We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppermint Brook Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Peppermint Brook Cottages to your Saves list
Peppermint Brook Cottages
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   12 Mann Street, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off for 3+ nights
chelle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

I have travelled to many places around the world and found many places a pleasure to stay but this would have to be one of the best little gems that i have found its so quiet and peaceful but so close to town and attractions in margaret river the cottages are so well maintaihed and a very affordable rate for people travelling will be staying again next time we visit

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Sticky disgusting floors, smelly old furniture. Kitchen had not been cleaned in years. Maybe bikey gangs might enjoy staying here because it's cheap. Best avoided!

We tried to leave and demand our money back but could never locate any staff at the check in.

In favour, it's quiet and a nice short walk into town.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peppybrook, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
In 2009, we installed new kitchens, replaced all floor coverings and painted all internal walls, so your comments do not seem at all warranted. Since October 2008, 151 questionnaires were received showing (out of 10) Cottage Facility (8.80), Cleanliness (8.67), Bedding (8.97), Bathroom (8.72), Outlook (8.45), Gardens (8.68), Privacy (8.68), Location (9.23) and Convenience (9.26) - for an average of 8.83 out of 10. How can it be that so many guests had such a significantly different opinion?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esperance
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

stayed at peppermint brook cottages for a week away had a wonderful stay large area for the baby to run around beautifully clean cottages friendly staff the renovationare wonderful

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Good things about this place: Location and facilities were fair.

Bad things:

We were generally unhappy with our stay at Peppermint Brook Cottages. When we arrived and opened the door we sensed a strong smell of urine. We found the floors in the kitchen and toilet sticky as well as the toilet seat itself.

One of the bedrooms stunk of damp as did the sheets on the bed. We discovered that this stench was not only in the sheets but in the mattress cover and matress itself. By the third day the room was uninhabitable.

One of the people in our travelling group found apple peel and orange cores in her bed. Clearly the sheets aren't changed very often.

There were workmen working with noisy machinery at 7am.

A box of tissues in the room would have been handy as well as bread in the fridge as promised.

"But we're doing refurbishments" was the reason given for all of these issues.

I don't see why guests need to be inconvenienced during refurbishments and frankly there is no excuse for such poor service.

They really need to work on their cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peppybrook, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
By September 2009, we completed a refurbishment during which we installed new kitchens, floor coverings, crockery, cutlery, pots, pans and glassware. The internal walls were then painted to create a fresh, new, look. Through 2010/11, further improvements are being made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Food found in one of the beds.
Sticky floors.
Sticky Toilet seat.
No pressure in the showers.
Damp smell in one of the rooms was so bad it meant it could not be used as a bedroom, when manager was informed of this they said "oh we know"
Uncomfortable pillows
Good location though - walking distance to the centre of margaret river.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peppybrook, Owner at Peppermint Brook Cottages, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
By September 2009, we completed a refurbishment during which we installed new kitchens, floor coverings, crockery, cutlery, pots, pans and glassware. The internal walls were then painted to create a fresh, new, look. Through 2010/11, further improvements are being made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppermint Brook Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppermint Brook Cottages

Address: 12 Mann Street, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppermint Brook Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 8 cottages spread around a lawned area. Each cottage has 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, living room, fully-equipped kitchen, verandah and BBQ. We have pot belly gas-fired heaters and cosy doonas for winter. It;s just a 5 minute stroll to Margaret River's shops, bars, cafes and restaurants; and the same to the Visitors' Centre. Wi-Fi is available for $5.00 per 24 hour period (1-2 devices) via PayPal or credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Peppermint Brook Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppermint Brook Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.