We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darby Park Serviced Residences

Save Saved
You added Darby Park Serviced Residences to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Darby Park Serviced Residences
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Cnr Bussell Hwy and Tunbridge St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$160 & Free breakfast
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

Have stayed in this property 3 times over the past 2 years, the most recent over Easter 2007. Usually the property will match a discounted wotif rate, even if booked in advance. Stayed in a one bedroom apartment as well as a studio room (when staying in the 2 bedroom deluxe apartments, it is just a one bedroom apartment which connects with the studio room next door). Would recommend a one bedroom for a couple, if the rates at that time were not too elevated - the space is over twice as big, and you have the convenience of a full kitchen, lounge and dining area. The studio rooms are the size of an average hotel room with a microwave, fridge and toaster insitu.
For;
- Cracking location - 1 min from the visitor centre/main street in Mgt River. You can walk out at night for dinner without the need for driving and taking out a roo. 3mins walk to Rotary park for forest trails to run/walk.
- Nice modern property.
- Small pool. communal BBQ - you can have a bbq brought to your ground floor balcony (but charge $20 as a cleaning fee)
- friendly and helpful reception staff.
- modern appliances, very comfortable beds, sky/cable channels.

Against -
- The housekeeping is not so great. Grubby floors and corners in rooms, some furniture that needs replacing/cleaning.
- Bathrooms that are not up to standard. Spa baths in the one bedroomed apartments are a nice touch, but not really a room to linger in - cold, badly ventilated (the fans when turned on are pretty deafening) and clinical.

Overall a good value apartment in the centre of town. (Rates vary 1-bed $180. 2-bed $380 in high season)

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    88
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
44
100
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Quest, Margaret River. We booked through Wotif and requested a ‘loft’ two bedroom apartment with forest view. Check in was fine but unfortunately no forest view unit as requested. We basically overlooked the pool with an angled forest view from the balcony. We had a first floor apartment with parking nearby. The kitchen was very well equipped and modern. Several requests regarding the kitchen equipment made to the Reception were handled in a prompt, polite manner. The living room was spacious with a big dining table. The bedroom was a good size too but the lighting from the two bedside lamps was very poor (no reading in bed!). A little sign said do not cover the lights over as it could be a fire hazard, could not understand why you would want to cover them; there would definitely be no light at all. Although designed to sleep at least four people (there was a bed settee in the living room as well as 2 bedrooms) there was only two chairs and a table on the balcony – all rather shabby condition. The upstairs loft bedroom would be great for children but if sharing with adult friends the lack of drawers or hanging area may have been missed. The bathroom was fairly basic with a tiny window. The extraction fan was located inside the enclosed (except for side vent) laundry cupboard and the room ‘steamed up’ very quickly.

We swum in the pool and it was a very enjoyable experience. The complex is large with several car parking areas and as other reviewers state a great location just off the main street although close to the road we found it very quiet overnight. The visitors centre is very good and conveniently located over the road. The gallery above the Reception area was excellent and we purchased some very different early Christmas gifts. The food shops are nearby as is the river and an attractive riverside walk.

  • Liked — Modern design and central location
  • Disliked — Poor bedside lighting & steamy bathroom
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

We stayed at the Quest Apartments Margaret River for 3 nights in February. The apartments are well furnished with full kitchen and laundry facilities to a really high standard. The pool is a good size and a really nice way to cool off.

The Apartments are really close to a few good cafes and restaurants and well placed for tours of the area. We took a private wine tour and were taken around several of the wineries and we had a great lunch at Voyager.

But a real bonus at Quest are the staff. They were so helpful and friendly and organised a birthday cake for my husband and even left us a bottle of sparkling wine in the fridge. Now thats what I call service.

I couldnt find a fault with this hotel and I recommend it thoroughly.

  • Liked — The staff and the quality of the accommodation
  • Disliked — nothing at all!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

We've just stayed 2 nights at Quest MR, having booked at the last minute with Wotif. It turned out to be an excellent choice. We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived - no tiresome filling in of forms at all. Really helpful desk staff - with a genuine smile!

Our Studio apartment was clean and modern, with a balcony overlooking the forest - really nice to sit out there and listen to the birds. (the kookaburras were a bit noisy very early in the morning - but very evocative of the Aussie Bush and o/s visitors especially might love to hear them!)

Despite just being a Studio apt. there was a microwave, tucked away with the fridge and there was ample crockery etc including proper wine glasses to sample the great local wines with.

The location couldn't have been better. At the bottom of the main street in MR , opposite the Visitor Centre and a very short walk to restaurants, cafes, pubs, galleries and shops. Ideal to be right there in town, but see the forest from your room.

