We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm

Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm
43 Bessell Road | Rosa Brook for Gps, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
+61 8 9757 5054
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Australian, Café, Tea Room, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Cottage garden cafe with an abundant range of bird life and hearty tasty cottage food. Open for morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea. Booking recommended.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We enjoyed the ploughmans lunch platter for 2 for $44. Excellent mix of hot and cold, though the chorizo was quite hard and chewy. Service was pretty fast as well, and the waitress was very friendly. The day we were there was very cold and wet, and the majority of the tables are on the front and back verandahs, as well as plenty in the beautiful garden area. There are only 2 tables inside that seat 3 or 4, and 3 tables for larger groups, so if you want to sit inside, make a booking. They don't have any heaters outside, which a lot of places now have. As it was too cold to eat outside, I hovered in front of the inside heater, and waited until a table was vacant and pounced on it. They should invest in outside heating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks for the great review Abby.

We are glad you managed to find a table inside where it is warm on these colder days and enjoy the food we have on offer here at the cafe. We have entertained the idea of heating for the outside tables at the cottage however due to the fact that it is a circa 1925 wooden cottage we are reluctant to do so. We are looking at enclosing the section near the playground and have that area heated for next winter. We will keep people posted on developments for the future.

Thanks again for the great review and thank you for your suggestions on the heating of the cottage.

Travel safe and we hope to see you in warmer times.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    67
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Can't fault this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Some of the best food I have tasted in Australia. I've been here several times now and they always serve amazing food. Lovely local, fresh produce with great flavours and nice generous portion sizes which is always good! I wasn't keen on writing a review because I wanted to keep it a secret so there's more food for me, but it's just too good not to share!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Laura thank you so much for your review.

Your words reinforce all we strive for here at the Berry Farm Cottage Cafe and we hope we can only continue to please as we have done in your case and only improve what we offer here for all visitors.

We have lots of plans for improvements we wish to make here at the farm to ensure the experience here is rewarding for new customers and exiting for repeat visitors.

Thanks once again for your great review and we hope to see you soon.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager/ Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Delish Beef Pie in Red Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Beef Pie and Mash was delicious! Definitely a great winter warmer dish :) The relish to the side was also yummy

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Laura

The beef and red wine pie is the ultimate winter warmer as you stated. The relish on the side is the Indian tomato relish and is the perfect match for such a great meal. The recipe for the pie has not changed since its inception and it is made from all south west beef...Yummo!!!

Thanks again for the review.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful atmosphere, great scones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

A quaint cottage in a picturesque setting. We enjoyed the best scones, jam and cream in the lovely garden area. There is an indoor cafe area if the weather isn't so good. The local birds love the jam and cream and some will sit on the table to scoop up your leftovers. Some birds will also eat sugar out of your hand. Just a few steps away is the tasting room with lots of yummy jams, sauces, ciders etc to taste. Also on the grounds is an area geese, ostrich, roosters to amuse the children

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Michjk

The birds are cheeky out here. They are quick to pounce on any person willing to share their scones jam and cream with them. They are very entertaining and the blue wrens will be soon turning blue for the impending mating season.

We are so glad you and your son enjoyed your time here and managed to pick up some jam from the taste room. We have actually placed a few empty emu eggs in the cellar for people to look at and feel. Our resident emu will soon be laying her last eggs for the year. She has become friendly with Jo the gardener and she is now actually sitting down for a pat and a scratch from Jo.

Take care and thanks once again.

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good food. Good price. Nice service. Bit cold!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Enjoyed lunch here. Very good food and plenty of it. We had a platter and ended up taking half home as we ordered a pie as well. Bigger eyes than belly!
Lovely service. You order at the counter and they bring it out. Try the wine or port.
Nice setting. Visit the wine tasting centre. Lots of jams etc as well.
First visit for us and we will return. It was just a bit cold sat ouside. Not sure if they have heaters for winter so wrap up.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi Pollydoodle

What a great review you have provided for us here at the Berry Farm. We are glad you found the food value for money and enjoyed the service here at the farm. Despite the mild weather we have been experiencing here in Margaret River, we have had a few cold days but if you are lucky enough to book a table in the cottage cafe you will enjoy the warmth of the fire that is on everyday.

Thanks once again for the kind words and we hope to see you soon.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.