We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with plenty of character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret River Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Margaret River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margaret River Hotel
Save
You added Margaret River Hotel to your Saves list
125 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great value with plenty of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Booked on wotif.com in a peak time of year, paid a miserly $140 and really wasnt expecting much. Before i get into it its seriously worth mentioning that this is one of the few places that will accept a one night booking. Well worth keeping in mind.

Check in and out was very efficient, 1 min and your ready to head to your room.

Dedicated parking is abudant and free, with good access to and from the rooms to the carpark.

The actual room is extremely spacious, huge and very comfortable bed. Flatscreen tv and split a/c. Window treatments actually capable of blocking all sun light. The room was furnished in keeping with the character, lots of solid timber. Bathroom was adequate. Value for money.

Location was great - right in town, only problem was noise with the room facing Bussell Highway. Even though the speed limit is only 50 the room was still susceptible to traffic noise especially from motorcycles. If you want to nap during the day book a room that doesnt face Bussell Highway. This is the place to be if you want to be near the pubs.

Another point worth mentioning was the restaurant below. I havent factored the restaurant into my hotel review which i notice some people do - because theyre essentially seperate entities. That and the restaurant is [--]. it would only bring down the review.

If you come here with big expectations - conceirge and lifts, health spa and fitness centre, currency dealer and 12 clocks showing 12 different time zones - dont bother. if you want affordablity, character, a central location and a comfortable bed - then stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    46
    27
    5
    11
See reviews for
23
53
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, right in the middle of the main street of Margaret River.

The hotel is in a separate building behind the pub and restaurant. Our twin room was clean, modern, spacious and great value for money - around $20 cheaper per night than the same room type in other hotels I had been looking at on trip advisor.

The lady at reception was also very lovely and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a lovely stay. The room was very clean and well appointed. The staff were extremely polite and helpful, especially the efficient maintenance man who helped us out with our TV! It was everything you could ask for and more. We had an excellent meal in the bistro and enjoyed coffee in the charming lounge. Altogether a sophisticated yet comfortable feeling throughout with a very professional and friendly attitude from staff. Great for families or a romantic getaway. All this and for a very affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in the big adjoining double at the front of the hotel with a huge balcony overlooking the main street. We were very pleased with the rooms alloted to us, and found it to be an ideal position for a one night stay. We were able to walk down the street for our evening meal and again for breakfast in the morning. The rooms were clean, the bed I had was very comfortable, and the staff were pleasant and accommodating. Perfect central location for an overnighter in the Margaret River area. It would be good value for a family trip, and the menu obviously catered for adults and children.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just the one night 'thank god' ... The service was terrible! The room was filthy! Not clean at all! Dust on every surface with other people's hairs in the bed and all over the bathroom!

No towels! No soap! Tv didn't work, drains smelt in the bathroom! Stains all over the floor! Mirrors not even cleaned.

The only thing we did have in the bsthroom was shower caps! Also had them in the draws by out bed and in the wardrobe?

The lady on reception was horrible! No customer service skills what so ever. She was late 50's skinny, long brown hair and likes to finish reading the paper before acknowledging you!

We asked if they did breakfast when we booked, which they confirmed as 8:30-9:30am. Then when we got there we were told they dont and there's enough places to eat round here? Again, the old bag on reception was the one to inform us of this.

The bar staff were nice, but average food served by staff in no uniform?

Very noisy rooms, fan is useless, just good for blowing dust around.

What a absolute dump if a hotel! There's a photo in the hallway of the hotel in 1936 ... Could white easily be 2013 ... Rather sleep on the street!

Never ever going here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a big family-sized room at the back of the hotel complex itself. Huge rooms, kind of like a standard hotel room with another small oom off the side (presumably a "living room"-type space if not for the additional bedding required for our stay. Big bathroom, very big kitchenette with sink, fridge, microwave. Great flat screen tele. Right in the middle of Margaret River - worst luck for us though, being the weekend before Xmas, the restaurant was closed from 3pm for the staff Xmas party!

We ate dinner at a pub down the road - live music, great prices, great beer. We ate breakfast next morning at a perfectly situated cafe just a few doors up the street - again, great food, great prices and great coffee!

Staff were v friendly. Check in and check out was quick and easy.

Great location for a wander around Margaret River township - though, to be fair, there's not a lot there. Only reason we stayed there at all - as per most other people I guess - was to visit the wineries! Other than wineries and beaches, Margaret River's a pretty sleepy little town. Pretty, nice people, great amenities... but sleepy :)

Would definitely stay here again if I'm ever in the Margaret River area again.

Room Tip: If you need to sleep any more than two people, recommend asking for one of the family rooms at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good value and there is no minimum stay for this hotel. We took a family room and there were 6 of us. Ample car park, the room was big and clean. Nice and clean bed. Near to amenities like groceries and bakeries and shops. The staff were very courteous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margaret River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Hotel

Address: 125 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.