We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Margaret River

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Margaret River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Margaret River
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia (Formerly Australis Margaret River)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Margaret River
Margaret River, Australia
2 reviews
“Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Went to the Australis Easter Sunday for their $35 per head carvery....less than average, their ran out of roast beef and only had a small amount of roast pork left, when my sister in law asked if there was any more meat, the chef said only if she wanted to wait 3 hours.desserts also were pitiful, ran out of pavlova and only had what was a poor excuse for a creme broulee. We are locals and certainly won't be recommending the Australis for dinner to any visitors.. We also had to set our own table..we had no apology, no offer of a refund.....the Manager's need to have a good look at the running of their restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    96
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
40
108
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We spent 7 days in this place. The room with 2 bedrooms and a full kitchen (they only got one like this) was great: big, comfortable with good aircon and a fully equipped kitchen. Location is good, 3 minutes drive to the centre of town.
The pool was very small and make sure you don't eat there (when we stayed there they had an ad for a chef but they charged like Joel Robuchon is working in the kitchen...)
The housekeeping is terrible and most of the times they don't use their vacum cleaners to clean the room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here in a room with two bedrooms with another couple.
Walked into town from the hotel in 10mins.

Easy check in, we arrived at 10am and the staff were happy to let us check in early. We asked for ice and that was no problem.

Shower head came off in the shower and I got some metal splinter stuck in my foot from the shower (a thread off steel wool perhaps?). And there was two cockroaches on the toilet floor.

Rooms were dated which is not an issue if you expect it. Property has a nice vibe, with trees etc.

Would try another property next time - if you stay here remember to wear thongs in the bathroom!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by this property. Staff were very helpful and willing to accommodate our needs. Pool was clean and extremely lovely to cool off in. Managed to squeeze in 2 games of mini-golf (how fun was this) and so unexpected. Handy to the township but still needed a car.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We were a bit apprehensive upon reading previous reviews but decided to stay here anyway as we had a hire car and was intending on spending more of our time exploring the region. We were pleasantly surprised of the room. It was clean and spacious, huge bathroom with a spa. Our outdoor patio was more private than the others I had seen. The room we stayed in was #48 . Everything worked - radio, hairdryer, kettle, fridge, tv. It was the perfect location into the main town and easy access to Caves road where a lot of the wineries are and just off Caves road there are many unspoilt beaches. Visited Lake cave which was stunning. You definitely need a car to explore. If you are looking to relax or celebrating an anniversary/birthday etc, this is not the place as I am sure you can find better in the area with all the bells and whistles. But for value for money, location and safety, this is the place. I will return again. We had Christmas dinner which was okay - not many options for vegetarians which we are. We had breakfast once because we thought it was included (so make sure you check your reservation) but it was not. We had breakfast at Urban Bean in the main town (5 mins drive) - great coffee and omelettes! If you love quality food and nice wine head to Cullen's winery- a bio-dynamic farm just off Caves road). Love sunsets? Go to Prevally beach (5-10 mins) on the other side of Wallcliffe road. Most awesome sunset - sit on the hill with a glass of wine and watch the sun set as the surfers/kite surfers come in!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Upon checking in, we had to wait 10 mins as the lady at the reception was answering all the previous guests' questions. After checking in, we were not at all impressed with our room having paid $209. As per other reviews, our room was very run down. Bathroom was old and run down. Room was big but lighting was poor. We couldn't work out how to use the kettle. We couldn't open it, but there was a hole to put water inside. We preferred to know if the kettle inside was clean or not, and since we couldn't open to see it, we forgot about having a cup of coffee. For the price, we would be happy not to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in room 15. We also stayed here three years ago when this hotel was known as the 'Four Seasons.'

The location is very good, being a one minute drive to the main street and being surrounded by beautiful trees. The garden and pool are also very beautiful.

The rooms are certainly country style which
may go some way to explaining why other reviewers have occasionally called the rooms 'dated'. We are 30
and while we would not decorate our city home
in this style we found our furnishings to be very comfortable and in good working order. Additionally, everything was immaculately clean and the house-keeping service was friendly and prompt.

We ate the buffet dinner once. It was, I think, just under $30 per person. If you like meat you may enjoy this buffet, but as vegetarians we really had 2 options. I would suggest dinner elsewhere if you don't eat meat but otherwise it looked pretty good. Drinks other than water, tea and coffee are paid for separately.

My only complaint is with the music. In all my many travels I have not encountered this problem: reasonably loud early morning music. Don't get me wrong: I am a really heavy sleeper, and I am not a fan of complaining unless it's due. But 8am music on New Years Day? Even to me with my good nature and ability to block out noise this was very very annoying. When the room cost $230 for that night I was a little miffed!

I would also suggest that management install the set top boxes needed to get all the new and free digital channels.

Otherwise a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Margaret River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Margaret River

Address: Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia (Formerly Australis Margaret River)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Inn Margaret River 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax & unwind at our premier hotel accommodation in Margaret River.Quality Inn Margaret River is the ideal place for people wanting to relax and unwind and enjoy the idyllic surrounds of the spectacular region of Margaret River - only a leisurely 3 hour drive from Perth.This beautifully appointed accommodation in Margaret River features spacious 3 1/2 star hotel rooms which are spacious and comfortable. It's perfect to suit a variety of travelers in Western Australia including corporate groups, families or couples looking for that romantic getaway.Stay at this Margaret River hotel and be surrounded by beautiful gardens and spectacular natural bush land. All your needs are catered for with a range of luxurious hotel facilities including Margaret's Restaurant and Lobby Bar, Conference Centre and business facilities, plus much more.Perfectly located Margaret River HotelExplore the Margaret River Region with a multitude of award winning wineries and restaurants and the town centre only a leisurely 15 minute walk. Enjoy the natural surrounds with some amazing local bush walks or check out some of the regions stunning local beaches and sceneries located within close proximity.Simply indulge in the ambience of our tranquil Margaret River accommodation all while nestled in the picturesque Margaret River. Quality Inn Margaret River is looking forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Margaret River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Margaret River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.