We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edge of the Forest

Save Saved
You added Edge of the Forest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edge of the Forest
25 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Margaret River
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Edge of the Forest and had a great time. The location is wonderful, especially the peaceful and beautiful garden, yet it is just a short walk to everything in town. We were travelling with 3 other couples and really enjoyed being able to congregate at the big table in the garden. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed, and I would highly recommend staying there when you visit Margaret River.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We loved having you all stay and it was great to see you enjoying catching up each day in the garden. Lots of lovely laughter wafting through the garden. Hope the rest of your holiday was fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    34
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
78
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

An enthusiatic welcome was followed by a great room. The garden view rooms are quiet,have a great view of the garden and your own decking.The BBQ is the worlds cleanest.Immaculate cleaning included doing the washing up.10 minutes from town,if you need it.
We got great tips on guides for the wineries.

Room Tip: Go for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
The BBQ is a big hit and very well used with many people chosing to dine on their decks or at the dinding table in the garden. What better than a BBQ with Margaret River wine from your day trip to the wineries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner, it was such a beautiful place to stay. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, and their suggestions for restaurants and tours were perfect. Enjoyed their outdoor settings and gardens, very pretty, also the rooms were very clean and cozy. highly recommend this accommodation

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Enjoyed having you both stay and very happy you had a great time. There is so much to do in the area and so any places to dine that we try to make sure everyone gets the most out of their stay. Glad you liked your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent a lovely weekend at Edge of The Forest. Extremely friendly hosts, beautiful gardens and all within walking distance from the town. Sit under the stars at night, enjoy the BBQ provided with the sparkling lights throughout the trees twinkling. Very relaxing property with lots to see and do in the area. Will definitely go back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We love seeing guests relaxing on their decks enjoying the garden at the end of a busy day enjoying the pleasures of Magaret River. BBQ is a big hit. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houten
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Edge of Forest. There are only 5 rooms and it is a very quiet and peaceful place. You can sit on your own little balcony and watch the parrots fly over.
The owners are very nice and gave us some very good advice in choosing some wineries to visit. We explored the region and loved the national parks, beaches, caves and the stingrays which you can touch in Hamelin Bay.

Room Tip: Room nr. 1 and 2 are on the other side of the house and not at the garden side. if there is place en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
It was lovely to meet you both. We are very happy you got to see the stingrays at Hamelin Bay, not everyone is so lucky, it is quite a treat. Glad you enjoyed your time with us, the beautiful natural attractions and wineries visited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If we had known the place was this good we would of stayed longer than the 1 night. We had the family room with our own private balcony with bbq etc its a shame the mrs wouldnt let me cook on it lol. Very clean rooms and only a short stroll to town. We will definetly be coming back to stay again but for a lot longer. Highly recommended to anyone looking for accomodation in Margaret River. Full credit to the owners for such a wonderful place. Maybe one thing I can suggest to the owners are to put some better photo's up on the website because me and the mrs were blown away when we arrived!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
So glad to hear you will be coming back we certainly would love to have you all stay with us again. We will be updating our website after May, so new pictures will be done. We are doing a bit of renovating to some of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have just spent 5 nights at the Edge of the Forest and cannot recommend it highly enough - from the friendly welcome by Denise and Alan at check in, to the thoughtful touches of a fresh flower in the bathroom everything was so personal. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a small terrace just outside to enjoy a glass of wine overlooking the enclosed garden - the parakeets would come regularly to eat off the bird feeder. We were given lots of advice about the local area when we asked for it and Alan even cleaned the BBQ after we cooked. A small problem with our smoke alarm was dealt with quickly and efficiently and was a reflection of the care and attention given by the owners.

I would recommend Edge of the Forest to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
It was lovely to have met you both and we are happy that you got to experience a lot of what Margaret River has to offer and also to relax as well. We enjoyed our little chats each day to see what you had been up to, We turned the weather on for you, certainly a lot warmer than home... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edge of the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest

Address: 25 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and personal family run Motel 10 minutes walk to centre of town. Free Wi-Fi, BBQ, Parking, Dvd's. Ensuites have hairdryers & toiletries. Rooms have decked patios with outdoor settings overlooking gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Edge of the Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edge of the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.