We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe I was expecting too much!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm

Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm
43 Bessell Road | Rosa Brook for Gps, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
+61 8 9757 5054
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Australian, Café, Tea Room, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Cottage garden cafe with an abundant range of bird life and hearty tasty cottage food. Open for morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea. Booking recommended.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
917 reviews 917 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 274 cities Reviews in 274 cities
542 helpful votes 542 helpful votes
“Maybe I was expecting too much!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excited to go for afternoon tea/desert after reading the reviews but was maybe a little disappointed.

Its a pleasant location to sit out at, and you get there via back roads through the vineyards (all tarmac until the front gate).

But there was a confusing lack of berries on the menu, although that might be a function of the season.

I had a berry smoothie that was in all honesty a bit disappointing and not very flavoursome. My wife had scones and jam which was better (nice jam).

Probably wouldn't be rushing back, but perhaps the lunch is better or we just ordered the wrong things.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Waddler

Thank you for your review you recently posted for the Berry Farm. The Cafe here is a cottage cafe so the food is simple and fresh and reflects seasonal availability of local produce. The bulk of our berries are contained in the hundreds of products that we have in our cellar door, so we believe a few items on the cottage menu that contain berries will satisfy the majority of the thousands of visitors we have visiting to the farm every week.

Both items that you chose off the morning tea/afternoon tea menu (berry smoothie and the famous scones) are both very popular and excellent choices as an afternoon/morning tea and/or snack however, the lunch menu is extensive and has variety. It is unfortunate (and disappointing for us) that you did not have lunch at the Berry Farm and chose to review our cafe based on a berry smoothie which was not to your liking.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review our cafe. We appreciate all feedback from our customers and wish you all the best in your travels.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager/Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    67
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Berry licious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Not far from Margaret River this is always on our list of places to visit when down south. The food is always delicious, very reasonably priced and of generous proportions - so much so that if we have lunch, there is no room to try the yummy desserts. You are surrounded by very friendly little birds especially the stunning blue wrens.
There is a produce shop further down the path with jams, chutneys, wines etc again very reasonably priced and plenty of tastings available.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Pauline thanks for your great review of the Berry Farm. We have nearly finished our first day of the Easter Weekend and boy has it been busy. It is great to see all the happy people enjoying themselves and as your review points out the quality of the food and affordability is a real drawcard here.

I am glad you enjoyed your time here and took the time out to write a great review.

Once again many thanks for your kind words.

Michael Skivinis
General Manager/Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nearly every time we go to Margaret River we call into the Berry Farm and eat at the cafe (over last 20 years)

Beautiful setting; we love the menu. Little bit of process required; find a table then go to the counter to book. Great rustic menu.

Service was efficient and delightful; thanks for making us feel welcome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi AtholPerth

It is great to see such wonderful loyal patronage here at the Berry Farm over so many years. I myself was a very loyal visitor to the Berry Farm since I was a child with so many great memories. The great memories have now continued since taking over the Farm almost 7 years ago, with great reward in seeing so many people enjoy themselves and now bringing their children here to enjoy the setting as we did as kids.

Thanks for taking the time to review the Berry Farm and providing great feedback.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager/ Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent food and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went to lunch at the Berry Farm with two young kids, and had some great food at reasonable prices. The fish of the day was dukkah crusted barramundi, which was simply excellent and served with roast potatoes and a wonderful salad. My wife had a delicious vegetable tart and the kids had the homebaked sausage rolls, served with salad, watermelon and strawberries - I had a taste and they were pretty good. The desserts were great too, and the kids loved the playground as well.

I would recommend lunch at the Berry Farm to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi StevePER

Thanks for the great review for the Berry Farm. I am glad you enjoyed the food and setting at our cottage cafe where we make a real effort to keep things fresh and affordable as we believe that these are the most important factors when dining out. We are in the process of gearing up for more bottlings of the cider and preparing for the easter weekend.

Enjoy the break and we hope to see you soon.

Kindly

Michael Skivinis
General Manager/ Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Relax and enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A wonderfully relaxing encounter with a ploughman's to die for (an that's coming from a Pom).

From cheese to fresh bread, site made chutney and fresh meats, for $40 my travel partner and I ate continental to are hearts content.

And although full to the brim, we managed to force ourselves into trying their scones. Such a treat, one between 2 was well sufficient, the only complaint was it was automatically served with strawberry jam and as a non fan I asked if I could try one of there own blackberry or raspberry etc all made on-site and they refused to oblige, but that's nit-picking .

A wonderfully flavorsome dinning experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBerryFarm, General Manager at Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Ivylee

Thanks so much for the great review and feedback you recently posted for the Berry Farm. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the food so much and had a great time. I am sorry for the situation with the strawberry jam served only with the scones in the cafe however, this is the most popular jam and it is the only jam that we make in bulk for the cottage cafe. We have so many jams that we make here and it would create confusion for all if we offered any of our other jams with the scones. Patrons are always free to duck across to cellar door and try our other jams on offer and are always able to purchase these and bring them to the cafe to have with their scones if they like.

Once again thanks for the great review and feedback provided.

Travel safe.

Michael Skivinis
General Manager/Winemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Cafe at The Berry Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.