We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jarrah Grove Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Margaret River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jarrah Grove Retreat
Save
You added Jarrah Grove Retreat to your Saves list
705 Davis Road | Rosa Glen, Margaret River, Western Australia 6286, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Jarrah Grove retreat to celebtrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Jarrah Grove Retreat was everything that we imagined it to be. Such a beautiful setting, with only the sounds of the birds and the breeze in the trees. The property was immaculate, beautifully designed and extremely well maintained. The owners have thought of everything you need for a wonderful stay, from DVD's to a full range of kitchen utensils. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My husband particularly enjoyed the spa on the deck. Thank you for creating such a wonderful place for us to relax and enjoy our time together.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGRMargaretRiver, Owner at Jarrah Grove Retreat, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear perrymp,

Thank you for your wonderful TA review. We feel privileged to have been chosen by you to celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary and that you both had a fabulous time.

Many of our guests have commented on how new the chalets look. It is a testament to Kathleen and the cleaning and maintenance regimen that is in place.

We hope to welcome you back soon, maybe for your next special day.

Kind regards.
JGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
72
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We loved our stay at jarrah grove retreat, it was our second stay and just as amazing the second time around. We love arriving at jarrah grove and having everything waiting for us there. The forrest is the perfect setting for the outdoor hot tub and the high quality of materials and finishings used for the chalet show why it has such a high rating. Would return for our 3rd time again soon :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGRMargaretRiver, Owner at Jarrah Grove Retreat, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Matt O,

Thank you for your glowing TA review. It was a pleasure to welcome you back for your second visit with us and to see that you enjoyed this stay as much as your first one.

We take immense pride in providing our guests with some of the niceties in life, from candles surrounding the bath for two to the complimentary bottle of Margaret River wine, white or sparkling, cold in the fridge, or red, just waiting to be opened to help relieve some of the stresses of daily life.

We look forward in welcoming you back for your next visit with us in the not too distant future.

Kind regards.
JGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

If your a couple wanting a secret hide away but still a fun night out this is the place to go. I found this place by chance . It's about 10 mins from margret river town centre and hundreds of wineries, we found the lake and mammoth caves breathtaking, beach omg and all within 15 mins of where we stayed. The chalet has been expertly designed and thought out it was romantic with the bath and hot tub available and the surrounding woods framed us with privacy. We had every amenity necessary in the kitchen and laundry, and a very generous voucher and bottle of wine and fresh coffee given to us with our stay. It had a BBQ that was nice as well as the kitchen so we didn't have too leave. The local shops and pubs and restaurants were amazing we made some new friends , I will recommend a drive down caves road beautiful and it has a lovely place called the "cheeky monkey brewery" modern ,fun ,live music,good food there was a local butcher down the road meat was amazing. Honestly stay at this retreat and you will have the best time. The people are friendly . Thankyou so much to Kathleen and her husband the owners they were sweet and friendly and beautiful people and Thankyou to Fiona the sweet lass that was helping Kathleen to make sure the chalet was ready for us. We're coming back for sure . Almost forgot this great tapas bar called morries awesome food just in town centre got to go. Thanks again guys.

Room Tip: We only stayed two days they do specials if you stay more than three days we wish we had booked long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGRMargaretRiver, Owner at Jarrah Grove Retreat, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Rachael B,

Thank you so much for your TA review. It is fantastic to see that you squeezed in so much in only two days, there is so much to see and do in Margaret River.

Our location makes it easy for guests to experience the sights, sounds, and gourmet delights, all within an easy drive. Or you could just stay in and enjoy the serenity of the chalet.

We hope to welcome you back soon, so that you can further explore what this extraordinary part of the world has to offer.

Kind regards.
JGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Absolutey loved our stay here. While the jacuzzi was great, there hasn't been much mention of the beautiful bath with views of the surrounds- this was my favourite! Decor was simple but elegant, i loved the building materials utilised. Also great facilities i.e. kitchen etc.
Would definetly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGRMargaretRiver, Owner at Jarrah Grove Retreat, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Erika S,

Thank you for your TA review and thank you for choosing to stay with JGR for your holiday from Adelaide.

A quality, understated, and contemporary look is what we were looking for when designing our chalets. The colours and materials used have worked well in our philosophy of bringing the "outside in".

We look forward to welcoming you again, when you next visit WA.

