We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waves Restaurant - CLOSED

Waves Restaurant
2/151 Bussel Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
08 9757 3232
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Waves is situated at the top of town, serving fresh seafood, steaks, housemade pasta, seven nights for Dinner and Breakfast on the weekends.Waves Restaurant prides itself on professional, friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere. Waves has been a finalist in 2010 & 2011 RCIA Regional Awards for Excellence for best BYO Restaurant.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

walked in for dinner without a booking, unsure what to expect. Had a great 3 course meal and highly recommend the seafood platter which, whilst it didn't look much on its 2 tier stand, easily fed 3 of us and was delicious. The desserts that followed were all of a high standard.
The service was timely and the staff very pleasant. The byo status helped to keep the price down too.
Would recommend this restaurant and will be back when next in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    43
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best Seafood in years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had diner at Waves and it is without doubt one of the best Seafood Meals we have had in many years. The Dukkah encrusted Salmon was to die for and the Maron dish was delicate and superb. I can't rate this resturant highly enough.
Thank you to the chefs. The staff were attentive and cheerful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“still remembered 6 years on!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I first went to Waves restaurant 6 years ago and it was that first meal there that I remember and i don't think I have had a meal that good since, close but not quite. I had a brilliant THICK steak cooked to perfection it practically melted in my mouth, it was topped with a big field mushroom, half a marron, some scallops, prawns and asparagus. My eyes were rolling into the back of my head, and if i remember correctly i think it was around 35-40 dollars - every penny well worth it!!! Highly recommend it and If I ever move back to or visit australia (now living uk) that will be the first place i go.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Its all about the food- award winning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This unprepossessing BYO restaurant has food you will remember and be talking about when you get home. We were shocked by the prices until we tasted the gourmet flavours, fish, steak, marron, cooked perfectly. Every bite was scrumptious and the gf brownie with hot chocolate sauce and ice cream finished it off perfectly.There was an award on the wall. This is definitely award winning food. We stumbled upon it and were lucky to get in without a booking. Savour every bite. Its worth every penny.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casino, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very popular & busy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

can definatley reccomend the seafood rissotto, had a very pleasant meal in a busy retauant would suggest booking.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waves Restaurant also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waves Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.