We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bush surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Boranup

Cafe Boranup
7981 Caves Road | Boranup Gallery, Margaret River, Western Australia 6286, Australia
+61 8 9757 7279
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A cute little cafe in the forest, with the stunning Boranup Gallery next door. Cafe Boranup is 4kms South of Lake Cave on Caves Road Forest Grove, keep an eye out or our sign. Please go to our website for a map and GPS co-ordinates if that helps. We are friendly, do great coffee, make our own cakes and our lunches are hearty, delicious and reasonably priced.
Bedford UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bush surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I visit Margaret River every summer and am always looking for a good value meal reflective of the sunshine and fresh air of the region-this cafe definitely fits the bill. The menu is extensive with daily specials to boot, the staff were very courteous and attentive so all in all this was a very nice surprise in the middle of the Boranup bush! There was something for everyone-my teenage niece went for the fried chicken wings and chips-easily some of the best chips I have ever eaten , mum had the salad with requested goats cheese and I had the whiting burger-all 3 of us were highly satisfied with our meals. We also had genuine freshly squeezed fruit juices which were just plain delicious and perfect for the hot summer's day. With the bird song and Aussie bush surrounding us I couldn't think of a lovelier way to spend a summer's day with family and friends. I will definitely revisit next summer!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here and thoroughly enjoyed the frittata which was very tasty and served with a lovely salad. The lemonade scones were the best we have ever eaten and would go back just for them. A lovely location and very helpful friendly staff and of course the beautiful gallery only a few steps away.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very easy to find and accessible. The food was wholesome and delicious. Very fresh and full of flavour.Very good serving size for meal price. Professional and friendly staff. Pity we were too full for dessert, but there's always next time!!
Well worth dropping in.
BEST CHAI EVER!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

With great weather on our side my group of three decided to head south of Margaret River and visit the magnificent coastline. For lunch we headed for the Boranup Galleries and cafe. The gallery was a great mix of quirky and master craftsmanship woodwork. The cafe looked inviting with its relaxed style and sunny verandah. We had a lovely meal of scones and frittata. What was a real stand out was the service. Special mention to Jess who attended to our every need and enquired on many occasions to our level of satisfaction. One minute he was cooking behind rhe scenes but still attentive to our needs and then clearing tables if needed. We finished with a hot chocolate that was out of this world...thick, creamy and not too sweet.
This cafe is relaxed, not pretentious and really good value.
Thanks Sydney and your staff for a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If we had been visiting this café 20 years ago and if it was in a small remote place we would have thought the Burgers, and Quiches innovative, healthy and different. But today, and in the Margaret River region its passé and tasteless. My fishburger and chips was pretty good but both my wife's zucchini and mushroom tart and daughter's veggie burger were both in need of a serious flavour injection. The gluten-free cake for dessert was good. The café is located in the grounds of the Boranup Gallery which is brilliant, but at about the same price as a number of other eateries in the area, like the Berry Farm or Hamelin Bay Wines, that's where we'll probably be going if we're down this way again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Boranup also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cafe Boranup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Boranup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.