We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made the most of it!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgefield Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bridgefield Guest House to your Saves list
Bridgefield Guest House
73 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Margaret River B&B and Inns
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Made the most of it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent 3 nights. We had the champagne room,supposed to be one of the best. Very noisy all night, our balcony door overlooking a fuel station next to the main highway. Although good cupboard space only 3 flimsy coat hangers. Resident caretaker partying into the early hours on one night.
Breakfast at the adjacent restaurant good.(included in price) and the restaurant itself open in the evening was excellent. Give the B and B a miss but try the restaurant!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    13
    16
    2
See reviews for
1
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Was a little disappointed in the size of the room. Not much room to put your luggage but overall clean and comfortable. Close to shops and walking distance to restaurants.
Easy to find and great restaurant adjacent to the building

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have recently stayed at this B&B and to be honest it was a huge let down.
In terms of the room, the bed was on wheels and on a wooden floor which meant every time you sat down on the bed you went flying across the room, then the toilet room smelt of pee which was very unpleasant.
Apart from the above, the biggest disappointment was the customer service we received. On arrival we were informed of the on site restaurant which served not only our breakfast but also provided dinner as well. We were told it was amazing but when we went on the first evening they messed up our order and then tried to push us to take the incorrect item and when we said we wanted what we ordered they were very uninviting and gave no apology at all.
The next morning we complained to the B&B reception but to no avail as there was no apology from them either and it was stressed that the were not the same company.
I feel that if they are providing part of the service you have paid for the B&B needs to be responsible for the actions of them as well as that is part of the experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Bridgefield Guest House at the beginning of our trip to Australia and New Zealand and I have to say we were very disappointed with it. We were told it was charming and quirky, but what charm it had on the outside was lost when we entered our tiny, windowless bedroom in the main house. The house has clearly been adapted to add ensuite bathrooms, but the layout means that, when the bathroom door is closed, there is no natural light into the bedroom. What light there is comes from the glass door to what was described as a "courtyard" on the other side of the bathroom. This is, in fact, just a small square yard with a table and two chairs with a corrugated iron fence separating it from the filling station next door. Dark wood panelling, an absence of sound-proofing and the closure of the verandah restaurant lent a depressing and repressive air to the whole place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosnells
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at Bridgefield in the main house, room 1 and it was cosy and clean. the decor was befitting a house of such age, but with all mod cons. Although the traffic was noisy for a short time each morning, you would expect this staying on one of the busiest highways in the south west. The restaurant was being renovated, but we had tea and coffee facilities, right outside our door and an outdoor courtyard with fridge and coffee facilites. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. We will stay again sometime soon. The Guest house is minutes walk from the restaurants and shops and very close to the river and forest. Very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We also stayed in the merlot room, but we loved it. You get your own entrance into the house and we thought that was great. The room is near the reception but we were off doing stuff most of the day and it didn't bother us. Noise in general wasn't an issue.

Unfortunately the restaurant was closed when we were there but there are heaps on places just a few minutes away with awesome food.

The receptionist was really nice and the little Kitchenet we used was quaint

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Baddow, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It is a nice building within walking distance of the town. We made the mistake of booking the Merlow room at an extra cost without first seeing it. It was not cheap at 140 dollars a night so we expected something a bit special. What we got was a dark gloomy room with a view of a brick wall out of the main window. We had to share the tea making facilities with the receptionist and walk across the reception area to make it, not what you want to do first thing in the morning. There were constant conversations going on and the phone ringing. We felt like we were in a stock cupboard. I don't know what the other rooms are like, but give the Merlow room a miss.

Room Tip: Don't have the Merlow room. It is too noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridgefield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgefield Guest House

Address: 73 Bussell Highway, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgefield Guest House Margaret River is a National Trust listed property and is a great place for travellers. Bridgefield is centrally located, close to the river walk trails, shops and restaurants. All tour operators pick up from our carpark. All rooms are ensuite. Fully cooked Breakfast at on-site restaurant LaScarpetta is included in all tariffs. There are tea and coffee facilities. Log fires in winter. Reverse cycle aircon in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bridgefield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgefield Guest House Hotel Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgefield Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.