We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To the manor born” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Basildene Manor to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Margaret River
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“To the manor born”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay in Margaret River. Could this be the best in MR?
We stayed in the Semillon room a lovely room large and spotlessly clean with its own courtyard.
The en-suite bathroom was also quite large with a great shower
It had a fridge for all your wine purchases which we appreciated.
The breakfast was included and was one of the best I've had for a long time although the egg Benedict could do with a little more hollandaise sauce.
The gardens are large and just beautiful
I'd recommend it to anyone who was looking for first class accommodation I'm MR or the region.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Yallingup3,

Thank you for posting your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay. The breakfast there never fails to impress. Thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    42
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
216
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a charming and delightful hotel. We stayed 3 nights and it had a very relaxed and comfortable feel about it. We stayed in the recently renovated manor rooms that were very comfortable and had everything we needed. Both Judy and Daniella were very friendly and helpful over the 3 nights. The breakfast each morning offered plenty of choices and the view of the manicured gardens is just a pleasure! The extra nice touch is the sitting room with soft chairs and fire place with tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge full of fresh milk every day. They also have a water jug and wine glasses to help you enjoy some of the wines you may want to bring back and sample after a day of visiting the margaret river wineries. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this to any traveller that appreciated all the little extra touches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear dvaniersel,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were friendly and helpful. The little extra touches certainly do make staying at The Manor all the more comfortable. We shall pass on your feedback to Judy and Daniella, who will be pleased to hear you had a great stay.
Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have recently returned home to Byron Bay from our 11 night stay in Basildene Manor. Immediately the welcome from Judy was extremely friendly and she explained the history of the Manor which we found quite informative. Our room was truly a breadth of fresh air, immaculately clean, large, comfortable and the views from our balcony were to die for. The manicured grounds are spectacular with numerous hedges and the flowers in there organized beds were varied and magnificent to say the least. Also the bath suites have the most luxurious bath to unwind in, I found this a real treat. The staff were very obliging when asked to organize any of the tours which are available in the area. Throughout our stay all the staff were very professional and courteous. In the evenings you are serenaded by the guinea fowl, crickets and musical frogs which reside in the nearby resident lake. It truly is a situation where you can totally relax after having a hectic time visiting all that Margaret River has to offer. We would highly recommend anyone to stay at this beautiful accomodation and would love the return again one day. Distance is the only reason for not enjoying a regular visit to this great establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear WendyAWilliams,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Manor. It certainly is a special place. We shall pass on your lovely compliments to Judy and the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.
Thank you again - we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had an amazing stay with you in Margaret River. Beautiful property in a great location. The staff member on check in was very friendly and gave thorough information about the hotel. On the 18th, we were hoping to book another room for my brother who had travelled down. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked, but the staff member on the desk (I forget her name, sorry) brought up a list of hotels she had made for us to call. We really appreciated this. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear ally3610,
Thank you so much for posting your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor and we will pass on your compliments to our receptionists. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it assist us with the constant monitoring of guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

From the time we walked through the front door we knew we were going to enjoy a wonderful week. The decor was old world charm with black and white photographs adorning the foyer. Our room was impeccably decorated and oh so comfortable. We enjoyed breakfast each morning in the dinning room which overlooked manicured lawns and gardens. Each and everyone of the staff provided excellent service. Because we holidayed in Jan 2012 the weather was very hot and dry so we found ourselves every afternoon spending time in the pool. This was a great place to meet other guests and enjoy a wine or two. We thoroughly enjoyed the township of Margaret River and its surrounding areas. If you like your wines than Margaret River wineries are amongst the best. Basildene Mannor is the ideal couples retreat . We loved it and would go back. 10/10

Room Tip: The newer rooms are larger - but all are equally well positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear skyview431,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in January this year. The Manor certainly is a lovely place to enjoy a week relaxing and exploring the wonderful Margaret River area.
Again we thank you, and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is my third stay at Basildene Manor (July 1992, 2002, 2012 - this last just 3 days), it calls to me. It provides elegant respite from today's busy world and has the charm and elegance of an earlier era. Built by the Head Leewin Lighthouse Keeper for his family you can almost hear the laughter in the halls. as you look at the dozens of early family and regional photos hanging on the walls. The pictures or Henry's 1916 send off to WW I sparked the question of 'did he return ?' (answer - yes). It's easy to feel like part of the family. Breakfast overlooking the garden' is a treat. Tables laddened with food; spiced pears, poached apples, stewed rhubarb and a wide array of artfully cut fesh fruit are avialabe to top the tasty local yogurt and jams. There is a range of hot breakfasts to choose from all good - this time I discovered the fresh blueberry pancakes - talk about heaven! If it wasn't so far from Sydney I would be a more regular visitor. Although it feels quite rural 14 acres of manicured gardens, loaded with native birds (and a few bunnies) it is a short walk 1.2km to Margaret River's village. Wine tasting, art and gastonomy are the go for the area and Basildene provides the perfect base.

Room Tip: I like to stay in the original house - rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear McLaren B,
Thank you so much for posting your wonderful review after staying at Grand Mercure Basildene Manor. We are delighted to hear that you continue to enjoy this beautiful property even after so many visits. The breakfasts at The Manor certainly are a firm favourite. All feedback is greatly appreciated as it assists with the constant monitoring of quality and service. Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you yet again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Basildene Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Basildene Manor

Address: 187 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margaret River
#3 Family Hotel in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Basildene Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret Rivers Finest - Welcoming today's discerning traveller with the promise of luxurious solitude & ensuring a relaxing, memorable stay.Basildene Manor, an 100yr old elegant country estate, set on 14 picturesque acres amidst the rich tapestry of renowned Margaret Rivers vineyards. Seventeen recently refurbished and beautifully appointed rooms are available. Our renouned Basildene Breakfast includes a full cooked a la carte breakfast and fruit buffet, all from the Manor restaurant. Nestled in the valley you will discover our heated outdoor swimming pool and secluded sun deck (avail in summer months),tennis court & lakeside pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Mercure Basildene Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor Hotel Margaret River
Basildene Manor Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Basildene Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.