We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Margaret River Hotel to your Saves list
Margaret River Hotel
125 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location, average rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed in the rooms at the back of the hotel. They are very average. Nothing special. However, the location is good and the rooms were a decent size. Price was ok. Wouldn't stay there again, but would definitely stay somewhere on the high street as it is nice to be able to walk to the restaurants in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    53
    30
    5
    11
See reviews for
26
56
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was the worst place we stayed during our 2 week trip across WA. The first, and only, morning a large roach fell from the ceiling. Need I say anymore about this place? You can find better...try a B&B just outside of town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Spent one night here, we booked it because of it's location and because it was cheap,
Location was great, right in the middle of main st in Margaret River. Shops and restaurants on each side.
We stayed above the pub, was a Sat night and pretty noisy untill about 11pm. But that was to be expected. The room was nothing to right home about, carpet was stained and I didn't want to walk barefoot on it, the bed wasn't very comfy and the blanket was 2 sheets with a doona with no cover between them, didn't like that. The bathroom wasn't visibly dirty but I still wore flip flops in the shower just in case. The room smelt funny as well.
The window coverings were great - made the room nice and dark which provided a good sleepin.

I think perhaps the suites out the back are a lot nicer?

It did the job for us but I wouldn't reccommend staying above the pub if celebrating a special occassion. Much nicer places around.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We were here for 3 nights and booked a luxury room in the holiday suites. The room had a 'livingroom' area and a kitchenette. All very clean, but you had to wash your own utensils as it said on the sign. I don't trust other guests washing up so I re-washed some items myself (I'm picky). One less nice point was that the heater didn't work. The evenings and mornings were very cold due to the Autumn weather. After telling the lady at the reception the problem was fixed the same day. The main hotel building has a restaurant, wine bar and pub, all very nice! Pity they don't do breakfast! But being so centrally located it wasn't hard to find a nice breakfast place. I thought our room (or should I say suite?) was absolute value for money!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Great Hotel, nice rooms except for the fact that they had no airconditioning. They should definitely menion this on their website. We stayed in March for two nights and the temperature was in the early 30's and we got absolutley no sleep as we were so hot in the room, and I like the hot weather, but that was ridiculous.
As far as everything else went, fabulous. The restaraunt food was beautiful, we ate there on both evenings, the hotel bar was fun and a good atmosphere.
The rooms on the main road side were a little noisey but both rooms we had were clean and comfortable.
So if you don't mind not having airconditioning in the room, I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for airconditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Location: Very good. Right in the middle of town, close to all the shops and restaurants.
Check in: Receptionist really nice, gave us map of area and all info that was needed (109 different wineries, taxi numbers, best restaurants, best places for breakfast [not provided at hotel])
Bar: Really nice. Good staff that obviously had a good regular client base (lots of banter over the bar). Great Beer Garden!
Room: Nice comfy rooms, fit the 'old hotel' mentality. Very cosy and bed was superb (best sleep in a hotel yet)
Restaurant: great food at good prices. Wine list was good for the area, wide variety of local wines. Food was very fresh and very well priced.

All in all: A great stay. At $120 per night, in the middle of Margs, with all the things someone could need…. Its very good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

It is located right in the middle of MR town. The suites are located at the back of the main pub/dining area. It was not noisy and we had a good night’s sleep with the windows open. The hotel car park was right in front of the suites and it was only annoying when cars revved their engines in the early mornings.

We had the family suite with 3 adults & 1 teenager. It was very spacious and the toilet was separate from the bathroom. It had very basic kitchen facilities, with a microwave and small fridge. The queen size bed was in the main area with a bunk bed and single bed in a room adjacent to the main room.

I would recommend the restaurant as their prices were quite reasonable compared to similar places in the MR. The waitresses were also very friendly and helpful.

We paid $200 per night, which was the cheapest we could find that had decent facilities. I think we paid a good price as most rooms were booked out for the Easter holidays.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Margaret River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Hotel

Address: 125 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Margaret River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.