We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The superb Basildene Manor - Margaret River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Save Saved
You added Grand Mercure Basildene Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Margaret River
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The superb Basildene Manor - Margaret River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have frequent stays at this delightful Manor and would compare it to a small "Boutique Hotel"
The rooms, views and location are fantastic. The breakfasts are great as is the breakfast room with its view over the garden. The weather was stormy whilst we were there, but the delightful library with open fire complete with tea and coffee facilities (available at all times) are a winner.
The staff are very eager to please, and our special thanks to Jenny & Daniella who manage a "first class" establishment.

Room Tip: We can recommend the suites on the West Side with a balcony that overlook the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear HelenMG478,
We are happy to hear that you are a frequent guest of ours and thank you for such a fantastic review. The open fire with the hot drinks are ideal for such stormy weather and we are pleased that you enjoyed it. We thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    35
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
179
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The receptionist was very pleasant and efficient. She even called to checked that the room was up to expectation. It was a nice and quiet mid week break for me. Even the long drive from Perth was worthwhile. I enjoyed a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Spa studio for relaxation and rejuvenation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Josephinelim,
Thank you for your review that you have written. We are happy that you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us for your mid week break for yourself. Hopefully we will see you again soon the next time you need a bit of R&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is such a great place to rest and relax the hotel is very charming with gorgeous gardens. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The breakfast is to die for. We were terribly disappointed we had to leave early and miss out on breakfast, so they gave us a pair of scones for the trip. Nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Chris H,
Thank you for very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you had such a relaxing stay with us. Hopefully the scones were delicious for your trip home. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the moment we drove through the entrance gate, upon our arrival, until the time we reluctantly left two days later our experience at Basildene Manor was one of absolute enjoyment.
Having lived in the area some years ago we were aware of this majestic old home but had never visited the property. With a need to use up some points and not having the time to go far from home we decided to spend two nights to celebrate my birthday. We were met at reception by a delightful young lady who obviously knew her job and the history of the Manor down to a 'T'. Our room was to be a King room on the first floor but when we noticed the stairs I asked for a room at ground level due to my dislike of stairs. Daniella was able to do a bit of creative bookwork and give us a lovely room overlooking the lake but at ground level. Our room was in the older part of the home but has been fully refurbished to give the comfort of a 5 star hotel. The newer part (added in the late 90's) has larger rooms and some have balconies overlooking the expansive gardens and lake.
Basildene Manor is set in a wonderful garden setting with manicured lawns leading down to a small lake set among trees and beautiful gardens. Rabbits (the bane of the gardeners) freely munch on the lawn at most times of the day and are an added attraction.. We were given a complimentary breakfast, due to the birthday, which was a culinary delight. (Thank you Jenny!) Set in the outskirts of Margaret River Basildene is well placed to allow visits to many wonderful attractions including the natural wonders of the world renown surf beaches, equally well known wineries, some fantastic caves plus lots of other attractions including chocolate factories, Icecreameries, cheese factories, berry farms and the like. Complimentary take away fresh scones were a lovely parting gesture and we loved the little card saying "Scone but not forgotten". The first thing I did when we got back home was to book another 2 night stay for November! My wife and I can thoroughly recommend this beautiful place and can assure prospective visitors they won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Bookings are 'random' due to being made from Singapore but if you are able to manage it then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sylverick,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review regarding the stay you had with us at Basildene Manor. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was an amazing experience. It is fantastic to hear that we were able to make your birthday such an enjoyable occasion with us. We would like to thank you again for such a wonderful review and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I loved this hotel. Built in 1912 it balanced character and history with all mod cons. The service was great plus your privacy was respected. We were greeted by 'Juliette', who was charming and couldn't be more helpful. The views were lovely, the rooms spacious and airy. There was something really special about this place and I'd recommend it to anyone else without reservation!

Room Tip: Get a balcony or room overlooking the garden/lake. Go for the bath - it was great to soak in the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Katherine S,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you felt there was something special about our Manor. We do believe it is a very special place and we thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you will be recommending us and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Let me start by saying this is not JUST a hotel,it felt more like a family house. Greeted by Juliet we were escorted through the history of this manor and its facitilities, as tired as we were from the drive from Perth, it still felt like were coming home. JENNY IANNARELLI, the general manager of the manor, also made my family and I feel like we were royalty. Nothing was out of reach... from organising taxis, to booking of restaurants and recommending places to go... This is one place I would thoroughly recommend staying, even if you have local knowledge of the wineries and tourist locations...
We booked three rooms for our family but upon arrival we enquiered if we could change to a King Suite with a bath... this enquiry was greeted with enthusiasm and gusto ...and as a result we upgraded to a room with a bath and also upgraded my parents who were visiting with us....
I have no hesitation recommending this Manor to anyone, wether they be seasoned South West travellers or visitors who have never been in the region. Congratulations to the management and staff.. To the Accorr management.... you have a great formula with location and more importantly the staff... in this location and I hope I experience the same in your other locations...
Breakfast was a choice as customised as you would like!!, based off a large standard offering and the service was exceptional..
Pièce de résistance was the parting gift of a beautiful pack of scones.. and includes the recipe to make them, but even after making them at home nothing replaces the experience of Basildene Manor Margaret River WA "Scone but not forgotten"... the scones and the recipe gave my whole family and I an experience we will never forget .... WELL DONE to the staff of Basildene Manor ... People make the difference...
and they did!!!!

Room Tip: If you can extend yourself the rooms with the bath are excellent. Depending on when you travel I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear craig k,
Thank you for your review on your stay at Basildene Manor. All of our staff go above and beyond to ensure that our guests are treated like royalty. Our staff will be very pleased with your comments regarding their customer service. It is great that we were able to accommodate you in the upgrade of you and your parent's room and enjoyed the bath in it. We are very lucky to be located in such a superb location with accessibility being in arms reach for our members. It's wonderful to hear that you have been baking scones from our recipe at home. We would like to thank you again for the time taken to write this fantastic review and to hear that you will be recommending us. We look forward to having you and your family visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I had a great stay at Basildene Manor. The staff bent over backwards to make us comfortable. The hot water system broke down during our stay and the systems they had in place for these emergencies were terrific. They even offered to pay for our stay elsewhere. The system was repaired ASAP, despite the stormy weekend. The grounds are picturesque, with resident ducks and rabbits, and kangaroos in the neighbouring plot.
The Manor is well positioned for Margaret River exploring and close to the main shopping strip for food and other goodies.
We left at 5am this morning and the manager woke up at some crazy hour to bake us some scones! What a wonderful person! I would happily recommend this place to anyone and I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear boomerangtraveller,
Thank you so much for your review for your stay at Basildene Manor. We are glad that you enjoyed our picturesque settings with our ducks, rabbits and kangaroos. Our staff enjoy our scenery and our little furry friends as much as you do. Thank you for your comments about our emergency procedures being terrific during this stormy weekend and we are delighted to hear that the hot water system was repaired ASAP. Thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to having you stay with us again. We greatly appreciate that you will recommend us to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Rivers Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay.Basildene Manor, an 100yr old elegant country estate, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Seventeen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renouned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months),tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.