We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, secluded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellensbrook

Ellensbrook
Ellensbrook Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 0000, Australia
(08) 9755 5173
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Klang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Peaceful, secluded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited in the late afternoon and didn't have time to go through the house so we just wandered about the grounds. The house survived a recent bushfire, although it came very close, taking away at least one outbuilding. We walked through some of the bushfire damaged trees along to the weir above the house. The grounds would be a lovely place to have a picnic or just to sit and rest for a while.
You do pay to go through the house, but you can wander the grounds for free.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A haven of peace and tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was off the beaten track but we decided to visit as it was mentioned in the DK Australia book. We were not disappointed. It's a National Trust property and whilst there isn't much to see in the house itself, the setting is superb. We chatted to the young warden who clearly loves his 'job', which is unpaid but with free accommodation. We walked up to the falls which were not in full flood but the peace and tranquility was priceless. It is also the only place. Have ever been to that has a 'loo with a view'! Leave the door open (you can do this because there is no one around) and you have a great view of the Leeuwin Bay!

From there it is a short drive to Gracetown which is a wonderful beach, and clear blue waters. Magic!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight to pioneers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed this pioneers' home, hidden away in a valley. The manager (a German) was amazingly helpful, and this increased our enjoyment.
The rooms are almost empty, but there is plenty of information about the history of the property.
The walk to Meekadarribee Falls was not so good in January, as there was no too much water, but it was interesting, and we saw the damage caused by a recent fire.
Definitely worth a visit when in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowaramup, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to visit on a windy day (especially with little kids)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Am a regular visitor to Ellensbrook as it is a great place to visit on those days when it is a little windy or cold. Great little 1/2 hr walk to the Meekadarabee Falls through the Peppy forest and is quite magical for the younger kids (my daughter saw a fairy there a few years ago!). Behind the house there is a awesome tree swing that'll keep the entire family entertained for ages! Walk is suitable for toddlers that are able to walk a little bit otherwise is almost entirely pram / wheelchair friendly. Gardens are spectacular for picnics.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Interesting"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very quiet and secluded, felt we were miles from anywhere. Interesting trip, easy walk to the waterfall with information available explaining the history of the place. In great condition for an early homestead.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellensbrook also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Ellensbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellensbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.