We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm

Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm
43 Bessell Road | Rosa Brook for Gps, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
+61 8 9757 5054
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Family Fare, Australian, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cottage garden cafe with an abundant range of bird life and hearty tasty cottage food. Open for morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea. Booking recommended.
Aussie
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This delightful setting just south of Margaret River also has delightful food and wonderful staff.
The barramundi fish was so fresh it must have just been caught and it was plentiful for the price, unlike some of the tourist traps in Margaret River and Dunsborough.
The manager is a lovely local who comes out of the kitchen with a smile on his face to interact with the obviously happy customers. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks Jannet for the great review. It is a great place to work here at the farm and we love to hear that you found the food to be of great value.

The staff have a great time here and they love to have a chat with the customers, even during these crazy times. Nice to here that even the manager was smiling and having a good time with the customers!

Take care and thanks again for the sensational review.

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    82
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely late lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Myself and my partner recently visited the Berry Farm. We were aware that they had delicious cakes however we were very impressed. For $8 you get two huge scones with cream and jam (we made the mistake of ordering a Turkish bread sandwich and two portions of scones!!) I think the girl that took our order was new as she seemed a bit unsure - not a complaint at all everyone starts somewhere just an observation and maybe someone helping her? It has indoor seating and outdoor seating, lovely in the summer however the flies were also enjoying our scones! Would return again. Great value for money, delicious food and lovely grounds.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi Jenni

Thanks for the positive review you posted for the Berry farm Cafe. It has been an absolutely hectic holiday period and we are glad that you were able to enjoy your time here (apart from the flies). Great to hear that you found our food both enjoyable and value for money. Great to get such positive feedback on our operations.

Thanks again Jenni and we hope to see you again.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice wine, resonable price, beautiful placer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

You can taste from wine, port to jam and spicy condimenta. Great wine! We bought a Box.
The platter more than enough for three people.
Yes, lots of flies in summer but you can eat inside and all good!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi Eli

Thanks for the great review that you posted for the Berry Farm and it is great to see that you found the platter both satisfying and great value. We are in the height of the festive season and the platters are proving very popular with both locals and visitors.

Sorry about the flies, but there is little we can do to make things better for those sitting outside to eat. Hopefully in the next couple of weeks we will see a reduction in their numbers.

Thanks again for taking time to write a review and we hope to see you again.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First Class Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Food was fantastic quality. I originally wanted the steak sandwich but it was sold out. I ended up with the Beef Pie which was excellent. Don't forget to order scones and the Boysenberry Tart or you will be missing something special.

One of the downsides is that there are an extreme amount of flies in summer so I recommend you eat inside or your non-preferred hand will be waving away flies all lunchtime.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Roland thanks for the review you posted for the Berry Farm.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food but yes, the flies are very active at the current time. The chefs are putting in a great effort to provide high quality food within a reasonable wait time for the hundreds of poeple we are seeing everyday and we can't wait for the flies to disappear!

Take care and thanks again for taking time to write a review for the Berry Farm.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tasting plate of sadness”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Its a nice place to have a cup tea for sure. I wouldn't go back there to eat a proper meal though. Tasting plate was so sad it looked like they got cheap ingredients from coles and chucked it on there. $40......hmmmmmm well the birds enjoyed it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi Thaibanese

Thanks for the review that you posted for the Berry Farm regarding the platter that you ordered for lunch. In your review you sound suprised with what you were provided with on the platter and were very critical of a platter that contains 90% local produce (not cheaply sourced from Coles and chucked on the plate as you describe). The truth of the matter is that everything that is contained on the platter is described in detail on the menu/specials board so there should not have been any suprise for you for what was presented.

The platter is a very generous and well valued meal for two (or three as some people share) and many reviews on TA specifically mention the platter and the great value it represents here at the Berry Farm.

Your closing comment of "well the birds enjoyed it" is a comment that we don't really expect to see from our customers and further is a comment that may be offensive to those people less fortunate in our community of Margaret River who are unable to afford to eat out, which is an activity many of us take for granted.

I wish you all the best for your culinary travels.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager / Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.