Another tip - if you're in MR, wherever you stay, go on a "bush tucker tour" Huge fun and great value. We had a ball.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2006

We stayed in this apartment hotel for three nights from Tuesday 7th November.
It's an excellent location for a long or short stay exploring the wineries, forests, rolling farmland and beautiful beaches of Margaret River.
The accommodation is really well presented with everything you need for an overnight or longer stay. I didn't actually do any cooking but it was good to have plates to eat the takeaway off.
We had a one bedroomed apartment where the kitchen area overlooked the swimming pool and the lounge area and bedroom faced out onto the forest. There was a balcony off the lounge where we ate breakfast watching the parrots in the trees. There's a supermarket, bottle shop and ATM right across the road and a Coles in the centre of town. There are plenty of restaurants and at at many of them you can charge the cost back to your bill at Quest and there are loads of takeaways.
We went on a tour of the area and wineries which picked us up at the accommodation and dropped us off there at night.
There are many scenic places and smaller towns to stay in the region but after visiting the area and talking to others who did stay further out we'd recommend this as a really nice and convenient base.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — If it's your first trip stay in town!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

We stayed at Quest MR in mid June 2006 for 3 nights. Found out about it from a friend who had just returned from MR. Although the website showed that there were no available rooms for the time we would be there, we found that when we called the hotel directly, there were rooms available for us. So the tip is to contact the hotel even if the website shows that there are no rooms available as you may be in luck!

Check in was smooth. There were 3 of us travelling, husband, myself and teenage son. We got a second floor 2BR apartment with a forest view. Our apartment came complete with kitchenette, dining and living area. Our son had a separate bedroom with attached bathroom but we shared a private common entrance so we could leave both our doors open. The apartments are v new and the kitchen is fully equipped with a full size stainless steel fridge, full set of cutlery and crockery, cooking utensils, kettle, dishwasher. There is an in-room safe. Nice new bathroom with tub with jacuzzi feature and lots of towels but no bathrobes or bedroom slippers. There is maid service everyday and they will put your dirty crockery in the dishwasher and you come back to clean crockery everyday.

They have a outdoors heated pool all year round but it would have been freezing to run from the pool back to our room so we gave it a miss. They also have a small tennis court. There was someone at reception all day. I think they only closed around 8 or 9pm. You could borrow DVDs from reception for a few $ each. Rooms have DVD players. They also have a stack of board games (eg. pictionary, monopoly) near the reception area and you could probably borrow those as well for your evenings in.

The great thing about Quest is its location which is in the heart of MR Town. You can walk to nice restaurants nearby like Wino's and VAT 107. We also tried Spaghette Bowl but that was not great. If you prefer to cook in your room, there are two supermarkets nearby as well. Dewson's is right outside Quest and Coles is a few minutes walk further. Coles has a larger and fresher selection of stuff. One thing to note is that unless you are staying in MR Town, the roads outside are pitch dark at night so it is dangerous to drive out of MR town for meals. The wineyard restaurants are all closed at night so your best bet is to eat in MR town itself.

Quest also has a billing arrangement with restaurants in MR town so you can eat at those places and tell them to bill Quest directly so you settle everything at check-out. They also have an album containing a comprehensive collection of delivery menus and MR Town restaurant menus in your room so you can browse that and plan your meals.

In all, a great stay and I would stay there again if I went there!

  • Liked — Location; everything is still nice and new (just opened late 2005)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2006

Pluses
(1) The apartment felt quite new due to a recent renovation, and had tasteful modern furnishing. The apartment came fully equipped with washer/dryer, fridge, cooking facitlities, air-conditioning (cold/hot), etc.
(2) The complex was centrally located, convenient to shops and restaurants, yet did not suffer from street noise. Our 1-bedroom apartment faced a forested area.
(3) There was a small outdoor (heated) pool.

Minuses
(1) Housekeeping was a bit suspect - we found a sock left behind by a previous guest
(2) While good value (booked via a discount site), it seemed a bit odd to be charged AUD20 extra for a third adult occupying the sofa bed, when the sofa bed was already in the apartment. However, this seems to be the norm in Australia.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Darby Park Serviced Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darby Park Serviced Residences

Address: Cnr Bussell Hwy and Tunbridge St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Specialty lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Darby Park Serviced Residences 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi, Free parking.Enjoy our perfect location in the town of Margaret River, on the edge of the natural forest with walk and bike trails on our border and shops, galleries, markets and restaurants on the other side of the road. Relax in a spacious studio hotel room or a one, two or three bedroom self contained apartment. All rooms are serviced daily and are well appointed, contemporary style with either forest or pool views. Take advantage of our free Wifi, free parking, Foxtel, gorgeous heated pool and tennis court. On offer are; conference facilities, lounge bar, pantry shopping service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Darby Park Serviced Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darby Park Serviced Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.