We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy rustic culinary experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm

Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm
43 Bessell Road | Rosa Brook for Gps, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
+61 8 9757 5054
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Australian, Café, Tea Room, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Cottage garden cafe with an abundant range of bird life and hearty tasty cottage food. Open for morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea. Booking recommended.
Sydney
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Yummy rustic culinary experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our lunch at the cottage cafe at Berry farm. We had the meat pie, steak sandwich and the boysenberry pie to round out lunch. Each meal was delicious and and was a nice touch for the meals to be composed of the sauces, chutneys, fruits and other ingredients made from the Berry farm. The cellar door is also unique from other wineries in that a majority of the wines are made from fruits other than grapes such as strawberries and passionfruit. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thanks so much Jon for your review you posted for the Berry farm Cottage Cafe. Your review captured the essence of our farm which is a rustic cottage cafe and we are so glad that you enjoyed the food here.

The cellar door is unique and the Berry Farm was the pioneer in the region for producing a wide range of products from fruits and berries for customers to try and buy. We continue to be the leader in the region in the production of unique chutneys, relishes, jams and sauces after 28 years of operation. We continually develop new food and wine products and hope customers enjoy the wide unique range we have on offer.

Thank you once again Jon for your kind and encouraging review.

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    68
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Never had a bad meal here. Guaranteed good value, tasty food every time. Visited again recently and was not disappointed. And the scones are amazing, fresh and fluffy with yummy berry farm jam and cream.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks Marie for your review of the Cottage Cafe here at the Berry Farm. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal here and are a long term repeat customer of ours for which we are truly grateful. The food is always fresh and filling and of good value and we are glad you had enough room for the scones jam & cream.

It is always great to hear from loyal customers and we hope to see you soon.

Travel safe.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place, food ok, poor service ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The spot is nice, the food isn't great. I had the chicken and strawberries and it was allright but my girlfriend had the beef pie and it was tasteless. The service is poor as in many places in western Australia.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Lamouette

How do I start this response...gently

Firstly thank you for your feedback on the setting. It is a wonderful place and the cottage gardens and surrounding farm land is lovingly cared for.

Secondly, thank you for your feedback on the food. It is a little suprizing that your partner found the beef and red wine pie a little tasteless. It is a 28 year old recipe that has not changed over the course of time and has a cult following. It is one of the few menu items here at the cottage cafe that if it were to be removed a revolution would follow. Perhaps I will suggest to the chefs we use a little French wine next time we make the pie mix to enhance the flavour...

Lastly, your non-specific, pointless attack on service, not only at my cafe but on "many places in Western Australia" proves to be of little constructive value to the proprietors of cafes here in Western Australia. How are we able to improve our service if we do not know what it was about the service you received that was considered "poor"? It would be like me visiting France and then reverting to social media and making global, non constructive comments like "I found many French wines to be of poor quality"...which is something I would never do....

Picture the global harmony we would have if people just enjoyed life...keep smiling.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The Berry Farm is always on our list when visiting Margaret River and never fails. Always great food, great relaxed ambience and friendly staff. Visited again this week with overseas visitors and they too enjoyed their visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We are so glad to hear that the Berry Farm is always on your "to do list" as it is one place that has not changed much in the 28 years of operation. We try to keep things affordable and fresh for all customers and the new products that are continually developed here at the farm ensure that the experience here at the farm is always exciting.

Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to see you soon.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River Region, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting afternoon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

So we went there today and I would have to say the grounds were beautiful, food okay prices average and the customer service was poor the staff weren't friendly at all. If I am to go back I hope the service will improve we always wemt there when I was little...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi 1389ts

Thanks for the review of your experience at the Berry Farm cafe. We do continually strive to ensure a wonderful experience at the cafe and customer service is an area that we take very seriously. I will speak with the staff members in question and take the appropriate action in light of the issues you have raised.

Thanks for the feedback.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.