We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family/ pet friendly caravan park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret River Tourist Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Margaret River Tourist Park to your Saves list
Margaret River Tourist Park
44 Station Road, Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Kalamunda, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family/ pet friendly caravan park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend on an ensuite camping site. It was a good size site with lots of shade. We received a warm friendly welcome from Sandra on arrival. The kids had a great time on the jumping pillow and our dog was welcome too. Will stay here again for sure

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Margaret River Tourist Park, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. Dogs are thought of as part of the family by a lot of people and as such we like to welcome the whole family. The jumping pillow has become a favourite with all the children. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    41
    12
    1
    13
See reviews for
23
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We received a warm welcome when checking in and staff very helpful with booking tours. We had a one bedroom cabin which was clean and comfortable. Very quite. This park is very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Margaret River Tourist Park, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River Region, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I came mid January in this camping that I thought was good , lovely people I met there, nice location, not that expensive.I worked for 6 years in hospitality so I know what I'm talking to,It's so easy to write bad reviews on Internet and trust me that I don't like doin this but i had to.
WORST MANAGEMENT !
Kitchen close at 9 pm every night with all the lights and even barbecues site !
We arrived ( me, my little brother and a friend ) mid January, asking for a long stay as we arrived for the harvest period, so at least 2 months.( we put our name on the FAKE waiting list for caravan as its CHEAPER than tent sites)
350 $ TENT SITE P/W !!!
Still didn't understand why anyway !
They put us on a powered site for 10 days, until they suddenly said that we had to change site as it was apparently booked, we realise after that no one come to replace us.
Then they start to invent new rules to kick us out like max 2 weeks by site.
So every week we had to struggle to find space, hopefully
Kevin and his wife who for me were really good as manager there, helped us to find solution while the new Sherif of the camping left !
This sherif , STEEVE was the worst person in hospitality I met.
The first day to introduce himself, he came with a hammer in his hand to told us that we had to be careful as he were coming from Queensland !
UMBELIEVABLE !
Never said hello to us , smelling alcohol and the worst is 3 days before being kicked out by the police, he came to our site while we were drinkin a beer, we offer him one and he promised we could stay for long !
The day he was off he told all his staff to kick us out, we tried to but they called police !!
Anyway, now I moved, I realise other places better and cheaper.
By the way they gived the caravan to people I know ,who didn't registered them on the waiting list, shortly after we've been kicked out !
ANOTHER LIE !
It's a shame because it could be a nice place but with this management it's not !
We were respectfull, polite and doin no noise as we had to wake up at 4 am to pick grapes!
Except Kevin and his wife who were frankly good manager.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Margaret River Tourist Park, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
The camping sites in our park are Tourist Sites not Residential Sites and we are required to abide by Caravan Parks Legislation in this regard.

Our Park Regulations are handed to our guests on arrival and we remind guests, that we have a no noise policy after 9.30pm, that the camp kitchen closes at around 9pm and you must keep it tidy for the comfort of other campers. Most people abide by these regulations, however, from time to time we need to remind some campers of our regulations.

We can assure you that our staff only carry torches on their night rounds when they lock up the camp kitchen and TV Room between 9 and 9.30pm. All of our staff have a rostered two days off per week.

Our records indicate that you arrived at our Tourist Park on 25 January and stayed on an unpowered site until 8 February. Our Park Regulations allow for a maximum of 14 nights stay on an unpowered site. We were told by your group that you had arranged alternative accommodation to commence on 16 February, therefore, we extended your stay on a powered site from 8 February to 16 February and clearly informed you that you would need to vacate on that day.

On the 16 February your group, once again, attended our reception and requested that your accommodation be extended. When our staff informed you that you could not stay due to a prior booking your group became rude and very abusive and refused to accept our request to vacate the premises. When staff informed you that if you did not leave, the police would be called you still did not comply and taunted staff that the police would not attend for such an incident. The police were called and they did attend and you were escorted from our premises.

