We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret River Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Margaret River Guest House to your Saves list
Margaret River Guest House
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   5 Valley Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Autumn specials
Ranked #2 of 18 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Location, service and accommodation all excellent. Deb and Pete very fiendly and provided helpful suggestions for places to visit and things to do in the area. Will book again for our next stay in Margaret River.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Margaret River Guest House. It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Margaret River.

Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    69
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
231
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Margaret river quest house was the first place we stayed at the start of our tour in - in a small part of - WA. The start couldn't be better: a lovely older place to stay perfectly quiet located in the midst of the little town..around the corner of mainstreet restaurants and shops
.Debbie and Pete are great hosts! Tx for the daily cooked breakfast Pete and the cakes were great ,Debbie!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Dutchies

So please to hear we started your trip off so well, hopefully the rest continued the same. So glad you enjoyed the cooking.

Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were welcomed into the guest house by a lovely host who gave us a quick tour of the accommodation. Our room was furnished with Australian style furniture and it had a modern bathroom. We enjoyed socialising with the other guests in the breakfast room, exchanging travel tips and general conversation. The hosts went that extra mile by freshly baking a cake for the guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Cheryl
Thank you for sharing you stay on tripadvisor, it was lovely to meet you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a lovely place to stay if you're visiting the region. Friendly hosts and nice rooms with special touches like the delicious cakes waiting for you when you come in (especially the brownies!). Communal breakfast meant gleaning tips from other visitors as to the best places to visit. Made to feel very welcome. Not somewhere we would usually stay (we tend to self cater) but would do it again after this experience. Very easy to walk into town to sample the restaurants. The bedroom was a little small but there is a huge sitting room with log burner and the verandah so no problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Sarah

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you had a great first experience staying in our guesthouse. Many of our guests comment that breakfast was their highlight, with many new friendships formed over conversations of travel and righting the worlds wrongs.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I were travelling last March to Australia for the first time - Perth and Margaret River, together with another couple. We had chosen this guest house on the internet using the local on line travel guides and were most pleased with our stay. Friendly welcome, clean, cosy and well appointed rooms and public areas, great location, super breakfast. We hope to be back to Australia one day and if we do, this place will be on our list.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was lovely meeting you all and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other. Hopefully you will get a chance to visit again and get an opportunity to see more of our lovely Margaret RIver Region.

Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed previously as a couple n we loved the place ;)
Came back this time with our extended family (9 of us), and once again, it was a fantastic stay! Everything about the guesthouse was great, with friendly hosts who were very helpful and excellent amenities...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Marie

Was lovely to welcome you back again with your family this time, We missed catching up with you this time and look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I have just returned home after a 7 week holiday in Nz and Oz and can honestly say Margaret River Guest House was up there with the best of the holiday. Deb and Pete were on holiday but their 'stand in' hosts Paul and Sue did a grand job. There was plenty of food for breakfast and although the hot food menu was fixed they were very accommodating with personal tastes. We felt quite exhausted after a hectic schedule beforehand so the house, in it's quiet location and peaceful garden, was a welcome refuge. Also afternoon cakes are a great idea. We had room 7 which had a King bed and was very comfortable but I did look around at some other rooms, when the guests had left, and think on balance the rooms on the other side of the house were brighter and had a better outlook over the garden. Room 3 looked nice but you had to share the verandah, which I don't think would be a problem, in room 7 you had your own private area. It depends what's important to you, larger bed versus light room and shared sitting area.

The house was in a great location, we walked to the town every night, the pub did good beer and food but became very noisy after about 7. We heard Albany and the surrounding areas are worth visiting, we love the galleries up in Dunsborough and Yallingup, Prevelly beach area is worth a drive and the caves are fantastic if you don't suffer from claustrophobia! We didn't get to any wineries this time round but we thoroughly enjoyed them last time.

All in all a fantastic stay, we would most definitely stay again, if the exchange rate improves, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Room 7 has its own verandah and a king bed some of the others rooms have queen beds and overlook mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Linda

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the region. We were sorry to miss you this time around, but I hope we get a chance to meet you on a return trip.

You are quite correct each of our 5 King rooms and 1 Queen/family room offer something a little different from each other, but that adds the specialness to those that return wanting their favourite room.

Till next time

Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Margaret River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Guest House

Address: 5 Valley Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Margaret River Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best B & B in Australia 2013/14 by the readers of the Australian Travellers Magazine, Margaret River Guest House has a reputation of quality accommodation in the Margaret River Region for nearly 50yrs. Steeped in history and exuding old world charm we are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac and only a two minute stroll into the Town centre which includes restaurants, galleries shops and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Margaret River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Guest House Hotel Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret River Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.