big communal kitchen with good facilities and besides all that - some pretty interesting people to meet as well.

We weren't disappointed with our room either, ok it was no Ritz, but it was a decent size, had a comfortable double bed, decent bathroom facilities - definiteily worth paying the extra few dollars for the double if you're a couple.

It isn't right in the centre of Margaret River, but it is less than a 10 minute drive away and it was so close to the beach, vineyards and breweries.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
28
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My friends and I shared a suite that came with an attached bathroom for 2 nights. The location of the hostel can't be better with Gnarabup beach just a stone's throw away! Good food nearby as well, and I would recommend anybody to check out Sea Gardens - they have an awesome breakfast menu (we went there on a Sunday morning)!

The hostel is spacious, clean and well-equipped. Our room was in general, clean and comfy. I have read reviews criticizing the cleanliness of the toilet, and I must say that it is true the toilets could use more cleaning. The room's water boiler could also use some cleaning or changing. However, having said that, the overall cleanliness of the room is satisfactory and that if you have a dire need of a kettle, you could easily use the kitchen. Staff members are friendly and helpful, and the manager gave us a discount on our stay! All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed 1 nite in a dormitory for 4 pax (have it all to myself, since there 4 of us) paid AUD$110.00 nett. Toilet/Barh is ensuite, there's a TV, a mini fridge & Cafe/Tea counter and towel are provided in the room. Awesome !!! To have all that in a Backpackers is luxury.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I've brought four groups of international students to Surfpoint over the last 6 months, and everybody has left happy!
The location is excellent, just a five minute stroll from the beach, and we've been satisfied with both the accommodation and the service. The pool table, swimming pool, BBQ area and TV room mean that there is plenty to do, whether you want to socialise or relax. The accommodation is basic, of course (reflected in the budget price) but clean and comfortable.
So, thanks to Will and all the team. We won't think of staying anywhere else when we return to Margs next season!

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, AUS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My partner and I decided to have a weekend getaway at Surfpoint. From the very beginning, when we rang and booked our room, we spoke with the manager, Will and he was most informative and helpful.
We booked an ensuite room at a rate of $90pn and were pleasantly surprised upon arrival. I had assumed the rooms would be pretty ordinary and we would be paying for the location only, however when we arrived and were shown to our room, we opened the door to a simple, but clean bedroom with queen size bed, tv, ensuite with separate toilet and separate shower with a bench area with sink and kettle with tea and coffee supplies and small bar fridge. More than adequate as we planned to tour around Margaret River and enjoy the wineries.
We asked Will if he knew of any tours or sights worth seeing and he named quite a few. We took one of the informative maps and made an executive decision to trip around to the wineries on our own.
We were so exhausted by the end of our sightseeing, we didn't even get a chance to have a swim in the pool, which looked very inviting at the entrance to Surfpoint.
We kept to ourselves and didn't really use the communal kitchen and lounge area, however I had a look through and the kitchen was neat and tidy, and well equipped to whip up a feast if desired. There was foxtel in the lounge as well as a games room with pool table.
At night I thought it may have been noisier than it was, after all, it is full of backpackers! But I was pleasantly surprised when I woke up rested and refreshed.
Went for breakfast at the White Elephant Cafe only a minutes drive from Surfpoint and that was brilliant too.
Overall, a wonderful weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I just stayed the one night in a 4 person dorm room. It was not very busy at the time, so this would be in its favour, but everything was fairly easy & comfortable. I could have used a little more info at check-in, but I worked it all out in the end. There are several living areas & BBQs for use.
Close to the beach and the pool looked clean and inviting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 for 2 nights in an ensuite double room and had we not already been committed to paying $160 for the accommodation we would have walked away and as we arrived very late in the evening and no one was in reception to discuss the problems with. Our ensuite room was very run down and clearly had seen better days. The shower curtain was black at the bottom and there were hairs left in the shower area from previous guests and the tiles didn't look as if they had been scrubbed for some time therefore we were reluctant to use the shower facility. The cups left in our bedroom for us to use were brown inside from tea or coffee stains and we would certainly not drink out of them and the tea towell left for us to use was disgusting - dirty and had holes in it. We had hoped to use the communal area for preparing dinner but one look in that area put us off completely so we did not use that facility. This was the worst accommodation we stayed in whilst travelling in Australia and we would definitely not recommend it. We expected the accommodation to be basic but not dirty.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfpoint Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfpoint Resort

Address: 12 Riedle Drive | Gnarabup, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfpoint Resort is located within easy walking distance to the famous Margaret River swimming and surfing beaches, and is a centrally located base for all of the tourist attractions and wineries in the region.Think of the property as a large family run beach house shared with other guests. Chill out with a free cup of tea or coffee in the guest lounge while browsing the internet with free wifi, and listening to relaxing music; take a dip or sunbathe by the pool; play table tennis or board games with friends or family; and enjoy your own home cooked meals and Margaret River wine prepared in our spacious commercial grade guest kitchen and BBQ's with all utensils provided.The award winning Gnarabar bar and restaurant is located right next door, and the White Elephant Cafe is on the beach just 10 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Surfpoint Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfpoint Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.