We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enter the depths” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Cave

Mammoth Cave
Caves Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
08 9757 7411
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mammoth is an impressive, gothic-like cave that could easily be described as the perfect home for a caveman. Tours are self-guided with an audio headset and begin via an elevated boardwalk through towering Karri forest. As you journey through the spectacular formations lookout for the carefully lit animal bones and fossils and listen to the stories about extinct animals. Wildflowers are abundant around the precinct from September to November. Located 22km south of Margaret River.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Enter the depths”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Mammoth cave is one of several caves open to the public in the region. I chose this one because it has less stairs than the others and I'd just had a hard morning horse riding!

Good bits: The cave is large and interesting with some lovely atmospheric lighting in the dark recesses of the cave. You can search one particular section to find the fossilised jaw bone of a giant marsupial embedded in one wall. There is an audio tour that is user friendly, my 7 year old mastered it with no trouble at all. However, while interesting, the audio tour is a little dry and I think could have been livelier. And really this is why this attraction got an average rather than great rating. I can't compare this with the content of the guided tours that are available at the other caves as I haven't tried them.

There is also some amazing bird life locally and we saw many wrens and honey eaters whilst there - makes a lovely little interlude.

Cautionary bits: Though it has less stairs than some caves, there are still a fair number of steps to climb inside the cave itself so if you have very small children or elderly people with you, they may only find it comfortable to access a limited portion of the cave. The exit out of the cave is quite amazing but again lots of stairs going up followed by a walk back to the visitor centre you guessed it going down more stairs! I managed it even though i'm unfit and had been horse riding that morning so my legs were aching. But I wouldn't want to do it with very small children. The 7 yr old was starting to get a little tetchy at the end.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    111
    23
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth Going”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Loved it, was amazing the stalagmites were so cool. The cave was interactive so that was awesome. The bush walk was quite cool it is 700m long unless you go straight to the car park after exiting cave. Overall it was amazing and very kid friendly.
:-)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Went to see a cave in Margaret River”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

There were a few to choose from. This was the only one that didn't have a tour. it was self guided. To be honest it was well nice but not spectacular. Seen one seem them all. They all look the same in the brochure so pick one and go see it. Whether you want to see all 4 around the area is up to you but we didn't

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I've visited a lot of caves, I enjoyed this one, good lighting, is unguided which is why we chose to go there, did it at our own pace which was good, info headsets provided good safe walkways

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

A nice place to visit, some historical information too on how it used to be and used.
A shame i couldn't see the other part.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMRTourism, Front Office Manager at Mammoth Cave, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear rmadureira,

Thanks very much for providing us with some feedback on Mammoth Cave.

The day on which you visited the cave was one of the very rare occasions when we have to close the last fifth of the cave to perform necessary overhead safety works. Safety is our number one priority for visiting guests and on this occasion we were removing overhanging tree branches in the sunken forest at the back of the cave before the winter storms arrive. This work takes a long time to set up and complete so it must be done during daylight hours. Wherever possible, we do maintenance jobs after opening hours.

We charged a discounted entry fee on the day to reflect the slightly shorter cave tour length, but please be assured that you saw all of the most stunning parts of Mammoth Cave.

Thanks again for taking the time to let us know what you thought.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Cave also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Mammoth Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.