We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mamooth Cave worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Cave

Mammoth Cave
Caves Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
08 9757 7411
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Mammoth is an impressive, gothic-like cave that could easily be described as the perfect home for a caveman. Tours are self-guided with an audio headset and begin via an elevated boardwalk through towering Karri forest. As you journey through the spectacular formations lookout for the carefully lit animal bones and fossils and listen to the stories about extinct animals. Wildflowers are abundant around the precinct from September to November. Located 22km south of Margaret River.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mamooth Cave worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We nearly didn't go to this cave as it was last on our list but we ended up only going to this one because of time restrictions and the fact that we could self pace through this one and didnt have to wait for a specified start time. The audio tour was really interesting but not invasive. Cave was very interesting, safe structures and good ambient lighting. love the natural air con of the 12 degrees though when we came back out to the 37 as we walked up the stairs at the end it was a bit of a shock! Even my camera lens got foggy from the change!
Well worth a visit :D

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    67
    17
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Walking through this natural wonder was a fantastic experience for our family. We chose this cave ahead of Jewel and Lake Caves because you can do a self-guided tour at Mammoth Cave, which suited us better than having to wait for a group tour.

The whole cave is traversed by sturdy walkways and stairs that guide you through this remarkable landscape as you listen to the recorded commentary on the headphones provided.

Absolutely worth a visit, we are so glad we made the time to stop and see it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lower hutt
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is was the first cave of 3 we did , we also did Lakes and Jewell and they just keep getting better. This cave is self guided so for children its quite fun they can go at their own pace and get a kick out of enterting the numbers into the mp3 player and hearing all about the cave. It was a great introduction ot the other caves.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Enjoyed the experience. Self guided tour is excellent as you can pace yourself! I found the cave slightly chilly as you enter but got used to it. Narrow Staircase so can be difficult if you have people walking towards you. Overall a great experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich Qld
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Caves amongst the vines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited Mammoth after missing out on the booked out guided tour at Lake Cave, This cave is quite spectacular,can be a little chilly after going in on a hot day but well worth a visit. No water in summer but you can see where the creek flows during the wetter months of winter. The audio is good and gives clear details, $22 per adult could be a little expensive but I suppose these natural wonders need protection for future generations.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Cave also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Mammoth Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mammoth Cave to your Saves list