We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great salami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret River Venison Farm

Margaret River Venison Farm
Caves Rd | between Ellensbrook & Cowaramup Bay Rds, Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
08 97555 028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 68 Activities in Margaret River
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great salami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were on our way to a vineyard when we saw the sign. The staff were very helpful. After tasting we brought some for our picnic lunch and some for later

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    37
    3
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fernie, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great stop on Wine Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Margaret River Venison is a good stop on a wine tour or just by yourself if you are driving by. A large range of meat cuts of venison all from on site. You can see that the deer roam free on the property which I think always makes a difference with any kind of meat. We had tastings of all different types of salami even crocodile! Emu was my favourite and you can choose how many grams you wish to take home which is great. They also had a section of handmade souvenirs and things like different flavoured jams and crackers.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLDH36D
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“There's only so much wine you can drink...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Debateable title I know.

But this place does offer a unique and pleasant break from winery after winery.

Stop buy, try a few salami's and then purchase something for later (apparently the chorizo will last 2 years)

We drove past, saw the sign and headed in, didn't regret it, nothing to lose of you don't like it.

Get yourself some spicy venison jerky to nipple on. Best ever.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwich, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Tasty stop worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Tasty stop, lots of tastings, excellent small goods, worth a visit for picnic lunch. Chorizo is devine.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Deer Friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My travel friend suggested I visit the Venison Farm on my way from Margaret River to Dunsborough along Caves Road. It is well sign posted. My friend suggested I buy the rissoles. The staff I believe were family members and very helpful. They offered me a sample of the small goods, and I bought the emu and venison salamis. I also bought the rissoles and sausages to try at home. Both scrumptious. the shop also sells local cheeses including blue which I love. They have a variety of other goods including hats, scarves, kitchen items etc. My goods were wrapped in newspaper before being placed in a plastic bag.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaret River Venison Farm also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Margaret River Venison Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret River Venison Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.