We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST BRILLIANT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Tavern

Settlers Tavern
114 Bussel Hwy, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
08-97572398
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $34
Cuisines: Organic, Seafood, Vegetarian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The heart of Margaret River where great country hospitality greets you & locally sourced food, coffee, wines, beers & generous meals served all-day await you! Full-menu all-day every-day indoors or two outdoor areas.Multi award winning wine list, over twenty five wines by the glass, and three hundred wines on the list national and international and featuring over one hundred and twenty local wines. Settlers Tavern is the original home of live entertainment in Margaret River - featuring good vibes bands reggae, funk, soul, roots, blues - two hundred and sixty nights a year.No wonder Settlers Tavern is the busiest place in town!
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“JUST BRILLIANT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Do yourself a favour and visit this awesome spot when in Margs!
We have been a few times and have received the BEST service and the BEST food!
Prices are in line with Margaret River (nothing is cheap) but when it comes to value - boy do you get it at the Settlers!!!!
We would especially like to thank one of the workers who was simply amazing! His name was Michael Priest. He made sure we were happy and checked that our meals/drinks were ok. We were so impressed. We watched him work and saw that he did this with every customer in the place (and there were alot!). He was organised, friendly, happy and passionate. Thank you!
In saying that - ALL of the staff were great! And what made it even better was that everyone was having fun with each other! It's nice to visit a place where you see how hard everyone works as a team!
We will be back and recommend this place to EVERYONE!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    334
    70
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“dont bother...really..dont waste your time and money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

after being told this place served "award winning" pub food, we thought we give it a go. in short...food thrown in a deep fat fryer and then thrown on a plate. if it were 10 dollars a main i would not be complaining but the food is way over priced and rubbish. whoever awarded this place for food could do with a slap with a wet fish. please take my advice and cross the road and eat at "must" wine bar. you'll pay a little more for the food but its another level!!..never again!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlers1, Owner at Settlers Tavern, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hey Zulublues, are you sure you actually tried the food at Settlers Tavern? Your comments are way off base. If there was something you were specifically referring to you should say what it is. Did you try the slow braised local lamb shanks, the pan seared line caught Bar Cod, the 70 day grass fed T-bone steak, the house made Indian curry, the authentic Korean dishes, and our Malaysian Laksa. Or how about the California style chicken tacos? If it's fried food your after, our fish & chips includes a generous portion of sustainably fished Western Australian Spanish Mackerel for $19; you won't beat that for quality and value in this town, even if it is deep fried- but would you have it any othe way? Genuine effort goes into sourcing great produce, and our food is good value by any measure. Our generously portioned mains average just $24, but with over 40 items on our menu you can easily get a substantial meal for just $10 to $15. I suggest trying one of our own microbrews, or a quality glass of wine from our 400 selection list to restore your faith in good value; it is recognized by the International Magazine, Wine Spectator, as one of the World's great wine lists, and for having extraordinarily good value too. Hmmmm....what HAVE we done to offend you? We wish you well and thank you for the opportunity to respond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Poor, overpriced food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Went with a party of 4 and whilst I can't fault the staff we all found the food to be poor. It would have been ok if it had been about $70 cheaper. I can't really understand how it's got so many awards. I wouldn't pay £30 plus for a main of this standard in the uk. It's quite simple food but doesn't have the quality to back it up. There are much nicer places to eat on the Main Street at comparible prices. Definitely would not recommend or dine there again. Don't let how busy it is there lure you in. It's just a rip off.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlers1, Owner at Settlers Tavern, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
G'day Fi2fox,
I'm glad you don't fault the staff; they are a fantastic crew and deserve the kudos! We are also fortunate to employ a formidable team of talented chefs who do an extraordinary job. In hospitality it is often said, "the customer is always right". This is an important edict to our business, as we really appreciate that our customers are the only reason we exist. You mentioned how busy Settlers Tavern was during your visit, and you were right about that. But, I can assure you that the reason that we are the busiest place in town (and we are) is not because, in your words, "it's just a rip off". The reason we are busy is because we offer one of the most consistent and good value, dining experiences for miles around; and our staff DO do a great job. You said that your dinner for four would have been okay if it were about $70 cheaper. With our main meals averaging just $24 that would make the total cost of your dinner for four, an unbelievable $26 dollars. Yes, there are other places on the main street where you can feed 4 people for $26, and if that's what your after, I'll be happy to help you find them! Let's be fair. All the best in your future dining experiences, and thank you for the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A big pub/restaurant with good food and many types of beer. Good as a chillout when in Margaret River

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I dined at settlers during our recent stay. My family and I are frequent visitors to the area and to the tavern. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed. The staff were rude and unfriendly from the beginning, which made the whole experience negative from the get go. Whatever happened to being greeted with a smile? Excuse me if it is too much to ask to be greeted with an attempt to be nice or friendly.

We waited about 25 mins in queue just to place our order. The bonus being that we did get our meals pretty quickly. Unfortunately the speedy delivery seemed to mean they had skimped on quality. I ordered the "crispy calamari" which would be more appropriately named "soggy calamari". Not a single crunch on the plate, besides the one piece of cucumber in the side salad (and by side salad I mean huge amounts of lettuce with one slice of cucumber and one slice of tomato; which I paid extra for).

Drinks are expensive but seem consistent with the over priced alcoholic beverages in margs.

I used to love the tav, unfortunately it is now one of my last choices in town. The least a diner could ask for is a smile from the wait staff?! Won't be going back in a hurry, not when there are so many other quality (and professionally staffed) restaurants in town.

Disappointing.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlers1, Owner at Settlers Tavern, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello Tegan,

We are very proud of the hard work and friendly service our crew provides, so we were very surprised to read that you were treated rudely by any of the staff at Settlers Tavern. If one of our crew were less than professional, you certainly have our sincere apologies.

Crispy Calamari is one of our most popular dishes, and if was not prepared properly, we would have loved the opportunity to make it right. I would encourage any restaurant patron to let us know straight away, and if given the chance, we will certainly respond in spades.

In regard to our drinks being expensive, we would greatly appreciate further details. Our wine list is one of the best values in the business, and our bar drinks are priced below most Perth venues, despite having additional freight costs.

I’m not sure what exactly happened on your recent visit Tegan, but you clearly were upset. As a publican/restaurateur who takes great pride in our business, I would ask any dissatisfied customer to speak to us in person, before taking a wholesale Trip Advisor swat at our highly professional, friendly and proficient team.

I respect much of our competition, but I’ll proudly throw our hat in the ring, any day of the week, for the consistency, good value and friendly service our team provides.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond,

Rob Gough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Settlers Tavern also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Settlers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.