We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location. Poor Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Darby Park Serviced Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Darby Park Serviced Residences to your Saves list
Darby Park Serviced Residences
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Cnr Bussell Hwy and Tunbridge St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice location. Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice location in the middle of Margaret River and secure complex.

Unfortunately like reviewer 'littlestock' below I stayed in September too and the service was poor. My ashtray outside was not empty during my 3 night stay. There was a moth on the floor for the whole time time. I had dropped a wrapper in the bathroom that wasn't picked up. These things alone didn't bother me too much but on night 2 I had a small lady accident during the night I left the sheets open so the housekeeper could change the sheets and this didn't happen so I had stained sheets for night 3. When I checked out and mentioned these items above to the receptionist the response I got was "well there is always something isn't there?"

There was no remote for the air conditioner and I just felt the place was on a budget drive to the detriment of the people stayed there.

I was due to stay 3 nights the following week and I cancelled and stayed at Margaret River Beach Resort which was much nicer, great view and service.

I am not interested in any excuses or response from management that can now fix my experience. They lost business the following week and I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Choose another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsosti, General Manager at Darby Park Serviced Residences, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Ashley,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Darby Park. I'm sure you have seen from previous responses I personally was away on annual leave so am grateful to guests like yourself who have given me an insight into what happened in September.
I agree that the housekeeping standards wre certainly not up to a 4.5 star and am extremely disappointed that the staff did not attend to your needs. The response from the receptionist on check out is totally unacceptable and I will be investigating this further.

I know you are not wanting an excuse or response from mangement but I do feel I owe you an apology on behalf of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    100
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
48
117
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were greeted by a cheery and friendly lady in reception who was very helpful and answered all of our questions. Security parking behind gates is always an excellent feature and the apartments were perfect. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment that looked onto a very peaceful grassed area. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a ground floor apartment if you have luggage that you don't want to carry upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsosti, General Manager at Darby Park Serviced Residences, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Crystal,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is always pleasing to know that we have met our guests expectations and that you enjoyed all the facilities.

As we use these reviews to benchmark our standards with our staff,it is useful to have constructive and positive feedback.

On behalf of the staff and myself, I look forward to welcoming you back to Darby Park in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I agree with all the other reviewers - great location in town - if you want to stay in town.

The good:
the staff - so friendly and helpful;
the room size - we were in a studio and it was a standard room with a balcony (we saw a 1 bed and it was large);
the location - perfect if you want to walk to dinner in town (none of the wineries are open for dinner, just lunch);
they had crockery, cutlery and a microwave if you wanted to eat in
rooms were modern and up to date
everything worked perfectly (so nice when you travel)

The bad:
the rooms share a doorway with other rooms unless you book a two bed apartment, so every door entry has a studio and 1 bed apartment. It's quite noisy when the other rooms arrive and leave. The doors don't close lightly (even if you try really hard), and it often feels like someone is entering your room even if they are going next door.

the weekends are busy, and if you're outside you can hear what everyone is saying on their balcony

So really the bads are not too bad and I would stay here again for the convenience and location

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the main highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsosti, General Manager at Darby Park Serviced Residences, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, I always welcome feedback and do take on board the comments that are made.

I do understand what you are saying about the external & internal doors in the shared foyer, as the doors are fire rated they are extremely heavy, hence the "slam" when they do shut, and as you pointed out there is noway to make the noise quiter. We are investigating ways of trying to soundproof the foyers.

I am pleased to hear that the staff and facilities were up to our 4.5 star standard, and look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Darby Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Convenient and quiet location, lots of secure parking. Friendly staff. Big, clean room with everything you need. Access to a heated swimming pool and a BBQ for summer evenings. Only downside was the smoke alarms going off in the morning as everyone made their toast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsosti, General Manager at Darby Park Serviced Residences, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Fran

Thank you for your constructive review of Darby Park, we definitely have a great location and the added bonius of a quiet property even though we are right in the heart of the town..

I have noted your comments about the smoke alarms and have had the electrician replace the detectors in that block.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed before and found the hotel extremely professional. The staff go out of the way to make you feel special. This time I chose to book a breakfast, it was delivered whilst I was out into my fridge and for $12.50 exceptional value.

Room Tip: All good rooms however down stairs away from the noise of the pool probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsosti, General Manager at Darby Park Serviced Residences, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Arlene

Thank you for your review, as mentioned in previous responses we do use these reviews as a benchmarking tool, so it is very encouraging for the staff to see that they have met our customers expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is just across the street from the Margaret River Visitor Centre! It is also within walking distance to the supermarket and restaurants. You can also charge your bills to your room using your room key when you are at the restaurants across the street! How cool is that? Our room is on the ground floor which opens out to the beautiful garden/forest at the back. During the night, you can sit at the veranda and gaze at the thousands of stars in the beautiful night sky. Gorgeous place! Complimentary parking in a fenced security compound but wifi/internet is chargeable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsosti, General Manager at Darby Park Serviced Residences, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Jasmine

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor, our location in the heart of the town is definitely a great selling point and I am pleased that you made use of the charge back facilities. The property is so quiet and peaceful you really can feel lkie you are in a forest in the middle of nowhere.

I do hope that you will return to Darby Park and the Margaret River region soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed and it is a really nice place in a very good location as it is right in town, so easy walking around, across the road from the visitors centre where lots of pickups are based for wine tours etc.

Staff were very friendly and accommodating - secure car parking, nice bush setting, one would not know that they are in town as its very quiet.

Room Tip: there are plenty of different types of rooms to choose from. I probably would not get a room near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsosti, General Manager at Darby Park Serviced Residences, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for you review on Tripadvisor, wonderful to see return guests in the Margaret River region.

I hear what you are saying about the children in the pool, there are rooms in A, B & E block that will ensure you can have a peaceful afternoon nap.

Look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darby Park Serviced Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darby Park Serviced Residences

Address: Cnr Bussell Hwy and Tunbridge St, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Darby Park Serviced Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi, Free parking.Enjoy our perfect location in the town of Margaret River, on the edge of the natural forest with walk and bike trails on our border and shops, galleries, markets and restaurants on the other side of the road. Relax in a spacious studio hotel room or a one, two or three bedroom self contained apartment. All rooms are serviced daily and are well appointed, contemporary style with either forest or pool views. Take advantage of our free Wifi, free parking, Foxtel, gorgeous heated pool and tennis court. On offer are; conference facilities, lounge bar, pantry shopping service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Darby Park Serviced Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darby Park Serviced Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.