We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edge of the Forest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Edge of the Forest to your Saves list
Edge of the Forest
25 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights - the 30th and 31st December 2012 - and it was superb. Both Denise and Alan are exceptionally nice people and made you feel very welcome. They are also great advocates for the Margaret River area and should be recognised for that. The room was spotlessly clean and the facilities second to none, and we recommend the Edge of the Forrest to anyone wishing to spend a few days in this region. We will definitely be back even if only to reacquaint ourselves with Denise and Alan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed everything Margaret River has on offer. We are enjoying exploring the area and sharing our experiences with everyone. We look forward to your next visit and hope you don't leave it too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    54
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
96
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights and, as we took four of the six rooms, it felt very personal. Denise and Alan were friendly and welcoming. The garden contained an excellent barbecue and a large table surrounded by attractive vegetation. Rooms were large, comfortable and well equipped. The free wifi was very useful. An excellent motel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to see you all mingling in the garden enjoying the ambience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed for one night, but it was lovely the owners were really nice and the rooms were great too. The gardens are beautiful and it is right next to the lovely forest. Only a short walk into the main town. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Unfortunately we were only able to stay for one night. The husband and wife team who run it are lovely and friendly and happy to provide info on anything you need in Margaret River.

Located in pleasant surroundings backing on to bushland. Even though it is on the main road it is very quiet at night (the rooms at the back).

The only criticism I would have is that there was no option of breakfast mentioned. It would have been nice to habe brekky on the outdoor settings provided for each room, but we wandered into town and had it at a nice little place. I am also not a big lover of shower curtains, but hey that's a personal thing and not a big deal.

Overall I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter than those at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eotf, Owner at Edge of the Forest, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hi Paul, Great to have you stay with us and hope you can stay with us when next in Margaret River. We provide a Continental Breakfast which is displayed in a basket on the Reception Desk. Sorry you didn't notice this at check-in as we would have loved you to have enjoyed breakfast on your balcony. Totally agree about the shower curtains. Five of our bathrooms are being renovated in May next year and there will be no shower curtains in these bathrooms. Cheers Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very friendly owner. The location is perfect; very short distance to the MR town. The garden motel is surrounded with greens & nature forest. Kids will love it. Beautiful garden. The facility is very well equipped, maintained & clean. The design of the room is nice & cozy.

We stayed there for 3 nights, wish to extend another day but the rooms are all fully booked.

Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This small roadside/ garden motel would rival many other locations. It's charm is the individual attention paid to the design and comfort of each room. It feels like a small apartment. At least ours did! We had a private terrace as all rooms do- with access to a BBQ if we felt like it and a fully functional set of kitchen implements including fridge and microwave.
The rooms have a nice rustics charm with brick face bring the predominant choice.
The new owners are very welcoming and go out if their way to inform you and assist you in your exploration of the Margaret river area.
If only they could control the weather!

We would reccomend it and would visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here one night and would have loved to have been able to stay more. Beautiful large room, very clean, gorgeous garden, friendly owner. The book of restaurant menus helped us select 'Settlers Tavern' = one of the best meals I had in Western Australia. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edge of the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge of the Forest

Address: 25 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Motel 10 minutes walk to centre of town. Property borders State Forest with walk trails to beautiful views along the Margaret River. Decked patios with outdoor settings overlook various gardens throughout the property, the patios located overlooking the back garden also have forest views. FREE Wi-Fi, BBQ, Parking, DVDs', Toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edge of the Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edge of the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.