We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly rude management, lack of consideration for potential diners...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Watershed Winery

Watershed Winery
Darch Rd, Margaret River, Western Australia 6285, Australia
(08) 9758 8633
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Augusta, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Incredibly rude management, lack of consideration for potential diners...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We checked the website and posted opening hours, got there at around 12:30 for lunch on a beautiful Saturday.

Manager, "Oh we couldn't possibly seat you without a reservation." - sour, mean look. INCREDIBLY UNPLEASANT.

Apparently, there was a wedding. How awful would that be to get married in such an unwelcoming atmosphere?!

Hey, I know, the management might have said something like, "We're terribly sorry. We have a big function today and we just can't fit any more tables in." Maybe with a little sincerity instead of snide elitism? Also, how about a banner on the website when large functions preclude everyday diners!?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff B, Owner at Watershed Winery, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
The restaurant was fully booked and as the Restaurant Manager politely pointed out you had not made a reservation. We have a wedding every Saturday from September through to May and we can assure you that the weddings, which are all conducted in the evening, do not impact on your ability to make a reservation for lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    72
    20
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent all round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had lunch at the winery and it was excellent. The food was beautifully cooked - one fish and one chicken, the wine was excellent in fact we bought some and then returned the next day to buy some more to take home! The service was excellent, the staff were so friendly and knew the menu and wines so well. The location was lovely we had a table by the window and looked out over the working vineyard.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
“Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I am 60 years of age and this was the best chicken I have every tasted in my life. According to the waitress, the chicken had been slow cooked and that contributed to the most delicious, moist and tasty poultry ever ! Congratulations chef

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great wines, super food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Starting with a range of wine tastings - all of which we liked - we went to the restaurant for lunch. There we had the fish of the day - barramundi, cooked to perfection. We sat on the verandah, and enjoyed the view across the vineyards.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful Restaurant with very attentive wait staff. Limited but lovely menu which also offers lovely children's meals. Great for families as it has a fully enclosed play area but the best part for the children was the grassed play area outside which you could watch them dance and run around on.
We had a lovely relaxing meal. Thanks to the staff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watershed Winery also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Watershed Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watershed Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.