We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tour Guide in Australia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret River with Neil McLeod

Margaret River with Neil McLeod
6036 Caves Road, Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
+61 8 9757 2747
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Margaret River with Neil McLeod's signature full-day Winery, Brewery & Gallery Tour captures some of the best local wineries, breweries and galleries, while travellers short on time have the option of a condensed half day tour. On the unique Sunset Kangaroo Safari tour, visitors find themselves face-to-face with Australia's most iconic native draw card, while lovers of the great outdoors can explore the region's stunning scenery and remarkable natural and cultural attractions on the Forest, Cave and Lighthouse Tour. For the complete Margaret River experience, the Margaret River 3-day tour package has it all, including transfers from Perth and Mandurah. Margaret River with Neil McLeod also specialises in designing custom itineraries for exclusive tours - the possibilities are endless, and can be made to fit any taste, time and budget! Visitors to Margaret River are guaranteed to find something special here - Delectable food, world-class wine and a vibrant local arts culture; vistas of tall tree forests fringing white sandy beaches and spectacular surf, and picturesque vineyards stretching to natural bushland populated by Australian wildlife; hiding underground, a network of brilliant caves. With so much to experience there is something for everyone. From the team at Margaret River with Neil McLeod, we hope you enjoy your visit!
exmouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Tour Guide in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Neil McLeod is the best tour guide in Australia and with his unsurpassed local knowledge of Margaret River this is a must do tour if even its not your first time to the area. Neil and his family have been in Margaret River for generations, the stories and history he knows provide a real insight into the history of the region and how it came to be. We were treated like royalty at all times by Neil and at the venues we visited, it was undoubtedly the best day of our trip. We also had a sneek peek at Neil's Kangaroo tour which was awesome and everyone enjoyed getting on the farm and seeing some real wildlife.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Wine Tour to Select in Margaret River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Neil was the perfect tour guide. He chose premium wineries and was supremely knowledgeable about the region as he grew up in Margaret River. I loved his stories of Exmouth and his first job at Fossil Downs (a station way up North). He took us to his own farm when two South African girls wanted to see a wallaby and we also fed his beautiful horses who rushed up to him as though he was a belated member of their herd.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Full day tour - wine, beer, choc factory etc & lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The tour was recommended to us by Lee from Margaret's Beach Resort. Coming from South Africa with our poor currency exchange we initially thought it was a bit pricey but quickly realised that due to our stay being relatively short and the large amount of places that we wanted to visit (which included tasting wine) it made sense to go on the tour - especially as we would not have to drive. Neil was great - he provided us with some history on the area and entertained us with stories of his and other peoples experiences of this Great Southern land. 1 coffee tasting and 2 wine tastings later we'd made new friends and were exchanging information and sharing experiences. The lunch venue and food was great. The tour was money well spent. Thanks Neil.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fabulous day out with real locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time and Neil is very friendly and knowledgeable. Loads of fun and a full day at high quality establishments.
Wine, chocolate, cheese, great lunch, brewery and local insights.
Suitable for friends, couples, families with teens.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Full day tour of Margaret River area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this trip at the Margaret River Tourist Information shop - the lady there was very helpful.
We took the trip on Easter Sunday, so there were lots of tourists about. We were collected from our holiday home and delivered into Margaret River. The trip comprised 4 wineries, a brewery, a chocolate factory, a cheese factory - sadly burned down so just the cheese shop, an olive oil factory, barrel tasting, and a coffee works. The latter was not on the brochure, but was a substitute for a gallery which was closed.
Our guide for the day was John, and he had everyone's name memorised, which I thought was a nice personal touch, adding to the overall enjoyment of the day. He had a good local knowledge and was full of little stories about the area and the people. Now on to the tour.
The first stop was the Yahaba Koffee Works. As previously mentioned, this was a substitute for the gallery which was closed, and was a very interesting stop. The coffee was given to everyone to taste, or not if you didn't wish to. Adjacent to the coffee works was the cookie shop - and the cookies in there looked (and tasted) absolutely fantastic.
Next on to the first winery - Leeuwin Estate. The setting was lovely, well planted and well situated amid green areas. As a limited taste wine drinker, I didn't really like the ambience in the tasting area - it seemed very formal and stilted, I am told by the wine drinkers in the family that the wines here were nothing very special.
Next we went to Watershed Winery - this was a totally different experience. The lady who was presenting our tasting was funny, knowledgeable, and interacted with the group members. I tried all the wines bar the reds and because I wasn't having those, the lady gave me another sample of the rose - lovely.
Now onward to the Cowaramup Brewery to taste a few beers and have lunch. Choices for lunch were taken by John earlier in the day and phoned through. The choices were fish and chips, burger, or mushrooms and couscous for veggies. The meals were plentiful and arrived without delay. The food wasn't gourmet style, but was well presented and tasty. You could buy a sampler of 6 beers, have a taste and decide which, if any, you would like with your lunch. Your could also have soft drinks or wine if that was your preference. The drink with lunch was free.
We then went to the cheese factory, or rather to the cheese shop, as the factory had burned to the ground a few weeks previously. There wasn't a great deal of sampling here - brie, vintage cheddar, less vintage cheddar, and marinated feta. I am not sure exactly what the factory produces when working, as we were told that the cheeses in the shop had been bought in.
On now to the chocolate factory, and being Easter, you can imagine the place was heaving with families with children getting their Easter eggs. There were three sample bowls here - each containing small chocolate buttons - white, milk, and dark chocolate. Again, we were told that the chocolate isn't actually made here but is imported from Belgium and transformed into the various chocolate products you could purchase.
We then went to the Fermoy winery, and this was different inasmuch as the tasting was done in the winery proper - with the barrels and stainless steel vats surrounding us. This I found interesting as it enabled you to see where the wine was produced. We also were shown a couple of pieces of equipment like the machine that takes the stalks off and the press. I think that the wines here were my least favourite. Several people took advantage of John's skill at the barrel tapping of the red wine - just a small amount of spillage on the floor :)
The last of the wineries was the Evans and Tate, where the lady who was doing the sampling here again was friendly, informative, and interacted with the group. We did make a purchase of a case here - including 3 bottles of their Classic Pink Moscato, which I found to be absolutely delightful.
Since we were by now running a little bit late, it was decided that we wouldn't visit the olive oil factory that was planned, we would instead stay at this place and visit the one nxt door to Evans and Tate - the Pukara Olive Oil factory. There was lots to sample - both oils and balsamic vinegars. Lots of little bread cubes to dip and try here.
Thus we came to the end of our day out in the Margaret River area. We were dropped off at our front door, having had a lovely day around the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaret River with Neil McLeod also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Margaret River with Neil McLeod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret River with Neil McLeod, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.