We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Davidson Street, Kalgoorlie, Western Australia 6430, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Deal
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kalgoorlie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for two night's on December 21st and 22nd. Room nice bed lovely after a long drive. Got our son and his young family to come on the Saturday as it was very hot. They used the pool with us and the barbecue. The staff were very helpful and even bought out tomato sauce for the hotdog's my husband cooked. Breakfast was ok. Could have been warmer? This was our second visit and we will visit again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Paula P,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the use of facilities in particular our resort style pool area and found our staff to be helpful. I hope to see you again soon in the Goldfields!

Kind Regards and Happy New Year,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    119
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
15
78
9
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in Rydges over christmas and would never stay there again. The grounds were unkept and the dishes around the swimming pool had to be cleared by an off duty staff member after ten hours. As for the rooms the tap on the kitchen sink fell off and the toilet roll was broken. The carpet had stains on it and we were bitten by some sort of insect during the night while we were asleep. We ordered a burger the day before christmas to be advised that they had run out. Also ran out of ice on christmas day. For a resort there is much to be desired at Rydges Kalgoorlie and you have to wonder what the management is doing, apparently not their job.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Jill H,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I am disappointed that your experience whilst staying at the resort was not to your expectations and indeed not to the level of service we strive to provide. I have addressed the issues you have mentioned and I am confident going forward that we have rectified these.

Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had three nights in a studio deluxe at a discount rate - $318 for three nights. Tip: join the "Priority Rewards" program before booking, for some good discounts.

Checkin: Friendly and efficient. We were not offered the complementary drinks or other priority club goodies.

The room: the room itself was quite large and well equipped. It included a very comfortable king bed, flat screen TV (though the picture quality was not very good) , table and a couple of chairs etc. There was a little kitchenette with microwave, toaster & kettle etc. the bathroom was large and very nicely appointed including a spa bath. There was also a small balcony overlooking the street and the back of the Harvey Normans shop.

The approach to the room was a bit off-putting. Unlike the majority of rooms which faced the garden areas, this one was around a corner, past the service area, up some narrow stairs and through an industrial feeling area which could generously be described as a courtyard. This was surrounded by noisy air conditioning units - all a bit ordinary.

The room location had a couple of other downsides. First, the traffic, although not heavy, was very noisy. The hotel can't do much about this, but the noise generated by its own activities should be addressed. Our room was located immediately over the service area, and we were subjected to a lot of the noise. Rubbish bins were put out at midnight, with a great deal of banging and crashing, breaking of glass and loud talking. Then at 7:00 Sunday morning(!) the rubbish trucks arrived with noisy engines, loud talking, more banging and crashing. This was really unacceptable in my view.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which wasn't too bad. I'll write about this in a separate review.

Checkout was OK, though we had to remind the clerk about the discounts offered through the reward program

In summary, this was an excellent hotel spoiled by a few issues, mainly to do with noise. I'd happily recommend it to others, but with a few caveats -

- join the rewards program before booking - its free and offers cheap rates and substantial discounts on the restaurant etc.

- try to avoid rooms on the Oswald Street frontage, especially near the corner. Traffic noise and noise from the service area are very disturbing.

- ensure that the staff are aware you are a member of the program, and ensure you get the relevant discounts etc.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Oswald Street - they are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Paul_FIsher,

Thank you for your feedback,

I am pleased you joined our new Priority Guest Rewards program and took advantage of the discounts offered. It certainly can be beneficial, and you can earn points at any of our hotels worldwide.

Quite correctly, your room was unfortunately street side which obviously can be noisy at certain times. Certainly if a guest requests a quiet or poolside room we do our utmost to accommodate this. However, I do appreciate that traveller's may not know which rooms they are being allocated. As such I am instigating a program based on your feedback to try where possible to allocate Priority Guest Rewards Members the poolside rooms as part of their benefits.

Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed a few weeks back and was generally surprised how good the rooms were. Very comfortable beds which is well needed after long periods of driving, rooms are very large if you're staying a few days or weeks. The service in the Resturant is lacking however particularly breakfast but for dinner just a short couple of blokes is a Resturant called the palace ( Balcony Resturant) great food by any standard, just make sure you book ahead!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear DarrynF,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased you found the rooms to your liking and our new Rydges Dream Beds comfortable. I must admit that we have experienced some teething issues with breakfast, but I am confident we have ironed these out going forward.

Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in the rydges 28th-30th of September for 2 nights for our 2nd anniversary. My Husband booked online and the price was $169 for a deluxe studio king room...we didn't check the confirmation price in the email and even if we had it would have been considered a cancellation to cancel and have it rebooked. so My husband turns up to check us in and the price is $242 a night. My husband wrote an email to rydges which when you email they allow you a whole 25 words or less to explain. we received an email back saying basicly bad luck you didn't check your confirmation email. We have decided we will not be going back to Rydges if this is the sort of response we receive. I do have to say staff were very nice and the problem of noisy cleaners early in the morning seems to have been solved...in the past we have had cleaners shouting and knocking on doors when we just wanted to sleep in, we even had one staff walk into our room after knocking and not waiting. Like I said this wasn't a problem this time. the restaurant was good though it was better last time we went about 6 months earlier...I also have to say if you get the tea infused Kangaroo it tastes like burnt meat...not the chefs fault as it was cooked perfectly just the tea is not a good combination and leaves a bitter burnt taste on the roo which was barely edible. the dream beds are great and curtains keep all the daylight out which is great. I am sorry but as nice as it is we are locals and very upset with the attitude and over charging from higher up we will now stay elsewhere on special occasions like for my birthday in a few weeks.

Room Tip: check your email confirmations closely also try and get a room away from the pool area as it can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear KazMic,

Thank you for your feedback. I have looked into your booking and can see that whilst online at one stage it may have been $169, upon booking it was indeed $242 per night. That said, given that you have stayed previously, and I would like to atone for the error, if you do wish to stay again, please feel free to ask for me directly upon booking. I have addressed the feedback regarding the menu and in particular the kangaroo, and we have now changed the menu. I do appreciate the feedback regarding this, as without feedback, negative or positive, we would not be able to improve. I am pleased that we have been able to rectify the issues with housekeeping through feedback from yourself and others.

Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is THE place to stay in Kalgoorlie, doubly so if you can get a room deal. The rooms are big, modern with all amenities. There's a great swimming pool. Restaurant food was good. The only downside was the price of the wine list - search hard for a bottle in the $30's. Do they think the Gold Rush is still on !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear profitpie,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we provide. I will take your feedback on board regarding the wine prices, I do believe though they are competitive with similar standards restaurants and we do have over 10 in the $30 range.

I hope to see you back in the Goldfields in the near future!

Sincerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here last week for 2 nights. Room was large and well equipped (1st room shown had a bit of a smoke/stale smell) but I was quickly allocated another room without fuss.
The location of the property is far enough outside of the very busy Kalgoorlie hub so I found this to be a peaceful respite after a long day at work.
I had an enjoyable dinner at the hotels restaurant. I didn't have breakfasts at Rydges during my stay so I can't comment on this aspect.
Overall, a pleasing stay and will choose stay here again the next time I'm required to return to Kal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear fresh_prince_perth,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I do apologize for the smoky/musty smell when you checked in. All of our rooms are non--smoking, however on occasion sometimes this overlooked by guests. I am pleased however, we were able to move you to another room quickly. I will certainly pass your comments onto the restaurant team who will be chuffed to hear the feedback.

SIncerely,

Edward Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa

Address: 21 Davidson Street, Kalgoorlie, Western Australia 6430, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kalgoorlie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kalgoorlie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa offers the traveller a 4.5 star oasis conveniently located close to the Kalgoorlie town centre in the heart of the historic Western Australian gold fields region. Offering the only hotel in Kalgoorlie with all rooms featuring couples spa baths, 92 studio, one bedroom and two bedroom accommodation rooms, indoor and outdoor resort style swimming pool and heated spa, versatile function areas, a contemporary all day dining restaurant Rydges Primewest Restaurant' and an al fresco dining area all surrounded by native Australian gardens. The hotel is the perfect destination to complete your business needs and as a getaway to relax and take in the history of the region. Come and experience the newly opened Alleya Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Kalgoorlie Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.