We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's not my deodorant!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grange on Farrelly

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grange on Farrelly to your Saves list
Grange on Farrelly
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16-18 Farrelly Street, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
1 review
“That's not my deodorant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Upon entering the room, I was smacked down with overpowering bleach wafts, yucky! We quickly opened all the windows and doors. After we checked the room out, deciding that it was still dirty, like the whole fridge. Not sure where all that bleach was used. Just as we are about to relax, my girlfriend sat on the bed, only to shoot back up as there was something long and hard under the covers. I pulled back the covers to discover the last person's deodorant... Hmmm. I notified the lady at reception straight away as I felt that I was expected to sleep in 'deodorant mans sheets'. We had a little bit of an disagreement, but she did agree to have sheets changed. But then moved us instead to another room. We really appreciated her helpful nature, but didn't really need to know that it's hard to find good staff, if she knew they weren't good at their job wouldn't you check on their work....? Our friends in the next room were lucky enough to only find stained sheets and towels...
I recommend the Margaret River Hotel, for price and professionalism.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks for writing in TimothyJones.
We apologize for this incident, which I heard about on my return from a couple of days away. When I caught up with staff to find out what happened, I discovered that there had been a housekeeping mix-up, the bathroom cleaners had been in, hence the bleach, but not the room cleaners. As it turned out the room had been occupied for a couple of days but the bed was unused the night before, so it was all an unfortunate mix-up.
Again our apologies and we hope to see you again one day, and there will definitely not be anything in the bedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    51
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
17
67
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Overall impressions- a mixed experience- some good, some awful. The room was spacious, well laid out and user-friendly. Spotlessly clean- excellent. The sofa was sagging and uncomfortable, the bed mattress needs replacing. Furniture is a little worn/dated but ok.
Our meal in the restaurant was awful- dried out lamb, some basic tired vegetables, a bottle of local wine leading to a very handsome bill of well over $100 for 2. Don't mind paying the money but expect quality, not this roadhouse food.
Staff (owner) friendly and helpful.
Room price was value- off season helped but suspect price will be too high in summer.
I had not wanted to make these comments on a public forum- preferred to fill out a guest comment card at reception but none provided and no feedback sought from reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hello Boult6.
Very sorry your experience wasn't up to our normal standard. Regarding the restaurant, there must be a story behind that because, having been here as long as we have, your comment just doesn't fit in with what we know, so something must have happened. Unfortunately, as you say, you didn't comment at the time so we can only guess. Nonetheless, be assured that we aim to provide the highest standard in our class and the kitchen takes its responsibilities very seriously.
We are running a continuing improvement programme and most older mattresses are now replaced and generally the comfort of our guests is paramount.
Just a small correction, there are feedback forms on the reception counter.
Thank you for your feedback, we take all comments seriously and use them to improve our service and product.
We hope to see you again one day.
Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Good location, right in the centre of town near the visitors centre. Rooms and furnishings pretty old, but this does mean there is lots of space and things are solidly made, though the headboard on our bed was broken. We booked a superior spa room but were given a multi-room suit instead. When we went and asked for our original room we got it, thankfully, as the suite appeared to have only a single fan heater for many rooms, and it was pretty cold!

The spa bath in our room was amazing and we got a quiet night's sleep in comfortable bedding. Would stay here again, but definitely wouldn't pay as much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hello Meg660. Thanks for writing in with your comments, which were of a positive nature over all.
Just a comment on the room you booked, you would have paid a bit extra for the first room because it had a sitting room as well as the bedroom and spa bathroom, but you weren't to know that when you booked it, the room you eventually occupied happily, is the standard spa room. Anyway, it all worked out because the person we upgraded from the standard spa room to make way for your change of rooms was very happy to have the extra space. We do our best to accommodate everyone and in this case it worked out. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Australia, and particularly Margaret River, and we look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I wanted to visit Margaret River but were very much aware of the long week end prices,so we decided to try the Comfort inn at Margaret River, we found it very comfortable and very handy to the main town, reception very good gave us all the information we needed,Room very clean tea and coffee in room had our evening meal ,Very Tasty ,thank you for a nice week end apart from the weather.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Hello Alan. You said you would and you did - write a review. Thank you for the comments. Many say that they will write but most don't once they've moved on to the next thing, it takes a little effort, we know, so again thank you for your time and effort which is appreciated by us.
Picking up on your point about pricing, the Grange is not in the first flush of youth, as we've written before, but for clean, affordable, accommodation in the town centre, walking distance to all the town centre facilities, and in a quite location for a good night's sleep, we're right up there.
Sorry we couldn't organize the weather better for you, it's something we're working on.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Rgds,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

