We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing farmstay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay

Save Saved
You added Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay
225 Osmington Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off for 4+ nights
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A relaxing farmstay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed there with my family last week, partially because it was one place we could take our dog - and wasn't expecting an awful lot. However, the Hideaway was fantastic. New managers Vinnie and Lisa were wonderful hosts and provide a bit of humour during the stay. We didn't stay in the up market units, but they were in great condition and they did have a decent yard for a dog to run around when you don't want to take them with you during the day. My daughter loved the animal feeding, and with chickens, ducks, geese, sheep, alpacas, emus and cows ... there's plenty to do and see. The Osmington Road is just down the road from the Colonial Brewery and only 5-10 minutes from town. It's also only about 15 minutes to Caves road and all the wineries/caves etc.

Room Tip: no need ... even the basic units are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    26
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
90
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week and I've been raving about it to everyone since our return. It was one of the best holidays we have had in a long while and the Margaret River Hideaway had a lot to do with that. In a beautiful setting, so peaceful, our 8 and 6 year old daughters absolutely loved the freedom to roam the property - feeding the animals most mornings, collecting some freshly laid eggs, and playing in the tree house and making their own adventures around the property. Most evenings we would have a BBQ and sit out looking up at the stars enjoying the serenity of the place. The hosts, Vinnie and his family, were absolutely amazing, so welcoming, helpful and fantastic with the kids. Also, the property is perfectly positioned right in the middle of Margaret River, so close to the town and easy to get to all the beaches, wineries and breweries in the area. We can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peppybrook, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Like you, we find the star-lit heavens to be glorious. So many people have to live in polluted cities, where we are spoiled in having clear skies through much of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I can safely say that i've stayed nearly everywhere in Margaret River - And i can assure you that i've not spared a dollar either.
I can touch my heart and tell you without hesitation that this is the BEST PLACE i've ever stayed in. OK, so it's not the Ritz Carlton, but your host - Vinny - he'll make you feel like you're one of the family. No effort was spared in making this THE MOST MEMORABLE occassion in Margaret River. I challenge anyone, including couples looking for a romantic escape, to tell me otherwise.
Right in the middle of Nature, with enough privacy but add that intimace of being INVOLVED with nature and the natural surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Owner at Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
It's great to hear that the property is enjoyed by couples as well as families as the property is ideally set up for adults to enjoy. the cottages are well equipped and private, offering wonderful relaxation following a busy day's touring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were a group of two couples and while this is a great place for kids to interact with the farm animals we as adults enjoyed the experience too. The peace and quiet of this place is a welcome relief from city stays and the stars at night were amazing. A highlight was to feed the animals along with the families that were staying there. Vinnie and his family seem a perfect fit to host this special place and they added to our experience with their hospitality. We stayed in one of the older / wooden cottages which had two bedrooms and was very clean and well equipped for our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just got back from our stay at the MR Hideaway and OH! how I wish I was still there. We had a great time. Our children got involved in every feeding then at the end of the day happily played in the tree house and herded the sheep from field to field with new friends. Farmer Vinnie (as we called him) is really great and has heaps of patience with the kids. He did a great job at getting them all involved and obviously loves what he does. We had many nights outside having a BBQ, sipping our vineyard purchases and looking at the stars in this peaceful setting. Thanks so much for a wonderful time. The Alpacas and collecting fresh eggs to eat were the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: Best views are cottages at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in one of the studio cottage ( which i think is the oldest ) with our 15 mth toddler. Baby cot and high chair were provided.There is a step between the living area and the bedroom,which in my opinion can be quite dangerous for little kids..but surprising my son manage to get up and down easily after a few tries.. Only the showerhead is available and i have to shower my son like how we adults do.. he took it quite well too.. but if your kid hates getting his hair wet.. it will be very tricky..

I love the fact that all the animals are free to roam about in the farm and my boy had a really gd time chasing the chickens and feeding the ducks.. it is the space and this type of rural environment that we lack of in singapore..

The location of the farmstay is gd as it is just a few mins away from MR township and easy travelling distances to all the attractions ard the region.

Forget abt internet. I got a telstra sim card but it was so slow that i gave up surfing the net after 1 day..

Lisa and Vinnie are great hosts..made us feel right at home. thumbs up for them..

Only negative pt : the air condition is set to auto off every 2 hrs.. according to Lisa, this is to prevent people from turning the air condition on and leaves the cottage. I was there in March so the weather was fine at night.. I cannot imagine being there in Feb/July and the air condition turns off in the mid of the night..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have two girls (5 and 8) and they loved the freedom they had wandering around the farm, and helping to feed the animals. It is the type of rural setting they don't experience much in Singapore. The manager, Vinnie, and his four daughters were wonderful hosts and made the girls, and us, feel very welcome. The Hideaway is also in a great location, and within striking distance of the town, wineries, and other fun stuff for kids to do. We hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay

Address: 225 Osmington Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Specialty lodging in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Hideaway And Farmstay
Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay Hotel Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret River Hideaway & Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.