In this region there is a shortage of accommodation for seasonal workers. These workers are usually backpackers who have not been informed and have not planned ahead to work and stay in a busy tourist and agricultural region. It goes without saying that tempers can be flared when the demand for accommodation exceeds availability.

We recently offered onsite accommodation to a couple, one of whom had a badly burnt hand from a camping accident. This lovely couple were not on the waiting list, however, we offered them a small van because of his injuries.

We are pleased the things worked out for you in the long run and that you were able to move on to other accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

There were notes and rules about everything, everywhere. The management kicked people out and threatened to call the police twice, once just because a guy charged his phone in the camp kitchen. They told us we could only stay for two weeks at an unpowered site and constantly reminded us that we soon had to leave even if we hadn't caused any problems and had followed every single rule. They have security cameras everywhere and that made us feel like we were being watched all the time. We didn't feel welcome at all.

But the sweet man who cleans the abolution blocks were very nice and we met a lot of nice people staying at the park. The pool was also good. But the management made us feel very unwelcomed. We went to Riverview instead and felt much better the very first day, it's a beautiful caravan park.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Margaret River Tourist Park, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
I must agree that our camp kitchen contains a lot of signs. Over the coming days we intend to condense our Camp Kitchen Rules so that all our visitors can come to this central meeting hub of our park to enjoy a clean, well appointed camp kitchen facility.

We do not encourage our guests to leave their personal communication devices on charge, in the kitchen or ablution blocks, unattended. Our friendly staff at reception are more than willing to charge your phone if asked.

Our Park Regulations state a maximum of 14 nights stay on an unpowered site. This allows much needed maintenance of our camping area. We remind our guests of their length of stay when visiting reception so they are not left short on finding alternative accommodation in this busy area.

Unfortunately, sometimes circumstances dictate that we involve the police to attend to matters within the park. It is not an avenue that we prefer, however, we must uphold the park rules for the comfort and safety of every guest, not just a select few.

We have five security cameras in our tourist park. The security of our guests and their possessions is very important to us.

We do have some very sweet, hard working staff - I agree. When it is time for them to move on to their next adventure we know we will miss them. Luck is on our side though in this thriving region and we always have a lot of travellers keen to work in this wonderful environment.

Our pool has recently been renovated and I am glad that you enjoyed the clean, cool water and relaxing surroundings.

The Margaret River area offers a host of accommodation choices and I am pleased that you found one that best suits your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We got a warm welcome at check-in then a nice shady site. the park ablutions are small and messy via backpackers / get an en-suite/ a nice camp kitchen with separate Tv room, its a small park with maybe 20 to 25 van sites mostly shady, a small swimming pool, I could not receive Tv as a branch was hanging over my antenna i spoke to Manager (Kevin) he came straight over climbed the tree cut the branch still no Tv its a bad area never mind, there are great bushland walking paths alongside and behind the park, there is a nice Deli /coffee shop close by, this park is a great launching pad for the beautiful wineries /providore / chocolate attractions, our 10 days here was to short, nice to find friendly, helpful, Managers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Margaret River Tourist Park, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your review & feedback. An ensuite site is indeed a good choice if available. We do try our best to keep the ablution block as clean as possible during the day.
Unfortunately being a nice shady treed area it can come with a few technical hitches for TV reception. Kevin will be giving the trees a good pruning this autumn to help with this. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This tourist park is located right very close to the heart of Margaret River. We walked into the town for a coffee each morning. The 2 bedroom apartment was rooming enough for a family of 5 and was very clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Margaret River Tourist Park, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback Stephanie. It is a bonus being so close to town as it enables people to walk into town as you did. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We camped here for 4 days with our family and another family, it was a wonderful holiday. The ladies in the office were very friendly and helpful and the facilities were great. Our children loved riding their bikes around the caravan park as well as jumping on the extra large jumping pillow and swimming in the pool. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager M, Manager at Margaret River Tourist Park, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks Coralie for your great review. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The jumping pillow has been a favourite with all the children and adults. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margaret River Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Tourist Park

Address: 44 Station Road, Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Margaret River Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret River Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.