A pleasant place for a short break from the normal routine. Room was a good size - the spa excellent. A comfortable 4 poster bed. We found it quiet, the manager and staff attentive. Alarm clock radio however was pretty useless. Close to all amenities. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Hello Plantagenet, took me back to my school days with your 'handle'.
Sorry about the alarm clock, they are one of those irritating gadgets that no one knows how to use, and you can't buy the same make twice; we've probably got six or seven different types scattered around the property. As a tip, for those who must be awake at a certain time and are having trouble working out the alarm clock, unplug it and ask reception for a wake-up call.
Thank you for writing in with your comments on the Grange, we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again next time you are in Margaret River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hotel is in a time warp and in dire need of capital investment. The maintenance overall is non existent and the property looks particularly tired.
The accommodation however was clean but expensive in relation to the product.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Hello grgsez, thanks for your comments, it's always good to receive feedback from our clients. Sorry, I can't comment directly about the price you paid, because I don't know what it was, except to say that it would be very unusual that our price was out of line with other accommodation outlets in Margaret River, and right now we are busy. One thing (of many things) we take seriously is to make sure that our pricing and what we have to offer is in line with the local market, i.e, COMPETITIVE! If we weren't we'd soon be out of business.
Regarding your 'Time Warp' comment, well, yes, we are in a sort of time warp, the good old Grange is an institution from way back and to change it would mean that it wouldn't be the Grange any more. Funnily enough, I was discussing that very point, only this morning, with a client who loved their stay and saw virtue where you saw a problem.
The thing is that no outlet can be all things to all people, we are quite happy to accept your point of view, but we know our product and we have many repeat clients going back well over ten years, so, here and there, things can't be that bad.
Non-existent maintenance? Hmm, should I mention that to my maintenance people?
Anyway, again, thank you for your comments, any comment, positive or negative, adds to the mix and helps us to keep our staff on their toes and assists us to keep our focus on the things that matter.
Hope to see you again one day.
Regards,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

When we arrived at The Grange, we were greeted by an extremely friendly and helpful receptionist. She took a great deal of time showing us a map of the surrounding area, finding out what our tastes were and recommending places to visit. We had decided to cut our stay down by one night and again this was not a problem to her and she dealt with it efficiently and without a charge. The man on reception later on was again very friendly and helped us to access the swimming pool and bbq and leant us equipment to use. The rooms were immaculate, cool and comfortable, with a pleasant terrace area outside for each room. The small swimming pool was clean and pleasant and provided a refreshing early morning swim.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangeonfarrelly, Owner at Grange on Farrelly, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Hello ubiubb. Thank you for your many positive comments above, we do our best to provide a service and when it all comes together for our guests, and we receive positive feedback, it makes it all worthwhile for us and our staff.
Thank you for coming onto TripAdvisor to share your experience with others, we will show your comments to staff members as they like to know that their efforts are appreciated. We hope your trip to Australia was a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange on Farrelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange on Farrelly

Address: 16-18 Farrelly Street, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grange on Farrelly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
29 Room Motel, four minutes walk from the town centre. Close to everything, good value.Time is of the essence? Ask our friendly staff to narrow down the numerous choices of activities available to suit YOU, we take no commission from anyone we recommend - WE are here to help YOU to have the best experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Grange on Farrelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grange On Farrelly Hotel Margaret River
Comfort Inn Margaret River
Margaret River Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange on Farrelly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.