We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Basildene Manor to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Absolutely loved our accommodation at the manor. Not only were the rooms and grounds just beautiful but the customer service we received was of very high standard. Staff made the utmost effort to ensure our stay was of superior standard, from receiving a personal tour of the Manor upon check in, to a personal greeting at breakfast, and a welcoming conversation with the gardener about our day's plans, and even the use of the BBQ complete with a well supplied picnic basket and ice bucket to accompany our BBQ usage highlights a huge list of personal touches throughout our stay.
From beginning to end, our stay was perfect, and to top it off we were even given a delicious parting gift of homemade scones and jam to enjoy post stay! A totally exceptional stay, cannot recommend the Manor enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear gabrielle f,
Absolutely loved your review of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & the personalised service provided. We are glad you found the jam & scones delicious and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    40
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
214
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Im not really one to write reviews on accommodation, but I felt obliged to let everyone know how exceptional this hotel is! From the moment we arrived, the staff were fantastic. Very friendly and welcoming. Basildene Manor is beautifully presented, and the room we stayed in was very generous. It was very clean and tidy. Breakfast offered a good range of foods to choose from, and they accommodated my gluten free requirements. It is in an amazing location - only 2 mins from town. Would definitely recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Kathryn R,
We are so pleased that you took the time to post your review & let everyone know how much you enjoyed Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We always try to assist with special dietary requirements where possible. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

A beautiful old property with a tastefully built modern extension. Basildene is run by the Accor Vacation Club, but if there are vacancies, others can stay. The Manor house is surrounded by well manicured gardens together with a swimming pool and a tennis court, The rooms are spacious and in many ways above the 4* rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Kidman1,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your accommodation, together with the manicured gardens. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This accommodation was booked by someone else for us so i really didnt know what to expect. We travelled with 5 other couples for a small conference. It could not have been more perfect. Even though there were other guests in the Manor it felt like we were in our own home. The staff could not have been more accommodating to our every need. The grounds are breathtaking and make you just want to go like on a piece of the soft luscious grass and enjoy the world. I found the 2-2.5km walk into town absolutely perfect for my daily exercise. There is a path the entire way. The rooms were modern luxury and the bath just screams out for you to get in!!!
The balcony we had overlooked the grounds and i just wanted to sit on it all day.
The final touch when we left (i will leave that as a surprise) was just such a lovely way to cap of an excellent stay.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to have a grounds view from your balcony....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Crystal77,
We are so pleased you were able to experience the ambiance of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, and that it felt like you were in your own home. We'd love to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our first stay at Basildene Manor, but it won't be our last. An historical home, perfectly presented, excellent accommodation and friendly and accommodating staff; we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone. Very relaxing and enjoyable and the perfect place to stay in Margaret River. Absolute luxury in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Martinsueb,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable & relaxing stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We are just back from a flying visit - a 1 night stay in Basildene Manor. We first stayed here over 15 years ago and had very fond memories and I'm pleased to say that the place is just as wonderful as it was all those years ago. We stayed in a Queen manor room, admittedly not the biggest hotel room we've ever stayed in but they had made excellent use of the space and it felt very comfortable. It had everything you needed in the room - safe, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, tea and coffee etc. In the breakfast room there was a coffee machine, fresh milk and a beautiful view across the grounds.

There's no wifi in the bedrooms which is understandable given the thickness of the walls but it worked well in the common areas.

Breakfast was delicious and included in the price of the room - a great selection of fruits, juices and bread and then an a la carte menu for your hot breakfast.

We loved the scones and jam we were given for our onward journey!

We definitely won't wait another 15 years before our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear travel_with_kids041,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review for Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased you once again enjoyed your stay (albeit 15 years in between). It's always good to remember fond memories & occasions such as the breakfast, & the scones & jam for your onward journey. We'd love to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Basildene Manor a few times over the last few years and we love it. You can not stay here without taking a stroll through the gardens. Any time of year it is a wonderful place to stay. We give Basildene a excellent mark for ambiance, decor, food in fact absolutely everything and last but by no means least the staff. Always so willing to help in any way possible always smiling and friendly. We will keep coming back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear PerthChez,
We are always pleased to welcome our return guests. We are so pleased that you continue to appreciate the gardens, ambiance & the hospitality of the staff. We'd love to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Rivers Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay.Basildene Manor, an 100yr old elegant country estate, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Seventeen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renouned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months),tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.