We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere with great patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Tavern

Settlers Tavern
114 Bussel Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
08-97572398
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, Australian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The heart of Margaret River where great country hospitality greets you & locally sourced food, coffee, wines, beers & generous meals served all-day await you! Full-menu all-day every-day indoors or two outdoor areas.Multi award winning wine list, over twenty five wines by the glass, and three hundred wines on the list national and international and featuring over one hundred and twenty local wines. Settlers Tavern is the original home of live entertainment in Margaret River - featuring good vibes bands reggae, funk, soul, roots, blues - two hundred and sixty nights a year.No wonder Settlers Tavern is the busiest place in town!
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere with great patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I ate here several nights and found the experience wonderful... The outdoor patio has heaters and is covered. Beer and wine selection is super and I loved the salmon. This is how it works: you go to the bar and purchase a beer, which you take with you. Then you stand in line to order food, which Is brought to your table. You go back to the bar to fetch another drink. I met many locals and had fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    268
    55
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

After reading good reviews of Settlers Tavern on here I thought I would give it a go.....I wish I hadn't.
The greeting was very friendly and welcoming, with a table being found very quickly, although it was very close to nearby tables giving a 'canteen' feeling to an otherwise lovely setting. The procedure on how to order meals and drinks was explained very clearly so we knew exactly what to do.
Then things went down hill, the service at the bar was from a very unhappy looking gentleman who seemed put out that he had to serve customers, and almost annoyed that I had interrupted a conversation with his mate. A please and thank you when asking for payment makes a huge difference and goes a long way.
The food arrived promptly, but I almost wish it hadn't, it was unseasoned and greasy, the tomato on the bruschetta was far from fresh and lacked any flavour. The mains were know better, it was the first time in a long time I have been unable to eat a meal in a restaurant. We did mention to the waitress when she cleared the plates that we weren't happy, nothing more was done.
Utterly disappointed, will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlers1, Owner at Settlers Tavern, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear kopite85,
Thank you for taking time to write your review. At Settlers Tavern, we take great pride in providing excellent hospitality and are genuinely concerned by your report. We receive a great deal of good feedback, but when we do hear a poor review it is very helpful to learn as many details as possible. We would greatly appreciate your contacting us directly to tell us more about your experience, and allow us to offer our sincere apologies.
Many thanks, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yallingup, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“the whole package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place has it all. Good atmosphere, great food, awesome lineup of live music regularly and there's pool tables and beer gardens too. You get a ten out of ten Settlers Tav!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Busy atmosphere, fast service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Busy on weekends, pub food served quickly. Great atmosphere with live music. Reasonably priced. Wide selection if drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastwood, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Busy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This Tavern was exceptionally busy (which is a good sign) and we had quite a good meal here. Lots of choices on the menu and the staff were very attentive and efficient. The wood fire was going when we visited as we were there on a cold rainy night. That added to the lovely atmosphere. Apart from the crowds of people and being quite noisy this place is recommended for a tasty meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Settlers Tavern also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Settlers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.