We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read the fine print!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Llewellin's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margaret River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Llewellin's Guest House
Save
You added Llewellin's Guest House to your Saves list
64 Yates Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast-Wine-Wifi
Ranked #1 of 18 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Read the fine print!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We were looking forward to staying at Llewellin's but due to commitments arising back home in Brisbane we were unable to go to Margaret River after a time in Perth. I gave 10 days notice of our cancellation and was referred to the booking confirmation that provided that if less than 14 days notice is given, one night would be payable. When I asked whether consideration could be given to waiving this charge I was surprised with the tone of the response stating that I would have known for some time that we were not going to Margaret River. And that was simply not true. I was upset by the email and did receive an apology. I travel regularly in Australia and overseas in deluxe hotels and lodges and have never struck such a long lead time for a cancellation. Ok, I should have read the fine print but I think that proprietors should be more reasonable.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unclechopchop, Owner at Llewellin's Guest House, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We use the standard 14 day cancellation period along with most of the B&B's here in Margaret River. This information is clearly written on the Booking Form page of our website which our guests duly complete. We also advise our guests to be aware of our cancellation period again when we confirm their booking in writing, as we did with your booking. You failed to mention in your review that we offered you full reimbursement should we be successfull in re-letting the room at such short notice, to which we were not successful (being in a rural location and no passing trade), but in good faith we offered you a one night credit should you ever visit Margaret River in the future. We are not aware of any deluxe hotels or lodges that would offer this service of a future credit. We also advised that had it not been a Friday & Saturday night, we may have considered waiving the deposit. We have been operating for approximately two and a half years and have never receieved any difficulty with anybody understanding our cancellation policy. With kind regards. James & Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
227
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

The other reviews say it all I think, this was without a doubt the best place we stayed during our holiday in WA. Our room and bathroom were amazing, our hosts so welcoming and interesting to chat to, the surroundings wonderful and relaxing. I could not believe it when a) I found a peppermint tea bag (my favourite) and b) it was replaced in the same order in the tea bag sequence the next day - this is the sort of thing that makes me very happy. We also enjoyed a fabulous cheese platter with our complimentary bottle of MR wine and as for breakfast - wow! Thank you Joanna and James, I hope we'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

A warm welcome from our hosts and a complimentary bottle of local Margaret River wine awaited us on arrival. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and well appointed. The 3 guest rooms had the benefit of a covered verandah overlooking the bush where you could relax with a drink and enjoy the view.
Delicious breakfast was served in a very airy, modern uncluttered dining room. The owners, James and Joanna, were friendly and attentive and very helpful in suggesting wineries and other activities in Margaret River region.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I highly recommended this B&B to anyone looking for personalised accommodation in Margaret River. The hosts Joanna and James are lovely people who are so very friendly and are genuinely interested in getting to know you. I suggest you ask James which wineries to visit during your stay as he is very knowledgeable. We stayed in the spa room which was decorated within the French Provincial theme and included personal touches such as scented candles, lovely toiletries, a welcome bottle of wine and chocolates on our pillows. They also have an extensive range of DVD' s which you can borrow as well.

The breakfasts are delicious and I highly recommend you to try the daily specials. The muffins James bakes each morning are scrumptious and they even wrapped some up for us each day to take with us on our outings.

We also saw a family of Kangaroos up the street from the B&B one night.

This is the only place we will stay at when we visit Margaret River again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

All the previous reviews have said it all but even so words can not describe the special feeling of being a guest at Llewellins. James and Joanna are perfect hosts in every way, could have stayed for ever and will definitely be back next time we're in Margaret River!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We could not have asked for more. The rooms, setting and hosts were everything we could have hoped for. Every detail was well considered, and James' breakfasts were divine. We really enjoyed an evening spent with Joanna and James and some lovely guests. Food and wine to die for. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This is a special place - James and Joanna pay attention to every detail - We stayed at Llewellins for two nights and wish we had stayed longer. It is an ideal location for exploring the Margaret River region and relaxing after a day of wine tasting and touring. Close to Margarte River town and local beaches but in a quite bushland setting. We were given a glass of wine and nibbles on the first evening and woke each morning to a wonderful breakfast cooked by James, a trained chef. Joanna and James made us feel very welcome. The room was immaculate and the bed was very comfortable.
We will definately stay here agin when next we visit Margaret River. Thanks for a great stay.
Ben & Maria

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Llewellin's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llewellin's Guest House

Address: 64 Yates Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llewellin's is a luxury guest house in Margaret River for adults. Ideally located 10 minutes drive between town, world class beaches, the golf course and famous wineries. Llewellin's is a romantic destination for couples, specialising in gourmet breakfasts created by our resident chef. Set in 8.5 acres of native bushland, surrounded by peppermint trees and wild life. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llewellin's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.