We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Llewellin's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margaret River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Llewellin's Guest House
Save
You added Llewellin's Guest House to your Saves list
64 Yates Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast-Wine-Wifi
Ranked #1 of 18 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Secret place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We selected LLEWELLIN'S for our stay in Margaret River vacation with high
expectations in the begging of January 2013.
LLEWELLIN'S was highly sophisticated B&B quality and hospitality provided
by host Joanne, James and Lily(their beautiful dog)
Everything was absolutely far beyond our expectations. What we loved most
is beautiful simplicity in LLEWELLIN'S house surrounded by quite and
peaceful environments. You will see what does exactly it means once you
visit. Each piece of breakfast was also so wonderful.
White chocolate and raspberry muffins are the best muffins I have ever
had.

This is the best B&B and very special. So, to be honest, we don't want to
introduce in public because we want to keep it secret.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
226
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We booked Llewellin's on the strength of previous reviews and we were not disappointed. After driving down from Perth we were greeted warmly by Joanna and James who showed us to our room. The rooms are a really good size and elegantly decorated. As mentioned before by other reviewers, there are lovely touches to the rooms which make it extra special and as we were staying for two nights we received a complimentary bottle of wine.

We were welcomed by a glass of wine and nibbles to enjoy on the verandah. It is so peaceful and a lovely place to just sit and relax. So much so that we decided to stay in and enjoy it alongside one of James' infamous cheese platters rather than venture out for dinner. We also decided to take advantage of the vast DVD collection available to guests.

No need to go into detail about the breakfast as so much has been said before, other than to say it is probably the best we have ever had. What is lovely is that it takes place in James and Joanna's open plan kitchen and dining room, with all six guests sat around a table together. Their hospitality and great conversation along with the other guests meant breakfast was leisurely and good fun.

We then headed out on a wine tour with James and another couple. It was a brilliant day and exceeded our expectations. The wineries James took us to were fantastic and each one looked after us really well.

My only regret about staying here is that is wasn't for longer. I think what makes Llewellin's such a lovely place to stay, alongside the great accommodation and setting, is that James and Joanna are genuinely lovely people. It is in their nature to take a personal interest in the people staying with them and to make their stay as nice as possible. We hope that we will get the opportunity to meet them again someday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Possibly one of the nicest accommodation experiences I have ever had. From the initial emails and booking, through to our arrival, stay and departure, Joanna and James were gracious, kind, considerate, helpful, knowledgable and happy hosts.

These guys know how to run a B&B. The attention to detail was noticeable everywhere. The rooms were wonderful, attractive and comfortable. Bathrooms modern, clean and also care has been taken in attention to the right balance between comfort and caring for the environment, whilst also supporting local producers in where they attain thing for guests to use. The porch was comfortable and the setting wonderful, we really could have just lazed around all day and enjoyed being here. But both James and Joanna gave great suggestions and advice on places to go, things to see, where to eat, drink, swim, drive or whatever you want to do. They helped with bookings and got us an amazing table reservation for lunch one day. It is obvious these guys love what they do and are well respected within the local community. Just mention their name when you are out and about, you will see people smile and speak highly of them.

James is a master chef. His breakfasts are simply amazing. Joanna is attentive, remembers how what you like and all without being over attentive or overbearing. They really do treat you with respect and as individuals, they see and listen to what different people require... So if you want to be left alone, they will give you space. But back to breakfast... The spread was amazing. Local produce, home made jams, preserves, great quality of everything and should cover most tastes... Then you get a choice of cooked breakfasts or just sit with the wonderful fruit, toast, cereals, coffee, teas, muffins and more. Plus, James and Joanna are great conversationalists.

Both my wife and I cannot thank James and Joanna enough. We loved every aspect of our stay and your beds are so comfortable. James, thank you for the cheese and tasting plates, plus all your cooking. Joanna, thank you for all your help and hard work. Keep up the great work and I hope you continue to be happy and successful for many years it come.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My sister and I visited Margaret River for five nights at Llewellin's and could not have had a better stay. James and Joanna (and their friends) are lovely people and extremely gracious hosts. Lily is an excellent guard dog and made sure that no rabbits interfered with our lounging on the guest house porch.
The guest house porch was lovely. It was a tough call deciding whether to linger on the porch all day with wine, birds and wildlife or to visit all the beautiful sights in the Margaret River region. We were treated to excellent wine, fantastic food and the best breakfasts that could be imagined.
We were also lucky enough to go on a wine tour with James. His knowledge of the area, local vintners and wine is comprehensive. His tour is extremely good value. In fact, all of James' and Joanna's recommendations for food, wine and entertainment were excellent. If I am lucky enough to return to Margaret River, I wouldn't think of staying anyplace but Llewellin's. Thank you so much, Joanna and James!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My sister and I stayed with Joanna, James and Lily for 4 nights while we toured the Margaret River area. I cannot say enough wonderful things about our hosts, their property, their cooking, and their hospitality. We took advantage of James' terrific vineyard tour where we were treated to wonderful, personal visits to 6 different, off-the-beaten-path, wineries, as well as a spin through a lovely olive oil, soap and gourmet shop. Every morning it was impossible not to overeat - the breakfast was so outstanding I just decided to front load all my calories for the day! Additionally, in the evening, Joanna and James were kind enough to host us for lovely nibbles prepared at the spur of the moment and when we were feeling incredibly lazy, James put together the most amazing cheese plate for dinner! Regardess of our request, Joanna and James had wonderful suggestions - from a route for me to try for a jog, to a restaurant to try in town and on the beach or even further abroad, and for activities we might enjoy both North and South of Margaret River.

The rooms were immaculate and perfectly appointed, the grounds were beautiful and the native flora and fauna (including the darling blue fairy wren and a friendly blue-tongued lizard) were easy to enjoy and appreciate. I am almost afraid to tell everyone how great their B&B is for fear we may never be able to get another reservation. I miss our time with them.

Room Tip: It does not matter which room you are in - you will have a wonderful visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our first time in Perth, Margaret River on our honeymoon trip and we stayed at Llewellin's. Their place was lovely and comfortable. The tranquility of the verandah was just beautiful. We were greeted with a warm welcome and a bottle of wine by James and Joanne when we arrived. We were hosted by them for 2 nights and they just spoilt us with their attentiveness and excellent service. I must say they became more like a close friend to everyone than a host. With James and Joanne, being a good chef and a good host, definitely made us want to even live in Margaret River. Llewellin's will give anyone who stays there, not just a beautiful experience with 5 star service but also the best impression of Margaret River! Wait for us to come back with more friends ya! Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed three nights with Joanna and James and started our trip thru WA here.
It was just the perfect start !!!
The rooms are clean and lovely decorated - all of them have seperate entrance at the veranda with a view to the garden.
The breakfast is 6 out of 5 stars - haven"t had any better breaky.
Juice and fruit salad, diffent choices of excellent bread, and ... a fully cooked breakfast from a real chef! Hard to describe different than "perfect"!
Joanna and James are full of hospitality - from the welcome drink to the evening port, from support at the BBQ to great cooking tipps :-)
If you have a chance to stay in one of their three rooms - just take it !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Llewellin's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llewellin's Guest House

Address: 64 Yates Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llewellin's is a luxury guest house in Margaret River for adults. Ideally located 10 minutes drive between town, world class beaches, the golf course and famous wineries. Llewellin's is a romantic destination for couples, specialising in gourmet breakfasts created by our resident chef. Set in 8.5 acres of native bushland, surrounded by peppermint trees and wild life. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llewellin's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.