We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edge of the Forest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Edge of the Forest to your Saves list
Edge of the Forest
25 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at "Edge of the Forest" for 3 nights from 16th-19th October. We were delighted with the friendliness of Denise. She went out of her way to assist us and to help us make the most of our time there. Her recommendations were excellent. The Motel was lovely, set in beautiful gardens and we had our own outdoor patio area which was great. The motel was clean, well appointed and had everything we needed. The barbeque area was great and we enjoyed the visits from the native birds. A memorable and very happy stay.Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We enjoyed having you both stay and were only too happy to assist you plan your stay :) Margaret River and surrounds are so beautiful and there is so much to see and do, we like everyone to get the best from their time here. The parrots and wrens are fabulous and we actually had a Kookaburra sitting on one of the balconies in the back garden for the first time last week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    54
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
96
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved Edge of the Forest. It is a small, family-run motel at the north edge of Margaret River. It is a pleasant 10 minute walk into town.
The check in was smooth, and we were given a lot of helpful tips for good things to visit in the local area. The room (1) was small but had everything we could possibly have needed. It was unfortunately close to the road, and we were disturbed at night. The owners have put in laminated glass to try and combat road noise, which was appreciated. The room had a kitchenette including a microwave, a large TV and FREE WIFI. There is a lovely garden and guest BBQ also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Many thanks for your review and we are happy that the tips were helpful when planning your outings. The walk into town is pleasant and walking home after dinner is a great way for your meal to go down.... As the weather is warming up, so is the BBQ... Occasionally the road noise bothers light sleepers, however it doesn't bother most guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well located, just a short walk from Margaret River and right by lovely forest trails, this motel offers much more than just a room for your money; Denise and Alan gave us a very warm welcome and loads of information about where to go, what to do etc. The modern and compact studio style room was well equipped for self catering breakfast and a simple continental breakfast was also available on request for $6. The bed was very comfy (with dual control electric blanket and good reading lights) and the ensuite had a big walk in shower and overhead heating lamps which were a boon given the chilly weather during our 3 day stay. There was also a big selection of DVDs for guests to borrow. Each unit has its own tiny covered outdoor patio area with a small table and 2 chairs; the lovely garden has an attractive corner with a purpose built BBQ area (gas fired, including utensils) for guests’ use and a large outdoor dining table and chairs. We dined out twice and barbecued once. Special thanks to Denise who spotted that we had left a bag behind the door and managed to get in touch soon enough for us to turn around and go back to pick it up and still make it to the airport in time for our flight back to Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful comments. It was lovely having you with us for the 3 days and hearing your daily exploits. So happy that we were able to get in touch quickly enough regarding your forgotten luggage:) The days are starting to warm up a bit and we are getting less rain each day too. From now on the little patios will be full of guests enjoying a glass of wine at the end of a busy day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Staid there for a couple of days in September and while the weather could have been better our choice of accommodation in the "Edge of the Forest" was spot on.

The lovely owner were helpful and friendly and our studio was spacious, clean, well appointed and well worth the money.

The location just outside of Margaret River is idyllic and really at the edge of the forest as advertised with a nice little hike just around the corner.

On the other hand the "Edge of the Forest" is just a short 10min walk into town and to a number of fine restaurants, which meant no driving was required to mar the enjoyment of the fine local wines.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay there again should we have to good fortune to return to Margaret River.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your great comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time in Margaret River.
The weather this year has been particularly wet and cold:( However the stunning scenery of green fields and abundant water wouldn't look the same without the rain.
The walks from the Motel around the Margaret River are beautiful and provide wonderful photo opportunities.
We would love to have you stay with us again if returning to our beautiful region.
The beaches are amazing, great body surfing, if you can get here during the Summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I knew from the moment we drove into the complex we had made a great choice.
The grounds are beautiful and everything very well appointed. Denise is both welcoming and very helpful with her wealth of knowledge of the area.
The accommodation was a dream - spacious bedroom/kitchen area with the most delightful smell when we first entered. Both the bedroom and the bathroom would do any home proud.

Denise has put together a very informative brochure with lots of helpful hints on walks etc. If there is something that is not covered in the brochure then she is only too happy to be of help.

There is a little bit of traffic noise from the road and some from the 'plumbing' throughout the units but nothing to worry about.

Situated on the edge of the town of Margaret River within easy walking distance it is the perfect location with many beautiful walks nearby.
I wish we had been able to stay longer and if ever in the Margaret River area again I will certainly be returning to Edge of the Forest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments.
As there is so much to see and do in this beautiful region and everyone has different ideas of what they want to see and do, we have been busy getting out and about ourselves to discover the delights so we can pass on the information to our guests.
We have wonderful housekeepers who are proud to work here and keep the rooms clean.
As we are on the Highway there are certain times of the day when the traffic is busy, which makes this little town the thriving metropolis that it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Had 3 nights here while in the Margaret River. Excellent clean, friendly, customer focused,place to stay. It has been recently refurbished with no expense spared. Everything is done to make one feel comfortable and welcome. Great outdoor living area in a beautiful garden. The care and cleanliness of the place is absolutely pristine. The owners are very helpful with information of the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your great comments.
The refurbishments have given the motel a fresh feel.
It was lovely to see you out enjoying the beautiful trail walks around the motel.
Would love to see both again if you are ever back in Margaret River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This motel is always a delight to stay in. The Hosts are highly professional and accommodating - their personal touch makes for a great place to stay. The recently renovated rooms are well furnished and roomy - ideal for a stay of longer than a few nights. The rooms are more like luxury chalets and much less like a typical motel. Parking is convenient and the Forest outlook and atmosphere is great. The expansive video collection for free use of guests is amazing. Wireless is Free. There is a microwave and a Fridge so no need to always eat out. The Motel can provide a goods value continental breakfast too. An electric blanket was a true comfort. A great place business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an outdoor seating area - good for summer or if you are a smoker perhaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks Leon for staying with us again and we look forward to your next visit.
The personal touches seem to be appreciated by most guests.
The Forest outlook and atmosphere is very relaxing and the birdlife abundant.
All of our rooms have decked patios with outdoor settings overlooking the gardens:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edge of the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest

Address: 25 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Motel 10 minutes walk to centre of town. Property borders State Forest with walk trails to beautiful views along the Margaret River. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens throughout the property, the patios located overlooking the back garden also have forest views. FREE Wi-Fi, BBQ, Parking, DVDs', Toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edge of the Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edge of the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.