We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edge of the Forest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Edge of the Forest to your Saves list
Edge of the Forest
25 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Staid there for a couple of days in September and while the weather could have been better our choice of accommodation in the "Edge of the Forest" was spot on.

The lovely owner were helpful and friendly and our studio was spacious, clean, well appointed and well worth the money.

The location just outside of Margaret River is idyllic and really at the edge of the forest as advertised with a nice little hike just around the corner.

On the other hand the "Edge of the Forest" is just a short 10min walk into town and to a number of fine restaurants, which meant no driving was required to mar the enjoyment of the fine local wines.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay there again should we have to good fortune to return to Margaret River.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your great comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time in Margaret River.
The weather this year has been particularly wet and cold:( However the stunning scenery of green fields and abundant water wouldn't look the same without the rain.
The walks from the Motel around the Margaret River are beautiful and provide wonderful photo opportunities.
We would love to have you stay with us again if returning to our beautiful region.
The beaches are amazing, great body surfing, if you can get here during the Summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    54
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
96
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I knew from the moment we drove into the complex we had made a great choice.
The grounds are beautiful and everything very well appointed. Denise is both welcoming and very helpful with her wealth of knowledge of the area.
The accommodation was a dream - spacious bedroom/kitchen area with the most delightful smell when we first entered. Both the bedroom and the bathroom would do any home proud.

Denise has put together a very informative brochure with lots of helpful hints on walks etc. If there is something that is not covered in the brochure then she is only too happy to be of help.

There is a little bit of traffic noise from the road and some from the 'plumbing' throughout the units but nothing to worry about.

Situated on the edge of the town of Margaret River within easy walking distance it is the perfect location with many beautiful walks nearby.
I wish we had been able to stay longer and if ever in the Margaret River area again I will certainly be returning to Edge of the Forest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments.
As there is so much to see and do in this beautiful region and everyone has different ideas of what they want to see and do, we have been busy getting out and about ourselves to discover the delights so we can pass on the information to our guests.
We have wonderful housekeepers who are proud to work here and keep the rooms clean.
As we are on the Highway there are certain times of the day when the traffic is busy, which makes this little town the thriving metropolis that it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Had 3 nights here while in the Margaret River. Excellent clean, friendly, customer focused,place to stay. It has been recently refurbished with no expense spared. Everything is done to make one feel comfortable and welcome. Great outdoor living area in a beautiful garden. The care and cleanliness of the place is absolutely pristine. The owners are very helpful with information of the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your great comments.
The refurbishments have given the motel a fresh feel.
It was lovely to see you out enjoying the beautiful trail walks around the motel.
Would love to see both again if you are ever back in Margaret River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This motel is always a delight to stay in. The Hosts are highly professional and accommodating - their personal touch makes for a great place to stay. The recently renovated rooms are well furnished and roomy - ideal for a stay of longer than a few nights. The rooms are more like luxury chalets and much less like a typical motel. Parking is convenient and the Forest outlook and atmosphere is great. The expansive video collection for free use of guests is amazing. Wireless is Free. There is a microwave and a Fridge so no need to always eat out. The Motel can provide a goods value continental breakfast too. An electric blanket was a true comfort. A great place business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an outdoor seating area - good for summer or if you are a smoker perhaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks Leon for staying with us again and we look forward to your next visit.
The personal touches seem to be appreciated by most guests.
The Forest outlook and atmosphere is very relaxing and the birdlife abundant.
All of our rooms have decked patios with outdoor settings overlooking the gardens:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We did not do a lot of research into accommodation in the Margaret River area and more or less stumbled upon ‘The Edge of the Forest’. Right at the outset I must say we were not disappointed and Denise, our host, was extremely helpful.

Denise sat down with us and together we drew up a plan for our time in the Margaret River area. There is actually so much to see and do we regretted not staying longer than two nights but our two month trip around Australia has many such places.

There is ample car parking and a lovely garden area with a BBQ.

Room – Accommodation is within a purpose built block. The room we had was well appointed, spacious and ideal for a self catering break. As you will see from the photographs it really oozes luxury.

En-Suite – Pure luxury. Clean, modern and the shower was excellent.

Noise – There is some traffic noise from the nearby highway and unfortunately there is a ‘lot’ of water noise from adjoining rooms. This however is to be expected in this type of structure.

Breakfast – You are on your own. The small kitchenette however is well equipped and there is a microwave.

Checking In and Out – Denise is charming and would score 5+ out of 5. As indicated above she is extremely helpful, very knowledgeable and a good communicator. With Denise it is very much a ‘personal’ touch and for the tourist that makes a huge difference.

Location – Not only is the establishment on the ‘edge’ of the forest but it is on the edge of the town. That is NOT a problem however as the location provides one with the best of both worlds and believe me that is a bonus.

Dinner – Denise has the ‘low down’ on dinner out from budget to 5*. Also there is ample detail in the local directory in the room.

Generally – I have no hesitation in recommending the ‘Edge of the Forest’ and if ever that way again I will be staying there.
I have attached some photographs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments and for staying with us.
We want everyone to get the most out of the time that they are staying in our beautiful region and
helping guests to plan their time whilst here is a pleasure.
We are just starting to have a few warmer sunny days so the use of the BBQ will soon be in full swing. It is great to watch our guests relaxing in the garden.
We will look into the "shower noise" to see if we can rectify.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked one night at this place and immediately regretted that we did not book for a longer time. The owner(?)/receptionist, a woman, was so sweet and friendly and made us feel so welcome. She showed us around in our room and gave us tips about the area. Wonderful person!

The room we’d booked was really a family room, so it was quite spacious for two persons. It was very clean and had a fridge, micro, and some kitchen equipment. It also had a small terrace with a barbecue and table. The bathroom was of good size and very clean. Loved the little flower on the sink!

It’s located about 1 km from the town and you can easily walk.
When we checked out there was a man in the reception and he was also very friendly and nice.

I would definitely recommend this place! It’s a true gem!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We thank you for your great comments.
One night is such a short time for our beautiful area, which has so many lovely sights to explore, that is the reason we love giving tips to help guest get the most out of their time whilst here.
We love to have a flower in our own bathroom/bedroom and this is just an extension of who we are:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent basic accomadation with lots of little extras to make your stay special. I travelled with my wife for a romantic break and was not dissapointed.

Clean, comfortable rooms with a small shared outdoor area for al fresco dining and BBQ. Tea and coffee making in room and a selection of DVDs to borrow too!

The owner will happly recommend a good place to eat and there are menus of the main restaruants in a folder in your room.

Best of all - the hotel backs onto a forrest walk and 10-15 mins walk in town!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are happy to have had you stay and pleased that you enjoyed your time here. Our little patio areas and great for breakfast watching the birds or an evening platter and glass of wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edge of the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest

Address: 25 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Motel 10 minutes walk to centre of town. Property borders State Forest with walk trails to beautiful views along the Margaret River. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens throughout the property, the patios located overlooking the back garden also have forest views. FREE Wi-Fi, BBQ, Parking, DVDs', Toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edge of the Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edge of the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.