We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive domain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Basildene Manor to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Mareeba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impressive domain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just came back from WA and we spent one night at the manor.The domain is impressive and very beautiful. The room was really nice, comfy bed.Breakfast was absolutely lovely.
Staff were very helpful, welcoming, whether they were working in the garden or at the reception.Loved walking in the building and looked at the old photos.It was a very good experience.
The only point that was annoying for me is although you can access wifi in the foyer, the phone coverage is non existant in the rooms (im a telstra customer). It was ok because we only spent one night and it was easy enough to brave the quite cool breeze outside to do a phone call but for people that need coverage that can be a bit of a pain.
Overhall, an excellent stay and beautiful place. Thanks to the staff !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Flore84,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The whole staff at the Manor pride themselves on their excellent service. They will be thrilled with the feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to receive telephone reception in your room. We are reviewing the current internet provider to see if we can make improvements to the service.
Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    40
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
214
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We return to this beautiful old but revamped mansion every few years. The grounds, rooms, service and breakfasts are all incredible. The gardens are spectacular and include tennis courts and a 12.5 m swimming pool. Worth the trip from Goulburn NSW.

Room Tip: All these rooms are a little piece of heaven. Soooooo relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Ann M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your staying at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor yet again! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for returning to us all the way from Gouldburn. We look forward to welcoming you yet again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My fiance and I booked a devonshire tea here to be able to scout it out for a wedding venue.

We had to book in advance as they cook your scones fresh for your scheduled arrival!! They were so delicious, we had the restaurant to ourselves overlooking the manicured gardens and thoroughly enjoyed our pot of tea and scones.

The building is lovely heritage home and the accommdation has recently been renovated to a high standard and the staff were so friendly and helpful in showing us around and serving afternoon tea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Nonny16,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review after your visit to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. Should you need any further assistance with arranging a venue for your wedding please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the Manor.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This has to be the nicest please for afternoon tea and breakfast in Margaret River and I know because I live there ! Afternoon tea consists of hot scones (straight from the oven ) Margaret River preserves and after this wonderful tea you can stroll around the lovely gardens..pure heaven !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear janefoxAlbany,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. The Devonshire Tea certainly is a firm favourite with all guests.
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macksville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting the Margaret River area. The bed was comfy BUT there was little clothes storage, no table to sit at and to watch TV you had to sit on or in the bed. The manor is a few Kms out of town and has no dining facility. We didn't even have a balcony - just a room with a bed, large TV and nicely appointed bathroom. Laundry facilities are at no additional charge. Overall - nice place to spend a night but no longer.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony and maybe a table
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Wendy B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are sorry to read that you were a little disappointed with your room. Being a building built circa 1912, and not a purpose built hotel, we do have rooms of different shapes and sizes. The same high standard of decor, fixtures and fittings, furniture, and cleanliness however runs throughout this beautiful Manor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the night you spent with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place to relax and rest. From our arrival to departure we, like all guests, were treated like the proverbial 'lord and lady' of the manor. Staff were professional, ever friendly and always helpful. This included all personnel employed at or by the Manor including gardeners, cleaning , house staff and even the contractors who were there building a retaining wall. The Devonshire Teas are a must (they're calorie free) scones large, light & luscious, tea hot & strong. If you need a genuine rest in peaceful surrounds where you are able to walk beautiful gardens, rest and read on the shaded benches or take a swim in a heated pool to relax tired muscles in blissful tranquility - Basildene Manor is the perfect place. What a holiday!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Oswie,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. All staff at the Manor are take a great pride in their work and will be thrilled with your comments. The Devonshire Teas are a firm favourite with all guests.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a tranquil escape then DON'T consider Basildene Manor. Road noise is constant. Being put up in a suite right next to one that contains a screaming infant is strike 2. Having a speedway meeting virtually next door is strike 3. As if that doesn't strike it out we get notification that as at 8:30am the next morning the car park will have construction equipment demolishing and rebuilding a retaining wall - and guess what our room overlooks - yep, the car park - well that's the end. Will never come back. Rubbish.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Genghis54,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are pleased that the General Manager was able to move you to a room overlooking our beautiful gardens the very next morning. It is unfortunate that you were unable to accept our offer of a complimentary extra nights stay and one of the Manor's wonderful Devonshire tea's. We do hope that despite the noise disturbance from the local annual race meeting, you did enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Rivers Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay.Basildene Manor, an 100yr old elegant country estate, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Seventeen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renouned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months),tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.