We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Basildene Manor to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Loved it from the moment we entered. The grounds are fantastic. Enter the building and you go back in time to a grand age.
The assistance with advising and booking places to eat we had from the staff we top notch. They were like hosts at a B & B, they made time for you, you are special to them. Also, the breakfasts were excellent.
My wife and I will definitley be visiting again.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Wal M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the wonderful service our staff never fail to provide. Breakfast is always a firm favourite with guests - be sure to try the Devonshire Tea next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    39
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
213
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was overwhelmed by the charm of this beautiful property. Rooms and gardens immaculate, spacious and relaxing. Equally impressed by the welcome from Max on our arrival, even though we were very late. Wonderful staff, great service including their local knowledge (markets worth going to) and their obvious attachment to and knowledge of the history of Basildene Manor. Amazing breakfasts in the most lovely conservatory overlooking the gardens. Loved the sitting room and fire at night (thank you Brad for the lovely wine and cheese!) Someone got the formulae right with this one! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear EME2503,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. As you can imagine, a great deal of work went into the refurbishment of this wonderful building. Comments like yours make it all the more worthwhile.
Again, we thank you for your review and your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have stayed here several times now and it's still the same 5 star rating. The rooms are beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, fantastic lighting in the bathroom and room itself. We had the room called Riesling which is on the ground floor and it has a courtyard with outdoor setting. The bathroom has a free standing bathtub and a large separate shower The gardens are always immaculate and is a gorgeous view from the observatory where you can have a delicious breakfast or the devonshire teas in the afternoon. We had a barbecue and Max could not have been more helpful. He gave us a basket with plates, wine glasses, sauces and mustards, serviettes and set up the table with a white tablecloth. What a treat. Daniella and Max cannot do enough for you and just made our stay more enjoyable. Can't wait for our next stay there.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones overlooking the lake but we have stayed in a lot of different ones. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mandurahmum,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. It is so lovely to hear from repeat guests who continue to enjoy the consistent high standard of quality and service at The Manor. Daniela and Max pride themselves on giving exceptional service and both will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you yet again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Wow what a beautiful place to stay. My mother and I went for quick trip down south and we were lucky enough to try here. Everything was immaculate. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was divine, clean and soothing. The grounds took my breath away every time I had a look around. The scones with jam and cream for afternoon tea, scrumptious. And breakfast wow the food was amazing. I would recommend here if you need a cozy, friendly, stunning, quiet place to stay. Couldn't fault it, it was everything you would want or expect for this 4.5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear DenBrow,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you and your mother enjoyed your stay. The Devonshire Tea and breakfast's are a firm favourite with all guests.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose this property because it looked good on bookings.com but nothing prepared us for the brilliant old building, outstanding service (which is rare), freshly prepared breakfast, scones in the afternoon (cooked upon request), quality of the accommodation, magnificent grounds, and personal tour on arrival, all at an excellent rate. If you don't book and stay while you are in Margaret River, you are missing out.

Room Tip: The king room up stairs in the main historic building had beautiful views and gave you access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Debbie A,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are proud of The Manor and the service given by all staff. They consistently strive to exceed all guests expectations and will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was very disappointed to learn on arrival that this ‘Manor House’ was not a hotel, not even a serviced apartment but merely a B&B. Even though I had done my research, nowhere was I led to believe this was just a B&B because if I had known I would not have stayed here at a price tag of $350+ per night. You had to get in the car for every meal! The rooms are laid out beautifully but only works in a hotel environment (that’s how I was fooled, so my mistake I guess). I was hoping to sit on my terrace overlooking the gardens with a nice glass of wine (it is the wine region after all), instead I had a terrace with a brick wall fronting onto the car park.

Booking (Online Agent):
I made my booking through an online agent and put in all my details for the room I wanted (including an infant) and it was processed straight away. However when the Manor got my booking they informed us that an infant could not stay in this room as it was too small and not sound proofed and required a cot by law. So we had to take another room at a higher rate, we made the point that our booking had been accepted with an infant and they should honour the initial rate, but they didn’t. Instead they offered a very slight discount so we felt backed into a corner really as there was very little else available in the area, thus we caved and agreed to the higher rate. I think that’s why they put us in the room with the brick wall terrace and surprise surprise there was no cot in the room either, so much for the ‘law’…..

Room (Semillon Suite):
The room next door to us decided to play loud music as they were getting ready for an evening out just as we were putting our baby to sleep so I guess none of the rooms are sound proofed as we were led to believe? Also our room was in the newer part of the building and was next to the exit door so from 5am each morning guests were coming and going with luggage, very annoying. Now I know it’s an old building and Australia has problems with damp in general but there was a clear smell of damp in the general areas of the building.

Food (Breakfast)
Cooked breakfast was awful and the fact that the platters of fruit had ants crawling all over them was very off putting so I ended up having only tea and toast. Shame really as a good breakfast could have redeemed the manor on its other faults.

Service (No room service):
Overall the service was what you would expect from a B&B. No room service (only linen change and room clean) and no bar! The staff were friendly and we got a ‘tour’ of the building on arrival! You had to haul your own luggage though so if you are staying in the heritage building beware there is a stairs and no lift!

Good points:
Nice and friendly staff, Tea and Coffee station open until 7pm, Good Location & Nice Grounds.

General comment:
Mercure could improve this Manor by either upgrading their services or reducing their prices.

Tip: For anyone who has travelled around WA or for that matter outside any major city in Australia, you will know that hotels are far and few between. So my advice is don’t look for what’s not there and instead of getting ripped off in these high end chain B&Bs stay in a local guest house and even though prices are still high for what you get at least that way the money is going back into the community. The people of Margaret River are very friendly and deserve your custom.

Room Tip: Suites facing garden best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jakers7,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so sorry to read of your dissatisfaction. A full investigation has taken place with the help of our Assistant Manager at The Manor.

Upon receiving your reservation made through an online booking site, our Assistant Manager called you directly to advise that whilst the booking engine had allowed you to enter two adults and an infant, the room type you had booked was not large enough to take a travel cot. You were offered a larger room in a different wing which usually carries the upgrade cost of $80. This was reduced to $50.00 for you.

Upon checking the booking website you used, we can see that the description and information given is correct. It does advise that babies and children cannot be accommodated in a Manor room and that whilst buffet and a la carte breakfast is served, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed at any of the many restaurants in the area.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the garden courtyard. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast as so many guests do. We have not had a problem of ants reported to us but be assured we will monitor this.

Our staff at the Manor take a great pride in there guest service and strive to exceed all expectations. They are always happy to help with anything a guest may need.

Again, we thank you for your review and apologise for the dissatisfaction caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irymple
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location. As a member of Accor the only downside was there were children onsite where the advertising stated that no children allowed.
Great rooms on the south side overlooking the garden which is beautiful to walk around. Plenty of rooms to sit and read and a great breakfast which was a good start to the day.
As it is located on the edge of town it is a good walk into Margaret River and is very quiet tranquil location with plenty of bird and wildlife in the garden at the right times.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
Good access to beach and path on Walcliffe Road is great for bike riding.
Not far to the golf course which is challenging layout and not far to some very good wineries and breweries.

Room Tip: Get the bath suites. Bigger room and nice outlook over gardens on south side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Macca1168,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. To clarify, whilst the Manor is not a family resort, we do not disallow any guests who may wish to make a reservation. We would be grateful if you could you let us know which advertising led you to believe this.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Rivers Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay.Basildene Manor, an 100yr old elegant country estate, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Seventeen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renouned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months),tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.