We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Brisket” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Tavern

Settlers Tavern
114 Bussel Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
08-97572398
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Australian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The heart of Margaret River where great country hospitality greets you & locally sourced food, coffee, wines, beers & generous meals served all-day await you! Full-menu all-day every-day indoors or two outdoor areas.Multi award winning wine list, over twenty five wines by the glass, and three hundred wines on the list national and international and featuring over one hundred and twenty local wines. Settlers Tavern is the original home of live entertainment in Margaret River - featuring good vibes bands reggae, funk, soul, roots, blues - two hundred and sixty nights a year.No wonder Settlers Tavern is the busiest place in town!
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Brisket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I came here for dinner on a Friday night in August. It was very busy, but they found us a table. Very warm inside as they have the heating on and a wood fire blazing as well.
The line was very long to order food, but once ordered, it only took about 15 minutes for the food to arrive.
I had the Beef Brisket.. it was absolutely delicious. I would have loved to have tried the ribs on a different night. My husband had Seafood Linguine which was overflowing with fresh seafood. One of our best meals in Margaret River.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    269
    55
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Great Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Two families. Adults, teens and 8 and 9 year old. Good for all. Great, fresh and fast food. Even more impressive for a 'pub' was the wine list. Deep and broad and very fairly priced. Really great knowledge of the list by their team. Thoroughly recommended. As good, or better than some of the pricier options in Margaret River.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family Restaurant..... NOT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Have had dinner here a few times with friends and family. Each time children are told off for just getting off their chairs to stand next to their table and dance. I understand this is a pub with dodgy carpet, potential hazards about the place and glassware, but cannot understand why they promote the place as a family restaurant when kids are not allowed to move from their seats. Sure they are given colouring in to keep them amused for a few minutes but as soon as they leave their seats to have a bogey next to their table a nice European backpack delivers the usual spiel of " no too dangerous you must sit down".
Meals are huge. Obviously designing them to appeal to the mass population if wAnting more but missing the old saying of quslity not quantity. Steak sandwiches that require you to dislocate your jaw to eat featuring a lovely piece of gristle steak and salads that feature a whole lettuce. Kids ate all of their fish and chips so you do have to be happy with that

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Lots of people here - because the food is yummy! This is a cosy place with lots of diplomas on their walls. I heard it was a must when you're in MR so I gave it a go and I'm happy I did.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Nice cozy place... food is great but portion was a little too big for me...(not necessary a bad thing)!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Settlers Tavern also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Settlers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.