We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Basildene Manor to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Margaret River
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“High Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

High Tea at Basildene Manor is well worth trying, the High Tea consisted of lovely freshly made cakes, scones, savouries, sandwiches tea or coffee was delicious ! added to that is the lovely staff and the glorious gardens well worth a visit. As everything is made fresh on the day you will need to book the price is $29.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear janefoxAlbany,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. The Devonshire Tea certainly is a firm favourite with all guests.
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    42
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
216
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daintree, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Firstly, I just wanted to say that the hotel staff, especially Danielle and Jenny, where just a pleasure to meet! And thank you Jenny for getting us to the bus just on time! We wouldn't of been able to catch it without your kind offer of taking us into town! Everything at Basildene Manor was that little bit extra! My Mum and I stayed here for 2 nights. We always felt welcome and everyone was so helpful and wanted to make our stay as memorable as possible. The Manor is a beautiful old homestead(/CASTLE!!!) overlooking a valley of immaculate gardens... Really spectacular. We stayed in the Merlot room (I think), which had wonderful views of the front garden. As we arrived late, they had kindly put on the heating for us, so the room was lovely and toasty when we arrived. The bed was the most comfortable and largest king size bed I've ever slept in, with no annoying dip in the middle where often two singles are joined - If this bed was made up of two singles, I had no idea, it was just devine! And the pillows were super comfy too! The bathroom and room were sparkling clean and really well designed. Definitely had the wow factor when you walked in. Also - one thing that really surprised us, is even though we stayed in the main house, we did not hear any of our neighbours or any other noises for that matter - and every night was peaceful. Just one thing for Basildene Manor to note, when we arrived we noticed that one of the lampshades on the right bedside was badly damaged - which was the only tarnishing thing really - maybe a good idea to replace this one - but other than that - it was perfect! The breakfast bar has every local produce you may desire, as well as hot breakfast cooked to order. We dined in the Margaret River township both nights, at Morries - which not only had amazing food, but knowledgeable staff that were always willing to assist with your choice of local wines and a tapas plate to match. Plus, Basildene Manor have these little cards that provide you 10% if you dine at Morries - great bonus! Really a lovely weekend away! A must if you are heading to the Margaret River!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear WorldlyTraveller87,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Danielle and Jenny will be thrilled with your comments. The whole team work tirelessly to go above and beyond guests expectations and comments like your make all that hard work all the more worthwhile. We will have the lamp looked at straight away.
Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for two nights and it was delightful, from the greeting and short tour with the building history to the fast check out with complimentary scones and jam for the journey home!
There was heavy rainfall during our stay and the plumbing became smelly they immediately moved us to a new room (with an upgrade to a spa suite)!!
The only negative was the shower tiles in both rooms needed a good clean, there was some soap scum build up!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Crazygeorgeous13,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that the staff quickly moved you to a different room when you reported the problems with the plumbing. Your comments regarding the shower tiles have been passed on to the General Manager so that they can immediately address this.
We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Nice welcome. Interesting history. Friendly and competent staff. Clean and modern rooms with nice style. Tasty food. Good location. No complaints at all! Would return and recommend. An excellent place to stay when visiting the Mag Riv region. Very nice and large garden too.

Room Tip: Only 1 room has fully roll in accessible shower. Glass panels can be restrictive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ss770640, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful Manor. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This trip should fall under "Couples" as well as "Family" as I was travelling with my boyfriend, his mother and his sister.
Let's start from the top. The check in process was fast upon arrival but there were no porters to help us take our suitcases upstairs. Lucky my partner is very strong (I have a tendency to overpack) but this may prove troubling to other people.
I saw two of the room types. My boyfriend and I upstairs and his mother and sister downstairs. Our room was about double the size with room for a sitting area, two windows and plenty of space. The downstairs room was smaller and felt a tad cramped but was beautiful nonetheless.
The grounds are beautiful, scenic lush and huge! I regret not taking more time to explore them.
The location was central for Margaret River but that still means you're fairly limited without a car of your own and with a mother in her 50's, a 16 year old and an 18 year old couple you can bet there are different agendas. This meant a lot of ferrying back and forth.
This also proved slightly difficult in terms of food. There was no room service, so ordering up was out of the question. There was also no kitchenette or even microwave despite there being bowls, cups, forks etc. At one point we had to thaw a bottle of liquor in the sink!
Room servicing and cleaning happens only twice a week and by that point the bins were full and starting to smell... really took the edge off the holiday, coming back to a messy, slightly pungent room.
Overall it was a beautiful hotel, but like a pretty face, you need more to back it up!!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This manor house is amazing! It reminds me of uk. The flowers and scenery are wonderful. The rooms are all called different alcohol names and everyone is lovely there. The scones are amazing and atmosphere is very peaceful. Great for distressing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear bbgirl1,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. So good to hear that you enjoyed our gardens that are lovingly tended to by our award winning gardener. The freshly baked scones are always a firm favourite.
Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Rivers Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay.Basildene Manor, an 100yr old elegant country estate, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Seventeen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renouned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months),tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.