We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Manor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Basildene Manor to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    42
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
216
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We booked this Hotel on October 6th 2010. We arrived to find that they had overseen and missed our Reservation. The Staff (Jenny) was rude and uncaring towards the situation and tried to palm us off to a Motel next door. As it was peak season in the Margeret River, accommodation was scarce and we spent another couple of hours driving around attempting to find somewhere to stay. I would not rate or advise anybody to stay at this Hotel ever.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, General Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Thank you for your feedback, I would be happy to discuss this directly with you as this is not the level of service that we strive to provide at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. Please contact me on 1300 761 414 (option 2) and I while I am unable to change your past experience I would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you in order to provide some resolution on this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We found the staff & facilities very good with the atmosphere a bonus. The king size bed in Cabinet was a treat as we were given an upgrade from the queen size room down stairs. All in all our stay was good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed at Basildene on our honeymoon this year, and were pleasantly suprised with the place. The grounds are immaculately kept, and the colours were beautiful this time of year. We even saw a bandicoot! That said, the building itself is gorgeous, but it's really just another hotel. Expensive breakfasts, too-soft beds etc. The TV reception in the room was shocking, and the "DVD/video library" is very limited. I don't know who picks the DVDs, but it looks like they chose the absolute bottom of the barrel flicks.
However, it was super-close to the centre of town, and it was very easy to get to all the wineries/restaurants/bushwalks that we wanted to do.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Rivers Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay.Basildene Manor, an 100yr old elegant country estate, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Seventeen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renouned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months),tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.