We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as long as you like eggs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret River Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Margaret River Guest House to your Saves list
Margaret River Guest House
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   5 Valley Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Summer specials
Ranked #3 of 18 Margaret River B&B and Inns
Durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good as long as you like eggs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Nice b and b situated just off main street with lovely rooms , however breakfast was a disapointment.we stayed for three nights and had eggs each morning poached, scrambled and baked , no choice was offered ! and just one slice of toast per person . A little more variety would be an improvement .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Brian

Thank you for taking the time to review our guest house and highlight our breakfast which has been a tradition since 1967. We believe our continental and different fully cooked breakfast each day gives a good variety and substantial meal to start your day, including being fully flexible to cater for our guests with dietary needs. Like our bottomless cups of tea and coffee so are our baskets of toast, you only need to say yes to a refill when it is offered.

Kind Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    64
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
209
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
db_board
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The venue was very pleasant with large confortable rooms and friendly and attentive owners. The location is excellent - walking distance to several great restaurants and the shopping in the town centre. It is also centrally located for exploring the area.

That said, the stay was somewhat spoiled by breakfast... We found it very strange that breakfast was served AT 8.30am and not BETWEEN two times. Guests were also asked to sit at two large tables with all other hotel guests. As our bedroom opened onto the dining area, and we were slightly late (who wants to be told when to get up when on holiday?) we ended up walking out of our room to a full dining area and being watched by the earily silent guests as we found seats and got ourselves breakfast. Guests were not given a choice of cooked option and were all given exactly the same food, at exactly the same time. This meant that, as we were slightly late, all other guests had to sit and wait while we finished out cereal before getting served. Luckily, the food was tasty, if stingy. To be frank, half a sausage, sliced up into 5 3-4mm thick slices per person striked me as a bit tight, considering the $180 per night price tag and 4 star rating.

Nice venue. Strange breakfast. Small portions. Over priced. Definitely not the place for you if you want a romantic or intimate weekend.

Room Tip: Don't take room's 6 or 7 as you will have to walk out onto the dining area in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Daniel

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to improve the standard of our business.

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast experience, but to be fair we are not a hotel, but a guest house and so have a dining room with dining tables, not individual tables and chairs associated with impersonal hotels.

We understand when you're on holidays that sometime sleep is more important than food however our 8.30 breakfast works for our guests taking Wine Tours, those wanting to get on the road and explore the region and for our checkout time. I can assure you we did not hold off breakfast for your arrival. Our cooked breakfasts are different each morning and freshly cooked then served when ready, so if we have a dining room full off guests they will be eating together.

I will pass on your tasty remark to our local pork producer for his sausages, along with your concern about the size being rather stinghy, but the sausage is an accompaniment to your scrambled eggs, muffins and slow roasted tomatoes and not a main course on their own. Of course the continental buffet is also available along with toast.

Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at the Margaret River Guest House over Christmas this year and can't recommend it highly enough. The service was outstanding - such a pleasant surprise for us! The food was second to none and the sweet treats in the afternoon were just the icing on the cake! We have told so many people and they are all so jealous at what a wonderful, stressfree Christmas we had. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
We are so glad you had a stress free Christmas Meg and thank you for your lovely review. It was our pleasure making this Christmas a special one for you both. Hopefully we will get to do it again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Booked 4 Rooms for 4 couples attending the 2011 National HOG Rally in The Margaret River. The total experience was very good. The ease of booking (from NSW), the communication pre-stay, the hospitality, the location. I recommend Pete and Deb and the Margaret River Guesthouse to you and would not hesitate to stay again.

Tony Jones (TJ)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thank you Tony, we really enjoyed meeting everyone attending the Hogs Rally in Nov, it was a great success for the region. I must admit I miss the sound of the purring Harleys echoing around town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My sister-in-law, mother and I were delighted with our stay - this guesthouse was worth the long drive from Perth. The minute we walked in the door we could feel how special the place is. Debbie made us feel right at home as she gave us a tour. She and Pete are great hosts. The breakfasts were so good :-) different each morning and even served gluten free. There were lots of little extras like the afternoon cakes, the selection of teas, the port tray, the library of books, CDs and DVDs. It's a delightful place, peaceful and quiet, ample off-street parking and only a short stroll to the shops and restaurants. I hope this place is here for years to come, we would love to come again. Thanks Deb and Pete, all the best for 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you Sue for your lovely review. It was a real privledge to meet you and your family, we feel very fortunate to work in a job we just love and in a part of the world which is just so beautiful. Thank you for your good wishes and heres to a busy and wonderful 2012 for us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I would echo all the glowing reviews of Margaret River Guest House, they are so much deserved. Pete and Deb have got it absolutely spot on here, they are warm and welcoming hosts and are on hand for anything at all, yet at the same time you feel like you have lots of space here to relax and enjoy the guest house. It is extremely cosy and well kept and we found all the small touches so lovely, such as freshly home made cakes as a surprise every afternoon, the port which all guests can help themselves to as well as many other things. We stayed for 5 nights here and the time flew. The guest house is in an excellent location, a quiet little street just off the main centre, walking distance to everything you need. An easy drive to the beaches and wineries. We have already recommended this place to friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
5 nights seems so long when you book, but with any holiday the time just flies. It was a pleasure having you both stay with us and we are so please you enjoyed all we and the region have to offer. Try not to work to hard now your back home and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

My cousin Jo and I were overwhelmed upon reaching the guesthouse after a long ride from Bunbury. Deb was so warm and welcoming. She made us feel at home instantly and even helped us with tour bookings. Breakfast was soooo gd! Afternoon pastries were delicious too! I would so go there again if I head back to Margaret river again. Location is pretty central and the service is commendable. Thanks so much Deb and family. Wish you a blessed Christmas from Singapore . - mercy-

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie966, Owner at Margaret River Guest House, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Mercy and Jo,

It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and I am so happy you enjoyed your holiday with us. After hearing your stories about the canoe and cave tour We sent our son and his girlfriend on the same tour a couple of days later. I found them both standing in our lounge room covered in mud but smiling from ear to ear after having a fab day.

Have a great Christmas and New Year

Regards
Deb & Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Margaret River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Guest House

Address: 5 Valley Road, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Margaret River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Margaret River Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best B & B in Australia 2013/14 by the readers of the Australian Travellers Magazine, Margaret River Guest House has a reputation of quality accommodation in the Margaret River Region for nearly 50yrs. Steeped in history and exuding old world charm we are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac and only a two minute stroll into the Town centre which includes restaurants, galleries shops and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Margaret River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret River Guest House Hotel Margaret River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret River Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.