Kind regards.
JGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a very small retreat with only two chalets. We had one of them and loved it. The design and the décor is very modern but fits well to the surrounding woods. Style-wise it reminded me of the cottages that some of my Finnish friends have in the Saiima lake region in Finland. Scandinavian style in the middle of Australia. The chalets are located in a forest and offer maximum privacy. We could see a glance of the other chalet but the latter was well hidden behind trees. Our chalet had a fully fledged kitchen including microwave and dishwasher. In the chalet there is also a washing machine and a dryer. Everything is in a pristine state. This chalet is perfect if you just want to have a few days of absolute peace and nothingness. The only noise you will hear is if the whirlpool on the wooden terrace heats up other than this: no cars, no music, nothing. Oh and of course the wind, the trees, the birds, the rain, the… There is no internet access and your mobiles might not receive a signal. Margaret river is 10-15 min away, if you want you can do some wine testing but maybe it is a better choice if you just buy a few bottles and do your own tasting on the terrace of the chalet. Because it becomes really dark at night we were able to see a lot of stars and understood that there is something like light pollution as well in most of the cities on this globe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGRMargaretRiver, Owner at Jarrah Grove Retreat, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear minov,

A heart felt thank you for such a thoughtful TA review. The stars at night, here in Margaret River, are something to behold.

Prior to building the chalets we had decided to provide our guests with an extraordinary, luxurious, and secluded experience in a forest setting. Going by guest reviews we have achieved this.

We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Kind regards.
JGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the jarrah grove retreat for 4 nights the fourth night being an extension of our 3 night indulgence package which included a case of wine and lunch at the berry farm. The stay was great and the interiors were spacious. The privacy of the chalet was perfect and the jacuzzi and barbecue are just a bonus. The kitchen is adequate in every sense of the way and the dvd collection is impressive. Kathleen and Leo who are the owners are delightful and helped us whenever we needed them. The only grievance we had, and this applies to all of WA, is that the blinds or curtains are positioned such that they do not block the day light ifrom entering the bedroom, which for some might be annoying. That said, we would whole heartedly recommend staying at Jarrah grove despite other cheaper options which may be available near M River

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool but it was quite nippy during our visit and we did not miss a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGRMargaretRiver, Owner at Jarrah Grove Retreat, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear kunal k,

Thank you for your TA review and it was a pleasure in assisting you with your queries and requirements. We are glad you enjoyed your Indulgence Package so much, that you decided to stay the extra night with us.

With regard to the blinds, they are designed to have a small gap between them and the wall so that the edges do not get caught and damage the blinds while they are being rolled up and down (opened and closed). When designing the chalets we intentionally used blinds so that the large windows would maximize and encapsulate the forest view, bringing the outside in and making one feel closer to nature.

Unfortunately we cannot provide a swimming pool for our guests, as we are reliant upon rain water for our water source. We do however have a spa (jacuzzi) on the timber deck, overlooking the forest, for one to luxuriate in.

We hope to welcome you back for another indulgent visit.

Kind regards.
JGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner came down to jarrah grove retreat it was such a lovely place to relax and get away so close to wineries and amazing scenery I would recommend to anyone that is going away for a weekend to get away from the busy stressful city life!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGRMargaretRiver, Owner at Jarrah Grove Retreat, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Bec D,

Thank you for your TA review. It was a pleasure welcoming you to JGR and satisfying to know that you had a relaxing time away from the city.

The nearby wineries and food providores offer some incredibly delicious wares to indulge in. There is always something new to try.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stress free stay in our amazing part of the world.

Kind regards.
JGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jarrah Grove Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jarrah Grove Retreat

Address: 705 Davis Road | Rosa Glen, Margaret River, Western Australia 6286, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the privacy and seclusion of your very own retreat in the forest. Introducing the Margaret River Region's finest luxury self-contained accommodation, nestled within the wild beauty of Jarrah, Marri and Karri woodland on an 86 acre private estate. Bordered by state forest on three sides, with neighbouring vineyards amongst a wider pretty canvas of rural and forested land holdings. Located approximately 14 minutes drive from the town of Margaret River, immerse yourself in comfort, style and forest serenity. Unwind and de-stress in the hot tub spa under the stars on the deck, or zen-out in the bay-windowed deep bath. Be delighted with stylish quality contemporary furnishings, crisp white linens and attention to every detail. Enjoy the romance and indulgence, pamper yourself and be rejuvenated. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jarrah Grove Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.