We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great end to our day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Experience

The Grove Experience
Metricup and Carter Rds, Margaret River, Western Australia 6280, Australia
+61 8 9755 7458
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Where else can you find, a distillery producing Top Shelf Spirits; a brewery that makes fantastic craft beer; cafe with homemade pizza; a cocktail bar using TGE delicious liqueurs; and secluded accommodation so you don't have to leave.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great end to our day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We too got warned by the tour guide that this place was a little un-PC. They were NOT rude, it was all good natured, our host had us all laughing in no time, but still managed to impart a lot of knowledge about the products and gave us some very tasty samples. Some fun photo opportunities here as well. I will be going back on my next visit! A great experience (the crew have obviously worked hard on the atmosphere and what they are making) and lots to buy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove V, Owner at The Grove Experience, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
thanks for the great review we do try to have a great time here with our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    28
    2
    2
    15
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Busselton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A "Must See" Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Being "local" we have been to The Grove many times and it is a "must see" venue when we have people visiting us. What a fantastic place!!!!!! Yep, definitely politically incorrect. Yep, you will be treated by "rude" people and probably will be abused too. BUT you will never laugh as much anywhere else!!! The liqueurs are delicious, and a tasting will teach you how to mix them to produce delicious cocktails. The strawberry liqueur is to die for, and will easily turn a glass of champagne into a classy champagne cocktail. We have eaten in the cafe there also, and the food is without fault. We have even had our work Christmas party at this venue, and nothing was too much trouble for them. It's been about 6 weeks since our last visit, so might just have to go back again this weekend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove V, Owner at The Grove Experience, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks LOCALS for your review, we look forward to your returns visits and possibly another staff function here with our new line of amazing pizza's


Steve & The Grovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The best Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was such a great visit! It was fun, great knowledge of all the liquor and great tastings! The man behind the bar that was making our tastings was so fun and made the whole experience so enjoyable and funny! I can’t say enough nice things about this place. It was lovely to sit out and enjoy all our tastings looking across the well presented lake and gardens. If they don’t have a tasting of the Turkish Delight liquor when they are doing your tastings ask to have a taste as it is just the best liquor. You will have so much fun here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove V, Owner at The Grove Experience, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We do like to have a bit of fun here and our groundsmen much appreciated your comments about the grounds - he is very proud of his work. Also great that you loved our products and staff and we look forward to welcoming you back. Steve & The Grovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fun, laughter and out of this world liqueurs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were warned by our tour guide that some of the remarks by the owner and his son could be deemed offensive and that we would have the mickey taken out of us. However, I think we were lucky as we had the pleasure of the owner's son, Nick, behind the bar that day. Oh yes, there were insults and bad taste comments being bandied about but I don't know what came over me - it seemed like a challenge had been set and I gave as good as I got. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

More importantly, we were there to taste the produce. The liqueurs on their own were incredible. Mix two or three together into a cocktail and oh boy! Honestly, the best I've ever tasted. Nick knows his job inside out, gives a brilliant presentation and has a great sense of humour. He must have because he followed us to the Bootleg Brewery and joined us on our table for a bit more banter.

There's some interesting and different glassware on sale too. Would have loved to buy some but didn't want to risk breakages on the flight home.

A great highlight to our day's wine tasting.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove V, Owner at The Grove Experience, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Crew

thanks for the positive feed back I am glad you had a fab time with us and we look forward to you re-visting

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An escape from the rest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I love this place, I have now been here 3 times!!!!
Completely different atmosphere to the usual more serious tastings in the area which can become quiet drab after a while.
I can only assume that those complaining are the typical PC crowd offended by everything and have no sense of humour as I found this place to be refreshing and a bit of fun.

I highly recommend people check this place out! but please if you are offended everytime the wind changes direction, and thus feel the need to complain about it, do everyone else a favour and stick to the PC route.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove V, Owner at The Grove Experience, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Guys

thanks for the review, it is nice to know that there are still lots of positive happy non pc people out there!

steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove Experience also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to The Grove Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.